RE: The recent General Summer's Sale

Comments

• Olbaze - Sanctuary
    Olbaze - Sanctuary Posts: 4,242 Arc User
    edited December 2010
    shinato187 wrote: »
    So...... who's responsible for the gold prices going up hmm?, GM's?,PWE staff? ..... maybe I am just a noob but i thought those auction prices where set by the players not PWE employees.

Now here's something for you:
    Badges can be gotten with Tokens
    Tokens have a minimum price set in-game for 9,990

This means that Badges have a concrete minimum value in-game, at 79,920.

For Gold, you can get 100 badges for 0.9 Gold. This means that for 1 Gold, you can get on average 111.11 Badges.

Now, since the Badges have a minimum value of 9,990, for the Badges in Boutique to be equal in price to the ones you can get with with Tokens, Gold would have to be at 8,880,000 coins each. However, since it's less than 2,000,000, this means that the Gold sound in AH right now, coupled with the Reputation in Boutique, is relatively extremely cheap, if you have a use for Reputation, such as Rank 4 armor, Sages Weapons, Rank 8 or Rank 9.

So what they did was not directly affect the price, but they changed what you can get with it in-game. This is something only PWE can do via Boutique sales. And since most Gold is spent in the Boutique, sales in the Boutique are a one-step indirect way of manipulating Gold. However, this way, they can always play dumb and go "Oh well, it's the people, we're not forcing them to pay that much, we're only giving them this awesome deal".
    Or they could just make it so u can sell your gold for lets say 200k each and people can buy for 200k each or you can put it up for sale at 200k each but not guaranteed that some1 will buy your gold. The limit thing would be somethign like 1-500k or 1-400k

The thing is, until recently, there was such as cap at 1,000,000 coins per Gold. But as you can see, it's gone up in smoke.