test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Extreme lag/ stuttering and launcher issues [please read post #175 (Pg. 18)]

123457»

Comments

  • relizarrarasrelizarraras Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Got kicked out of holodeck. Can't log in. Launcher can't connect to patch server.
  • alopenalopen Member Posts: 1 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    jelly0 wrote: »
    Jesus christ, what resolution do you play at.

    Can't speak for him but that looks similiar to the 800x600 I play at. I'm forced to use a laptop and shrinking the screen radically improves gameplay.
  • calistobradycalistobrady Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    I can't connect anymore, says it cannot reach the patch server. Also forums are performing very slowly too.

    Guys, if there's a major problem going on - just take the game offline for 1 or 2 days and really fix it up. Whatever it takes. We've had weeks of poor performance. A couple of days offline to bring the game back to 100% is worth it.
  • dracounguisdracounguis Member Posts: 5,363 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    I can't even get the launcher to come up!
    The "Cryptic Launcher Autoupdate" box comes up.
    Says trying to update the launcher.
    Tries connecting 2 times and then...
    Box with big red X saying...
    Unable to establish connection to Patch Server. Please check your Internet connection. If problems persist, please contact Technical Support.
    So here I am. (My internet is fine, btw.)
  • sfhqsfhq Member Posts: 41 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Same, got kicked out during a fleet alert
    ---
    "We are the Borg. We will add your biological and technological distinctiveness to our own. Resistance is futile."
    Sincerely,
    The Cube Assimilating Your Ship Right Now
  • nandospcnandospc Member Posts: 1,256 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    jelly0 wrote: »
    Jesus christ, what resolution do you play at.

    i know man, it's 1280x800, im on a notebook right now 'cause my main gpu on the desktop is broken :(

    anyway, the server now is dead, so nvm... :rolleyes:
  • amrynthaamryntha Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    It's not just STO. Same thing is happening with the Neverwinter launcher, and from what I gather, all the other games.
  • bayonettawiccanbayonettawiccan Member Posts: 180 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    amryntha wrote: »
    It's not just STO. Same thing is happening with the Neverwinter launcher, and from what I gather, all the other games.

    Sounds like it's Cryptic-wide. I wonder if Champions is also having issues.
  • ask4spock1ask4spock1 Member Posts: 135 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    ((Updated!))

    Hi Captains,

    Our Engineers continue to investigate, and we very much appreciate the information given thus far! If you are continuing to experience latency problems and would like to provide more information that can aid us in tracking this down, please reply to this thread with the following items as you experience the lag in-game:

    • Type the following commands in the chat bar:
      • /netgraph 1
      • /nettiminggraph 1
        • Pass along a screenshot of the above using the following command in the chat bar: /screenshot_ui_jpg
    • The name of specific character that experienced the latency during the time the screenshot above was taken (no need to post an @handle, just character name)
    • The ship class that the named character was flying during the time the screenshot above was taken (or mention if this was on ground and not space, or both)
    • The time the screenshot above was taken (please be as accurate as possible)
    • The Map name and objective step you were on when the latency occurred and when the screenshot was taken

    You can then type /netgraph 0 and /nettiminggraph 0 to turn off the above graphs.

    If you'd like to help but you don't feel comfortable making a reply to this thread, please send me a forum PM.

    A few posts indicate that this is happening to "all characters on all maps", but the above data is very important.

    Cheers (and thanks!),

    Brandon =/\=




    ONCE AGAIN.... Cyrptic messes with the launcher. Cant update and the download site the DEVS give WONT WORK EITHER:mad:
  • comrademococomrademoco Member Posts: 1,691 Bug Hunter
    edited May 2013
    Brandon any updates on a fix to the Launcher Problem yet????

    And thank you for guys for being on-top of the problems.... :)
    6tviTDx.png

  • comrademococomrademoco Member Posts: 1,691 Bug Hunter
    edited May 2013
    Brandon any updates on a fix to the Launcher Problem yet????

