test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Xbox 360 Controller Keybinds

SystemSystem Member, NoReporting Posts: 178,019 Arc User
An update of the keybind threads from Open Beta (original sources used are here and here)
Thanks to all the original posters!

The available buttons on the Xbox Controller are:

Joy1 = Start
Joy2 = Back
Joy3 / Lstick = Left thumb depress
Joy4 / Rstick = Right thumb depress
Joy5 / LB = Left Bumper
Joy6 / RB = Right Bumper
Joy7 / Ltrigger = Left Trigger
Joy8 / Rtrigger = Right Trigger
Joy9 / Ab = A Button
Joy10 / Bb = B Button
Joy11 / Xb = X Button
Joy12 / Yb = Y Button
Lstick_(up/down/left/right)
Rstick_(up/down/left/right)
Joypad_(up/down/left/right)

Combinations of buttons are possible, and just require a + sign with no spaces
e.g. Joy7+Xb, Joypad_right+Yb.
* Not sure about 3-button combos.

To see what command you need to bind a specific power, if you go to the Options > Key Binds menu and hover your mouse over a command it will bring up a box indicating the command line you need to enter.
Attachment not found.
The basic binding command is /bind <command> <condition> which is typed into your chat window.

Camera Controls:

There are several options here, but the two I find myself trying are
Free Camera (left stick controls movement, right stick controls camera), or
Follow Target + Tab Selects Offscreen Targets (left stick controls ship, right stick freed up for my shields. Camera automatically pans to face the selected target, so can make maneuvering a bit tricky at times)
Attachment not found.

Tray Bindings:
Tray 1 = 1 to -
Tray 2 = Ctrl+1 to Ctrl+-
Tray 3 = Alt+1 to Alt+-

Tray 1 = +TrayExecByTray 0 <button>
Tray 2 = +TrayExecByTray 1 <button>
Tray 3 = +TrayExecByTray 2 <button>

BO powers don't seem to be bound to a keypress by default in Live, so you have to add them to an actionbar and then map that button to a keypress. (Press P to bring up the powers list, and drag the icon into an empty button slot).

My bindings for Space are:
/bind Yb throttleadjust .25 (increase throttle)
/bind Ab throttleadjust -.25 (decrease throttle/ reverse)
NOTE: you can change the throttle number for finer control. So .20 or even .10 would be possible.

/bind Bb GenSendMessage Throttle_FullImpulse_Button FullThrottle (full impulse)
/bind Xb GenSendMessage HUD_Root FireAll (fire all weapons)

/bind Joy8+Xb genbuttonclick powerlevel_preset_0 (power preset Attack)
/bind Joy8+Yb genbuttonclick powerlevel_preset_1 (power preset Defense)
/bind Joy8+Bb genbuttonclick powerlevel_preset_2 (power preset Speed)
/bind Joy8+Ab genbuttonclick powerlevel_preset_3 (power preset Aux.)

/bind Rstick_up +Power_Exec Reroute_Shields_Forward
/bind Rstick_down +Power_Exec Reroute_Shields_Rear
/bind Rstick_left +Power_Exec Reroute_Shields_Left
/bind Rstick_right +Power_Exec Reroute_Shields_Right

/bind Joy7+Xb +TrayExecByTray 2 0(BO power 1)
/bind Joy7+Yb +TrayExecByTray 2 1 (BO power 2)
/bind Joy7+Bb +TrayExecByTray 2 2 (BO power 3)
/bind Joy7+Ab +TrayExecByTray 2 3 (BO power 4)

/bind Joypad_up InteractWindow (interact button)

Ground commands are very similar, but there aren't as many options :)
Commands you may find useful to add are
/bind <key> ++run (one click toggles a full run cycle)
/bind <key> ++aim (click toggles aim mode on and off)
/bind <key> GenSendMessage Inventory_Root SwitchActiveWeapon (swaps weapons)
/bind <key> +roll (tapping Lstick twice will roll you in the appropriate direction, but I like to keep a second single button ready just incase :) )

Saving your Keybind settings:
When you have the bindings the way you like them, make sure to save the config.
Use /bind_save_file <filename> and /bind_load_file <filename> to save having to type them in for every character :)
NOTE: you need 2 seperate keybind lists. One for Ground, one Space. All /bind commands are local to that one list, so my /bind Joypad_up InteractWindow has to be in both.

As always, these are only examples. They are meant to demonstrate the flexibility you can use to get things set up the way you want :)
Post edited by darkbladejk on
«13456710

Comments

  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    Thank you very much for reposting this and all the work you have done for it. It is a good work around in the interim.

    I think I can speak for almost everyone though when I say that Cryptic REALLY needs to add built in support for the Xbox 360 controller (and other joysticks/gamepads), rather then us having to set it all through command line. The fact Command line works proves the support framework is there and just a bit of tweaking is all that they need at this point.

    I will also say, controller support is, and should be, low on the priority list compared to getting the servers more stable. But once they are, this should be addressed.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    Thanks alot!
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    Dude, you ROCK!

