test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Unable to authenticate: Connection to the account server timed out

145791013

Comments

  • seitoriseitori Member Posts: 33 Arc User
    Well that was fun... made it in for about 40 minutes then got dsc'd by server ad now can't get back in again... lol!!! Oh well Atleast I end up with selecting a character b4 it stops & times out at 97.56% mark of then transfering map splash screen... Guess I'll come back and try again in 6 hours, got to go do some stuff, & hopefully Cryptic will get this fixed by then...
  • startrek6000startrek6000 Member Posts: 26 Arc User
    I can't log in either. The launcher launches the game then when it starts to load at the character selection screen, it throws me offline. I'm not sure what else I can try at this point short of re-installing the whole game or waiting for another emergency patch. My friend can't log in either, he's having the same problem I'm having. He can't get in either What the heck is going on?
  • sergeantkor1234sergeantkor1234 Member Posts: 4 Arc User
    has anyone hear of error14
  • lokharnolokharno Member Posts: 31 Arc User
    On the off chance this helps:

    Tracert Output

    9 29 ms 28 ms 29 ms sjo-b21-link.telia.net [62.115.118.169]
    10 28 ms 28 ms 32 ms akamai-ic-317094-sjo-b21.c.telia.net [62.115.146.117]
    11 28 ms 28 ms 29 ms po110.bs-a.sech-sjc.netarch.akamai.com [209.200.184.192]
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 29 ms 28 ms 30 ms ae120.access-a.sech-sjc.netarch.akamai.com [209.200.184.197]
    14 101 ms 104 ms 101 ms a209-200-186-212.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [209.200.186.212]
    15 112 ms 108 ms 105 ms 198.49.243.237
    16 99 ms 100 ms 101 ms patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]

    Pathping Output

    6 be-33490-cr01.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.92.217]
    7 be-10846-pe01.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.86.90]
    8 66.208.232.186
    9 sjo-b21-link.telia.net [62.115.118.169]
    10 akamai-ic-317094-sjo-b21.c.telia.net [62.115.146.117]
    11 po110.bs-a.sech-sjc.netarch.akamai.com [209.200.184.192]
    12 * * *

    6 16ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% be-33490-cr01.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.92.217]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    7 14ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% be-10846-pe01.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.86.90]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    8 15ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 66.208.232.186
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    9 29ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% sjo-b21-link.telia.net [62.115.118.169]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    10 30ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% akamai-ic-317094-sjo-b21.c.telia.net [62.115.146.117]
    100/ 100 =100% |
    11 --- 100/ 100 =100% 0/ 100 = 0% po110.bs-a.sech-sjc.netarch.akamai.com [209.200.184.192]

    Trace complete.
  • val#9932 val Member Posts: 40 Arc User
    The game is now working at 23:28 GMT
  • rattler2rattler2 Member Posts: 55,807 Community Moderator
    Either the server hamsters are being killed off by something, or someone's attacking on purpose. No confirmation either way. All we can do is wait and hope AmbassadorKael keeps us up to date.
    66998372863950ee98cf7da9786e2ea9-db80k0m.png
    I can't take it anymore! Could everyone just chill out for two seconds before something CRAZY happens again?!
    The nut who actually ground out a Delta Pack, Temporal Pack, and Gamma Pack
    The resident forum voice of reason (I HAZ FORUM REP! YAY!)
  • maximus64maximus64 Member Posts: 28 Arc User
    The game works, but to change char is a problem. I have to log off and relog, to do it.
  • ratan#4886 ratan Member Posts: 9 Arc User
    chardok wrote: »
    PS the links in the upper portion directing to the Bug reporting site does not work and is broken.

    They were, but then the winged hussars arrived. :tongue:

    IMHO Step one for a basic support strategy would be for these winged hussars to include the updated link to the threads that were merged instead of making wise remarks to customers that are already aggravated.... this is customer support 101
  • chardokchardok Member Posts: 9 Arc User
    Well I updated my support ticket with the diag test results from the diagnosis link above and I hope it helps resolve this issue.
  • wingedhussar#7584 wingedhussar Member Posts: 420 Community Moderator
    ratan#4886 wrote: »
    chardok wrote: »
    PS the links in the upper portion directing to the Bug reporting site does not work and is broken.

    They were, but then the winged hussars arrived. :tongue:

    IMHO Step one for a basic support strategy would be for these winged hussars to include the updated link to the threads that were merged instead of making wise remarks to customers that are already aggravated.... this is customer support 101

    He was referring to this sticky at the top of the forum. It had some out-of-date links that needed fixing.
    latest?cb=20171202101458

    ...THEN THE WINGED HUSSARS ARRIVED!
    Volunteer community moderator for the Star Trek Online forums. Not a Cryptic Studios or Perfect World employee.
  • rattler2rattler2 Member Posts: 55,807 Community Moderator
    ratan#4886 wrote: »
    IMHO Step one for a basic support strategy would be for these winged hussars to include the updated link to the threads that were merged instead of making wise remarks to customers that are already aggravated.... this is customer support 101

    Also wouldn't be wise to poke winged hussars, baddmoons, or starswords with pointy objects.

