test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

With the collapse of the DILEX, I can no longer defend this game's business model

Comments

• Options
    davefenestratordavefenestrator Member Posts: 10,512 Arc User
    edited January 2022
    reyan01 wrote: »

If I'm honest, I'm finding that one of the things I like about FFXIV (which I recently started playing and now favor over playing STO) is the business model. Yoshida (the FFXIV EP) said this in an interview a few years ago when asked if FFXIV might ever consider the Free to Play model:
    "The free-to-play model as an unreliable source of income predicated on devoting a lot of development resources to monthly consumable or cosmetic items in order to maintain profitability, leaving little time for higher quality story and battle content"
    For the most part, and with STO in particular in mind, I agree with his opinion.

And furthermore, the Subscription model came up in conversation here a few days ago with a certain someone expressing the opinion that said model "pressures people into playing because they dropped money on a subscription". I disagree - at least in the case of FF. Firstly there is a Free Trial* that covers a healthy portion of the game. Secondly, from what I can tell, no-one who pays the Subscription resents doing so and seem satisfied that the sub provides a steady stream of quality content.
    I certainly won't resent buying the sub when it becomes available again*.

To be honest, with regards to STO, at this point I don't feel that buying yet another ship makes any difference. I'm tired of expensive bundles and gambleboxes. I'm tried of buying new ships to replay FOMO fueled events that utilize existing TFOs on repeat. It's tiresome. I've said before and I'll say it again - it feels like the current STO EP wants us to pay, not play.