    Achievement Unlocked!
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    Just on a side note, this worked great!!! Having to toggle "mouse look" on and off will take some getting used to, along with adjusting controlls to what works best for me, but still very effective over all, this just further increases my conviction that it shouldn't take too much extra work to get GUI support for the 360 controller setup.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    VERY HELPFUL!

    I've spent the last... ([looks at clock] oh my god!) 6 hours setting my key bindings. (most effort before seeing this new post) I've made an extensive set and will post them with a jpeg guide once they are complete. True xbox 360 controller support would be a dream come true, as all of this command line business is way, waaay out of my wheelhouse.

    (I did notice a syntax in the OP's post-- when listing bridge officer powers the string indicates "tray3" when specifically tray 3 is indicated in the command line by tray2 (tray 0 being 1) I have confirmed that if you copy and past the code but change "tray3 X" to tray2 X it will work.

    -ray
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    Great stuff. This deserves a sticky.

    This game is a pleasure to play from the couch!
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    Nice 1 Kakurenbo, your posts in beta were most helpful too, pray tell how you are getting past the camera not staying behind the ship problem

    I know you can set a key to reset the camera but have you a way of locking it, cos this seems to be the current Achilles heel of Joystick/pad use.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    I am getting violently angry, i cant get this damn game to recognize any of the buttons except for the two thumbsticks...what the hell am i missing/doing wrong?!?! I cant bind any buttons because when i click the buttons on the bind thing nothing happens.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    I was wondering if anyone else was having the same problem I was, when I am in sector space my left joystick turns the ship and my right joystick turns the camera. But then whem im in system space my left joystick still turns the ship but my right joystick does nothing. Is this normal and if so how would I change the left stick to control the camera
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    Nicely done, I was considering doing the same but you beat me to it.:p
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2010
    kayfizzle wrote:
    I am getting violently angry, i cant get this damn game to recognize any of the buttons except for the two thumbsticks...what the hell am i missing/doing wrong?!?! I cant bind any buttons because when i click the buttons on the bind thing nothing happens.

    You will have to manually bind them using the /bind command in the chat window as shown in Kakurenbo post.
    /bind <Command> <Condition>
    Example:
    /bind joy9 usetrayslot0 0
    This binds the green A button to the fire forward phasers. Keep in mind you have to bind for space and ground separately.
    You can also look here for more help http://forums.startrekonline.com/showthread.php?t=66110
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    I don't know if I just never noticed before or what, but I can't get backwards to work. I can see that the key is bound correctly, but on my controller, I can't go straight backwards. I have to go backwards at an angle.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    kayfizzle wrote:
    I am getting violently angry, i cant get this damn game to recognize any of the buttons except for the two thumbsticks...what the hell am i missing/doing wrong?!?! I cant bind any buttons because when i click the buttons on the bind thing nothing happens.

    YUP.

    You have to /bind all the commands in the chat window! See the OP's programming names for the buttons at the top of this list! READ!
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    frozendeth wrote: »
    I was wondering if anyone else was having the same problem I was, when I am in sector space my left joystick turns the ship and my right joystick turns the camera. But then whem im in system space my left joystick still turns the ship but my right joystick does nothing. Is this normal and if so how would I change the left stick to control the camera

    Yeah, this is a wierd one.

    To fix you can select the camera to be toggled (or activated (held down)) in the bindings. I have R3 (in on right stick) set to toggle the camer pan on and off. A bit off putting, but a temp workaround nonetheless.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    herlitzp wrote: »
    I don't know if I just never noticed before or what, but I can't get backwards to work. I can see that the key is bound correctly, but on my controller, I can't go straight backwards. I have to go backwards at an angle.

    yeah, this is a known issue also. Not sure why it's doing this. I actually UNBOUND it, as it was causing movement issues. (somehow double tapping back still rolls backwards!)
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    Shotmagnet wrote:
    Just on a side note, this worked great!!! Having to toggle "mouse look" on and off will take some getting used to, along with adjusting controlls to what works best for me, but still very effective over all, this just further increases my conviction that it shouldn't take too much extra work to get GUI support for the 360 controller setup.

    I for one would be very grateful for your generosity.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    frozendeth wrote: »
    I was wondering if anyone else was having the same problem I was, when I am in sector space my left joystick turns the ship and my right joystick turns the camera. But then whem im in system space my left joystick still turns the ship but my right joystick does nothing. Is this normal and if so how would I change the left stick to control the camera
    By default the game set you to Free Camera mode in Sector Space, but Follow Target mode in System Space. You should be able to go into the Options > Controls menu to change it.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    I saw that you mentioned you would need 2 keybinds, one for ground and one for space... my question is will they load automatically or will they each have to be manually loaded everytime you switch?
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    masclobo wrote: »
    I saw that you mentioned you would need 2 keybinds, one for ground and one for space... my question is will they load automatically or will they each have to be manually loaded everytime you switch?

    you will need to load them manually ONCE. after that, you should be all set. Note also, that you will need to load them for every character you create.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    thank you so much Kakurenbo ;)
    mod sticky this pls :)
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    I've spent a few days mapping the keys to the controller and have come up with something that I think is pretty useful. It definitely makes space combat a lot of fun. (to be clear, you'll have to use the keyboard for many things, but this allows you to play most of the game using the x360 controller.)

