What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

After MOD4 update NW crashes on wine/linux

Comments

• Options
    jeeptyjeepty Member Posts: 19 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    I gave it a shot on the preview server. Logging in was slow but that may be because it was the Preview server (I've never used it before). It seemed like it hung on the Neverwinter winter load screen for about 10 minutes (though that is a common glitch for me when first logging in after a new patch).

Thanks Crypticcliff and Panderus. You just won some serious brand loyalty from my end.
  • Options
    ruut68ruut68 Member, Neverwinter Beta Users Posts: 2 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    stretch611 wrote: »
    Well, this thread has almost 5,000 views right now. That puts it very high on the "I am interested in this thread" list (page 7 of 525 page of bug threads when listed by views, and this thread is less than a week old.) While I am sure that some of the people looked at the thread without realizing what Linux/Wine is, I think it also means that many people are interested and actually do play the game on Linux/Wine (or Mac/Crossover as suggested in an earlier post.)

Crypticcliff... I appreciate your work, it is obvious from others that they do as well. THANK YOU. May you get some positive recognition for your efforts.

Panderus... I do not expect linux to ever become "officially supported"; Just supporting all the flavors/hardware combinations of windows is a nightmare without supporting a lot more. But hopefully, you can use this thread as evidence that a linux/wine test environment would be beneficial in internal testing and to validate efforts at keeping linux a viable option even if not officially supported. (and hopefully get CrypticCliff's current and future efforts funded.) Also thank you for your efforts in seeing this fix get this far. (I am a developer myself, and I know if management does not care about an issue, it does not matter if the devs know how to fix it.)