    Also... they don't actually work FOR Cryptic. They're volunteer mods. They can pretty much just pass on word to people like Kael, who pass it on to the Bug Team.
    66998372863950ee98cf7da9786e2ea9-db80k0m.png
    I can't take it anymore! Could everyone just chill out for two seconds before something CRAZY happens again?!
    The nut who actually ground out a Delta Pack, Temporal Pack, and Gamma Pack
    The resident forum voice of reason (I HAZ FORUM REP! YAY!)
  • vendoodvendood Member Posts: 74 Arc User
    edited February 2019
    ARC launcher
    ISP: Cogeco, Ontario, Canada
    6:30PM EST

    Before fix, it wouldn't get to the login/character screen.

    After fix, it (so far), always gets through login, to the character select screen, but then normally sits for about 30 seconds while trying to bring up my characters, then disconnects with "Disconnected from the login server. Please try again later" and goes back to the Login screen.

    Every half hour or so, it lets me get in on a character... but then disconnects me after 5 minutes or so of play. At which point it repeats the above process.

    Traceroute showed no problems, filled out quite quickly:

    Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms d67-TRIBBLE-yyy-zzz.home3.cgocable.net]
    2 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms 10.74.64.1
    3 13 ms 13 ms 11 ms 10.0.68.85
    4 12 ms 11 ms 12 ms toro-b1-link.telia.net [62.115.54.234]
    5 23 ms 22 ms 23 ms chi-b21-link.telia.net [62.115.118.230]
    6 24 ms 24 ms 22 ms akamai-ic-326536-chi-b21.c.telia.net [213.248.74.223]
    7 24 ms 23 ms 22 ms po110.bs-a.sech-ord.netarch.akamai.com [23.57.98.243]
    8 23 ms 22 ms 23 ms po555-10.bs-a.sech-ams.netarch.akamai.com [72.52.1.137]
    9 23 ms 24 ms 23 ms ae120.access-a.sech-ord.netarch.akamai.com [23.57.98.249]
    10 37 ms 38 ms 37 ms 93.191.173.229
    11 44 ms 44 ms 45 ms a72-52-27-212.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [72.52.27.212]
    12 51 ms 45 ms 48 ms 198.49.243.237
    13 44 ms 44 ms 43 ms patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]

    Trace complete.

  • leemwatsonleemwatson Member Posts: 4,662 Arc User
    edited February 2019
    Seems Consoles are suffering the same issues. Getting 'Disconnected From Log-in Server' alot when switching toons.
    "You don't want to patrol!? You don't want to escort!? You don't want to defend the Federation's Starbases!? Then why are you flying my Starships!? If you were a Klingon you'd be killed on the spot, but lucky for you.....you WERE in Starfleet. Let's see how New Zealand Penal Colony suits you." Adm A. Necheyev.
  • rattler2rattler2 Member Posts: 55,807 Community Moderator
    edited February 2019
    leemwatson wrote: »
    Seems Consoles are suffering the same issues. Getting 'Disconnected From Account Server' alot when switching toons.

    Ok... this... might be bigger than expected.

    Edit:
    Ok... did a little recon into the Champions Online and Neverwinter forums... while not quite as vocal as us over here at STO... looks like they had the same problems as well. So... maybe ISP issues?
    66998372863950ee98cf7da9786e2ea9-db80k0m.png
    I can't take it anymore! Could everyone just chill out for two seconds before something CRAZY happens again?!
    The nut who actually ground out a Delta Pack, Temporal Pack, and Gamma Pack
    The resident forum voice of reason (I HAZ FORUM REP! YAY!)
  • nixie50nixie50 Member Posts: 1,033 Arc User
    I keep getting disconnected from the login server
    u7acy6aymfw7.gif
    We Need BERETS in the tailor
  • warmaker001bwarmaker001b Member Posts: 9,204 Arc User
    I can get to the character select screen but it never loads any of them. Eventually I get disconnected. Even completely shutting down STO and trying again doesn't help.
    XzRTofz.gif
  • rattler2rattler2 Member Posts: 55,807 Community Moderator
    Already got a thread on this. Thread merge in 3... 2...
    66998372863950ee98cf7da9786e2ea9-db80k0m.png
    I can't take it anymore! Could everyone just chill out for two seconds before something CRAZY happens again?!
    The nut who actually ground out a Delta Pack, Temporal Pack, and Gamma Pack
    The resident forum voice of reason (I HAZ FORUM REP! YAY!)
  • where2r1where2r1 Member Posts: 6,054 Arc User
    Uh oh...is this Round 2...because wasn't that why they took the game down this morning????
    "Spend your life doing strange things with weird people." -- UNK