    And thank you for guys for being on-top of the problems.... :)

    Regard my last saying on the updates... its seems that my launcher has finally decided to stop being lazy!!! Thank You!!!
    6tviTDx.png

  • comrademococomrademoco Member Posts: 1,691 Bug Hunter
    edited May 2013
    Aaaaaaaaaaaaand it froze again on the "Connecting to the Login Server" part :(
    6tviTDx.png

  • criaadestrocriaadestro Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Aaaaaaaaaaaaand it froze again on the "Connecting to the Login Server" part :(

    I'm having the same issue. This is a bit on the unreal side. especially for those of us that are subscribers.
  • ambassador379ambassador379 Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Sometimes I don't play this game for days on end.... why doesn't it crash then? :)
  • dragonsbitedragonsbite Member Posts: 530 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    pwebranflakes, any updates to server status? At least patching seems to work still. Updated Tribble and Neverwinter. But now that that's done i'd sure like to play something. Oh nm I see your post under news and will follow that. I sure hope that the broken part is what has been causing my lag issues for the last month or so.
    U.S. ARMY CAVALRY SCOUT/DRAGOON DISABLED VETERAN
  • dracounguisdracounguis Member Posts: 5,363 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Got the launcher to launch now, that's good.
    But now the login server times out. yay. Guess I'm not going to be able to do anything today on this game. I have to go to bed and go to work early. Maybe Cryptic will have it fixed by 5pm PDT when I get off work? That'd be real nice. And...Cryptic you owe me about 15000 Dil I would have made today. :mad:
  • mattpuxmattpux Member Posts: 11 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Just thought I'd give everyone a laugh with the top quality of tech support at SRO. This is a response I got for complaining of lag, unsurprisingly they blame the lag on my end not theirs LOL!! I can play any game I have on full graphic settings including Arma 2 and World of Tanks and not lag, but according to "Perfect World" it's a problem on my end.

    Discussion Thread
    Response Via Email (Support Staff )
    Hello,

    You may just need to wait and try again later.

    If you are still experiencing the issue, try the following:

    First restart your system.
  • calistobradycalistobrady Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Plenty of lag today on STO I see? I'm guessing yesterday's outage was not connected to the past month's server latency, lag, drop outs and connectivity issues.

    Any update on fixing this?
  • iceaxe18iceaxe18 Member Posts: 102 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Well when I load up the launcher, and when it gets to where you select your charactor everything turns into slow motion, and stays in slow motion while in game to. This started around 12:00pm, but early morning like around 7:00am I didn't have any problems.
    My charactor is [email protected]


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Doug>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

    Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 23 ms 27 ms 29 ms 98.245.100.1
    3 8 ms 8 ms 10 ms ge-2-2-sr01.steamboat.co.denver.comcast.net [68.
    85.220.97]
    4 30 ms 23 ms 23 ms te-0-5-0-0-ar02.denver.co.denver.comcast.net [68
    .85.89.5]
    5 19 ms 23 ms 23 ms pos-0-7-0-0-ar02.aurora.co.denver.comcast.net [6
    8.86.128.246]
    6 22 ms 22 ms 23 ms he-3-4-0-0-cr01.denver.co.ibone.comcast.net [68.
    86.90.149]
    7 22 ms 20 ms 20 ms te3-5.ccr01.den03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.10.
    33]
    8 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms te0-6-0-3.ccr21.den01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .45.181]
    9 39 ms 40 ms 40 ms te0-4-0-7.ccr21.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .27.238]
    10 44 ms 44 ms 44 ms te0-4-0-3.mpd21.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .30.169]
    11 67 ms 68 ms 68 ms te0-3-0-6.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .43.182]
    12 81 ms 79 ms 79 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42
    ]
    13 71 ms 71 ms 71 ms 38.111.40.114
    14 69 ms 68 ms 68 ms 208.95.185.41

    Trace complete.





