test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

The 7 deadly signs Neverwinter will disappoint...

Comments

• Options
    ufdamayaufdamaya Member, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Hero Users Posts: 42
    edited February 2013
    I enjoy the game and I've been playing since 1979. Certainly not "From the beginning", but I would definitely call it the first chapter given how little was out at the time and how much has been released since then.

The person you quoted appears to be a D&D player as well. I am not much of an MMO player really, but I am very excited about this game and am even more excited after playing it this past weekend.

I think this game will appeal to a wide variety of people and there will be others that don't like it. Based on in-game chat and even the forums that have mixed comments - the game is a winner. The foundry is exactly the type of system that will cater to many real-life D&D players. I want to tell a story and experience other people's story.

I am not really trying to convince you of anything, except that some people will really like this game and some of those will be long-time D&D players like myself.
  • Options
    vrtnipatuljakvrtnipatuljak Member, Neverwinter Beta Users Posts: 39
    edited February 2013
    Here's some constructive advice:

Who is a game called D&D targeting as it's player base? Gee, one would think D&D players. The problem is Cryptic couldnt make up it's mind does it want D&D players or MMO players or WoW players so it tried to cater to everyone and historicaly that approach caters to no one.

What do D&D players want? Well one would guess D&D.

So to summarise what needs to be done
    - Put the damn d20 system into the game (this includes but is not limited to the use of Armor Class, hit bonuses and skill checks)
    - Make classes actual classes, not slice them up into pregenerated builds
    - If you are unsure how to do any of this look to DDO and a 4E book, or just ask WotC