    “Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.” -- Benjamin Franklin
  • koldduckkoldduck Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    edited February 2019
    I was on the EU server doing an episode and someone joined my mission and then it locked up. Have they tried Ctl+Alt+Delete maybe??..:P
  • darthwoodarthwoo Member Posts: 371 Arc User
    In addition to the login problems, at least one of my alts is getting the following error:

    "ERROR: attempted to update skeleton with no Costume
    Line: c:\src\libs\WorldLib\dynSkeleton.c(6762)"

    This is the alt on which I've been doing the anniversary event, so if I can't get in to finish up, that will be a problem.
  • where2r1where2r1 Member Posts: 6,054 Arc User
    Yup...this is round 2. Not getting through to the servers as of 5PM Mountain Time.
    "Spend your life doing strange things with weird people." -- UNK

    “Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.” -- Benjamin Franklin
  • rattler2rattler2 Member Posts: 55,807 Community Moderator
    darthwoo wrote: »
    This is the alt on which I've been doing the anniversary event, so if I can't get in to finish up, that will be a problem.

    We got until Feb 21st to finish the anniversary. So we got time if this locks them down. Also if this lasts longer than a few hours they may extend the event by an equivelent number of days that were missed due to downtime.
    66998372863950ee98cf7da9786e2ea9-db80k0m.png
    I can't take it anymore! Could everyone just chill out for two seconds before something CRAZY happens again?!
    The nut who actually ground out a Delta Pack, Temporal Pack, and Gamma Pack
    The resident forum voice of reason (I HAZ FORUM REP! YAY!)
  • srbin666srbin666 Member Posts: 65 Arc User
    login to tribble no problem...login to holodeck bugged so fix it and dont toss it on isp...
  • jakal122481jakal122481 Member Posts: 135 Arc User
    still no updates on twitter uuugh did they pay there isp bill this month or what
  • crypticarmsmancrypticarmsman Member Posts: 3,917 Arc User
    It's probably an actual issue with something on Cogent's (their ISP) end; but as someone who deals with these kinds of issues, sometimes even with a large customer like Cryptic, Cryptic techs will call - and Cogent will claim - "Hey nothing wrong on or end; and no other customers are reporting issues..." and the dance starts....
    Formerly known as Armsman from June 2008 to June 20, 2012
    TOS_Connie_Sig_final9550Pop.jpg
    PWE ARC Drone says: "Your STO forum community as you have known it is ended...Display names are irrelevant...Any further sense of community is irrelevant...Resistance is futile...You will be assimilated..."
  • nixie50nixie50 Member Posts: 1,033 Arc User
    the new endeavour that expires in 3 hours.. successfully log in
    u7acy6aymfw7.gif
    We Need BERETS in the tailor
  • defraggerdefragger Member Posts: 40 Arc User
    edited February 2019
    Ok,here's what i did: I wound up getting to char select screen and got Dc'ed several times.So as i stayed on the disconnected from game screen I hit Alt+f4 six times real fast and hit enter.So then I hit restart on my computer and much to my dismay there was still an instance of it running.My guess is check your task manager to see if you have more than one instance of it running.And also try the steps i did,it seemed to work for me\m/
  • davefenestratordavefenestrator Member Posts: 9,874 Arc User
    It's probably an actual issue with something on Cogent's (their ISP) end; but as someone who deals with these kinds of issues, sometimes even with a large customer like Cryptic, Cryptic techs will call - and Cogent will claim - "Hey nothing wrong on or end; and no other customers are reporting issues..." and the dance starts....

    If it's a datacenter issue, it might be affecting thousands of companies / customers, and there's nothing any one company can do to fix it until whatever the issue is gets fixed in the datacenter.

    This has happened a few times to my employer over the years, with an outage last year for half a day. We use a high-end company with multiple data centers not Akbar and Jeffs ISP Hut. Even Amazon, Google and Microsoft cloud services break now and then, just less often.

    I was looking forward to getting the event ship tonight, but with a 2-week safety margin I'm not worried.
  • starswordcstarswordc Member Posts: 10,951 Arc User
    It seems to have cleared up at least for me.
    "Great War! / And I cannot take more! / Great tour! / I keep on marching on / I play the great score / There will be no encore / Great War! / The War to End All Wars"
    — Sabaton, "Great War"
    VZ9ASdg.png

    Check out https://unitedfederationofpla.net/s/
  • zedbrightlander1zedbrightlander1 Member Posts: 14,605 Arc User
    starswordc wrote: »
    It seems to have cleared up at least for me.

    Me, too, but by the time things cleared up, all I had time for was some omega chores. :/
    f5cc65bc8f3b91f963e328314df7c48d.jpg
    Sig? What sig? I don't see any sig.
This discussion has been closed.