    contacting nettest server..
    Local IP: 98.245.101.243
    Ping: 69.8 msec
    Port: 80: 687 KB/sec 27 KB/sec 732 KB/sec 500
    Port: 80: 619 KB/sec 21 KB/sec 655 KB/sec 500
    Port: 443: 672 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 711 KB/sec 500
    Port: 443: 578 KB/sec 20 KB/sec 612 KB/sec 500
    Port: 7255: 684 KB/sec 24 KB/sec 723 KB/sec 500
    Port: 7255: 673 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 711 KB/sec 500
    Port: 7003: 660 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 698 KB/sec 500
    Port: 7003: 555 KB/sec 19 KB/sec 588 KB/sec 500
    Port: 7202: 652 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 690 KB/sec 500
    Port: 7202: 579 KB/sec 22 KB/sec 617 KB/sec 500
    Port: 7499: 676 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 715 KB/sec 500
    Port: 7499: 711 KB/sec 26 KB/sec 756 KB/sec 500
    Port: 80: 701 KB/sec 24 KB/sec 742 KB/sec 500
    Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 1 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
    hit return to exit


    I recorded a little bit on what is happening:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DIJ85LaloiE&feature=youtu.be
  • oakland4lifeoakland4life Member Posts: 545 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Patch on the Holodeck server is still stuck at 77.8 MB / 93 MB (83.2%) for me since yesterday and try to leave patching it as long as 4 hrs but still stuck at 83.2%. but on the other hand the Tribble server is patched and i can play it which i can't do on the holodeck server now.
  • iceaxe18iceaxe18 Member Posts: 102 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Here is another video clip of mine during a few seconds of game play. The video seems to not show it well, but it is in slow motion.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2n7oVkCpN4g&feature=youtu.be


    Here is a screenshot of the graphs taken at 11:28pm

    http://i711.photobucket.com/albums/ww113/IceAxe18/screenshot_2013-05-03-23-17-17_zps75a1c504.jpg


    This has been happening sense 12:00pm today, so I haven't been able to play sense game play is in slow motion.
  • bombadier2bombadier2 Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    ok so I log in this morning and it's very lagy, in fact it has been since that "server stability" patch...I'm worried, if that patch is what caused it then STO please drop what you are doing and fix it ASAP, delay the romulan faction, just please fix it. I have seen this before on Battlestar Galactica Online and it completely ruined the game because they kept trying to bribe the players and just pushed it to one side while releasing new stuff...I don't want that to happen to STO...
  • supertrooper17supertrooper17 Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    I am also having this stuttering/frozen trouble on the holodeck, but the funny thing is...I can play tribble all day long on the same pc. My pc is only a year old AW X51 i7 with a GTX660 NVidia card with the latest patch....I tried using older patches, but that didn't work to correct the problem....So i am using my 3 year old laptop from work to play both holodeck and tribble....I don't get it. I hope they can fix the problem before the new romulan stuff comes out.
  • starkaosstarkaos Member Posts: 11,548 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    It is not always STO that is causing the lag problems. It could be a connection problem between where you are and where STO's servers are.
  • bombadier2bombadier2 Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    so it's just my entire fleet having connection problems?
  • brenvbrenv Member Posts: 12 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    I logged in this morning and found only 2 of my 15 characters. umm where should I go to notify someone?
  • charliescot25charliescot25 Member Posts: 269 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    I'm with Virgin Media and the game has been fine with me lately.
    [SIGPIC]USSDundee_zpsfcfe716b.jpg[/SIGPIC]
  • iceaxe18iceaxe18 Member Posts: 102 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    I did turn my computer of for a little while, and then back on, and that cleared up the slow motion that I was having problems with.
  • cptslythiancptslythian Member Posts: 1 Arc User
    edited June 2014
    Not sure why it is that some people experience no lag and some do. I however got through wave 4 with no issue. Once wave 5 started, lag-o-rama. Not sure if there is a fix for this or not, or some possible explanation to it, but man this is just terrible.
Sign In or Register to comment.