test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

What happened to the Dilithium Exchange? Plans to fix it?

Comments

• Options
    acidbuk#5004 acidbuk Member Posts: 28 Arc User
    westmetals wrote: »
    Well yes, you are correct. I should have specified a desirable new demand.

What I was really getting at though, is that any effort to cut earnings, is going to have zero effect on the players I was talking about, it will only slow people down from entering that category.

And Yet, that does seem to be the path they are taking right now, making it harder to 'get dilithium' vs, putting in time to develop a sink to make existing dilithium desirable, which ultimately , will make it much, much harder or new players to get a foot on the ladder. I've been playing STO for nearly 5 years now, and back then, starting from nothing it already felt like I was climbing Mount Everest, If I was just starting now, I don't know I would even stick around to bother.

The problem, for Cryptic, is as I've said before - any dilithium sink, has to be seen as desirable, and a net positive, not a punishment or as 'taking something away' (Admiralty/Endeavour Tokens I'm looking at you) or it will just be ignored by the player base.

For a long time, a new ship would be released, the price would spike briefly, then there would be a phoenix event, combined with a "cool off" period that would bring the price back down, But then we had a period of time that saw Promo-Sales after, Store Sales, After Flash Sales, After Key Sales, After Promo Sales, back to back to back; with no phoenix events for nearly a year to tamp down the Dil Price afterwards meaning the price stayed high, so the next sale came almost immediately and the price just spiked further, this hyper-inflation was caused, though a combination of factors Fleets reaching Cap, and the ever increasing demand for Zen, and period of time with no cool off or nothing to drive it down.
  • Options