    I'll post my /bind files when I get home tonight. (and yes, the space controls look a little insane, but are actually very easy to get used to/ remember) [images attached]
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    I've spent a few days mapping the keys to the controller and have come up with something that I think is pretty useful. It definitely makes space combat a lot of fun. (to be clear, you'll have to use the keyboard for many things, but this allows you to play most of the game using the x360 controller.)

    I'll post my /bind files when I get home tonight. (and yes, the space controls look a little insane, but are actually very easy to get used to/ remember) [images attached]


    On your space setup, where you refer to tactical, engineering and science binds -- are you binding the actual bridge officer abilities or just the hotbar slots that have those abilities in them? I've been trying to figure out what commands I would need to bind to execute a bridge officer ability, so would be very interested in seeing it if that's the case.

    In the setup I've been using, I have all the first row of hotbar slots bound to various button combinations (Ltrigger X-Y-B-A, Rtrigger X-Y-B-A), but the problem I'm running into is that it wants to display those button shortcuts rather than the number keys on the hotbars, which gets rather... ugly. I can't seem to find a way to make the number keys show instead of the controller shortcuts; no matter which order I bind things in, it always wants to put the controller binds in the "first" slot in the key bindings, which then become visible on the hotbars themselves. It does work, though.

    As a workaround, I started binding them to the hidden second bar and duplicating all the buttons there, with the visible bar just for display purposes (to see the cooldowns). It's unwieldy, though, especially when you want to remap something, so I'm looking for a better way of doing this.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    frozendeth wrote: »
    I was wondering if anyone else was having the same problem I was, when I am in sector space my left joystick turns the ship and my right joystick turns the camera. But then whem im in system space my left joystick still turns the ship but my right joystick does nothing. Is this normal and if so how would I change the left stick to control the camera

    Go into options and turn camera from follow target to Free camera and you should be good to go!
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    nullspace wrote:
    On your space setup, where you refer to tactical, engineering and science binds -- are you binding the actual bridge officer abilities or just the hotbar slots that have those abilities in them?

    the problem I'm running into is that it wants to display those button shortcuts rather than the number keys on the hotbars, which gets rather... ugly.

    I tried doing that using Kakurenbo's command lines, but was unable to get it to work. so I have had to do the same as you describe, and the bindings (joy12 etc) show up in the top of the tray graphics. Kinda clunky looking, but not a big deal for me.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    Here is my current layout that is still evolving.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    nice. wish I could use voice command, but I am rocking the XP, so that's a no go for me. looks like it's freed a lot of space for you on the sticks. I understand that the layout works for you, but I feel that you've missed a chance to nerd out by mapping the BO skills by color!:D

    (still get a kick out of "fly her apart" LOL)
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    nice. wish I could use voice command, but I am rocking the XP, so that's a no go for me. looks like it's freed a lot of space for you on the sticks. I understand that the layout works for you, but I feel that you've missed a chance to nerd out by mapping the BO skills by color!:D

    (still get a kick out of "fly her apart" LOL)

    LOL LOL
    I more than make up for it with my voice commands.

    My wife has gave me more than a few looks when I call a red alert Riker style, or screaming AFT SHIELDS! AFT SHIELDS! in a heavy fire fight.

    Another fellow had a piece of 3rd party software to do the trick for XP.
    Its in the Beta Archives
    http://forums.startrekonline.com/showthread.php?t=85310
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    Hey guys. I had the controller all set up and working great for my ground combat but after todays launch my movment on the left thumb stick is not working right. I had left it as default. The game picked it up and work great. now when I try to move its all most like lag. My guy studders forward. If I try to bind it, backwards wont work and turning isnt right. Any ideas? Thanks
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    I'm actually getting the same thing when using the 360 controller. Space combat works great, but on the ground my guy stutters forward. Looks like they fixed one thing and broke another.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2010
    The stuttering movement with the analog stick is something I've always noticed when you are moving around lots of other players... like it's polling the controls less frequently, maybe to reduce lag in areas with lots of activity or something. If I go to the Admiral's Office, for example, it works fine. It also usually works fine when I'm on away missions solo. That's partly the reason I also bound the dpad to movement as well -- no stuttering on the dpad with the non-analog movement (plus I can double tap a direction to roll, which doesn't work on the stick for me).

    I also figured out that mapping TrayExecByTray x y instead of UseTraySlot0 x kept my hotbar button text from being overwritten, so other than the laggy analog stick movement in crowded areas, I'm pretty happy with the 360 controls now. :D
This discussion has been closed.