test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

CW nerfs revisited

prettyceltprettycelt Member, NW M9 Playtest Posts: 777 Arc User
edited June 2015 in The Library
Ok, well, I'm no expert, and I don't know exact dates, but I for one DEFINITELY remember a few mods back when CW was SEVERELY nerfed all across the board...damage on almost every power was reduced anywhere from 20-60%, Shard of the Endless Avalanche was made laughable, and about the only power that was actually improved was Steal Time. The newer players won't remember this, but trust me, it was bad. Well, we all made do by necessity, and one of the few bright spots in that horrible hamstringing was that Chill was no longer utterly disrupted by your own damage, and seemed to be working as intended all along. Result? More control, and a lot more CW's slotting Icy Terrain and the like. I could finally be the "Ice mage" I'd wanted to be. My CW actually ended up doing as much or more DPS than before.

Fast forward to the last patch and this Storm Spell nerf. Now THAT one hurt...I use a Spellstorm Mage Thaumaturge CW, and had always slotted Eye of the Storm and Storm Spell class features. There wasn't even a question of anything else. To that end, I invested in numerous Cubes of Augmentation to gamble on Artifact weapon powers, and was pleased to get (after spending probably a quarter of a million AD's!) the one that adds a 5% chance of Storm Spell proccing twice. That was awesome, and seemed to happen more than 5% of the time, though maybe that was just wishful thinking on my part. The synergy of the class features and a decent crit rating made for nice damage spikes whenever Storm Spell would critically hit. Was it 20% of my damage as some people have surmised? I don't know, but it was a VERY healthy chunk of it.