test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Unable to play Wasteland, Nimbus III missions (Fixed)

snowwolf#0563 snowwolf Member Posts: 1,018 Arc User
edited January 2019 in PC Gameplay Bug Reports
I understand the Wasteland story arc with the missions involving Nimbus III had been moved to the side, but I can't find them anywhere. Of course they are not in the mission journal, but they are not listed as available missions or info either. I also tried going to Nimbus III to see of Jones were offering them but to no help.

G4iBmGM.png
hjk6XYO.png
5kcWnzE.png
0sR5u9F.png
Post edited by snowwolf#0563 on
«1

Comments

  • fred26291#2759 fred26291 Member Posts: 1,012 Arc User
    edited December 2018
    If you already ran them once, you cant run them again, if you didnt, look for the first mission i think secrets of nimbus. under someones name, and it should be there under available tab, unless something changed since i ran it a few months ago.
  • snowwolf#0563 snowwolf Member Posts: 1,018 Arc User
    tomilak wrote: »
    If you already ran them once, you cant run them again, if you didnt, look for the first mission i think secrets of nimbus. under someones name, and it should be there. unless something changed since i ran it a few months ago.

    You can only play them once?... Well that blows. I don't understand this concept of only playing things once? Like the patrol missions? What's the point?
  • fred26291#2759 fred26291 Member Posts: 1,012 Arc User
    Personally i agree with you. They should be there for constant run but there not, neither are the new romulus missions under available. even those are one shot missions. once run and done. only the first one staging area can be run more than once. Personally i feel there is a malfunction that needs to be changed but so far, the way its explained - its working as intended.
  • duncanidaho11duncanidaho11 Member Posts: 7,613 Arc User
    edited December 2018
    Dang.
    tomilak wrote: »
    If you already ran them once, you cant run them again, if you didnt, look for the first mission i think secrets of nimbus. under someones name, and it should be there. unless something changed since i ran it a few months ago.

    You can only play them once?... Well that blows. I don't understand this concept of only playing things once? Like the patrol missions? What's the point?

    I'm pretty sure that's unintended. When the journal changes went live there were some issues with mission availability and this would seem to be in the same vein (for a while FED and KDF couldn't play the last ep in the chain, recently fixed for first playthroughs.) Ie. things probably just aren't hook up right ATM.

    I can also confirm that the KDF cannot replay Nimbus missions (also check in with Jones.) If it's not fixed soon I'll be sure to keep tabs on it with Kael on the ten forward weekly livestreams, some of these are my personal favorites to replay.
    Bipedal mammal and senior Foundry author.
    Last missions:
    Evolution's Smile [SSF:3-3]
    Epoch, Part 2 [AEI]
    Transcendence, Part 4
    Memorial Tour

    For the latest Tardigrades and other creative output: @Gorgonops_SSF
    Looking for something new to play? The interactive Foundry Mission Database has you covered.
  • rndfluctuation#1470 rndfluctuation Member Posts: 813 Arc User
    Reminder:
    Denying play-ability of Nimbus III's arc may have a devastating effect on Delta/AoY (temporal) recruits who had made quests there without yet finding the probe/orc/intel etc. (We know sometimes an orb/probe isn't easily found on 1st play of the mission or players may not notice or forget about such)

    This might have some effect on some (non Jems) recruits' objectives.
  • snowwolf#0563 snowwolf Member Posts: 1,018 Arc User
    @engineerb4#4806

    Could you chime in here? Is this intended or a bug? Thanks and happy holidays.
  • frtoasterfrtoaster Member Posts: 3,340 Arc User
    This bug was reported a while ago (the day AoD launched, in fact).

    @chrian#9670 even commented in several of the threads where this bug was discussed, but so far, it's not clear that the devs correctly understand the issue: Non-Romulan-faction characters cannot replay the Wasteland arc missions.
    Waiting for a programmer ...
    qVpg1km.png
  • sthe91sthe91 Member Posts: 3,670 Arc User
    edited December 2018
    Please someone at Cryptic fix this bug so I can have the Nimbus missions show up for replay in the Available tab for my main Federation character. I did it once before the mission journal regression and now it cannot be done and does not show up. Please make this a priority @chrian#9670 @ambassadorkael#6946 @engineerb4#4806 . Also, let the Fed and KDF prerequisites be known in-game so there is less frustration for new players as well as veterans. Thanks. Merry Christmas! :)
    Where there is a Will, there is a Way.
  • fluxcapacitor#9257 fluxcapacitor Member Posts: 34 Arc User
    edited December 2018
    (flame/troll post redacted) - darkbladejk
    Post edited by darkbladejk on
  • duncanidaho11duncanidaho11 Member Posts: 7,613 Arc User
    edited December 2018
    (response to redacted post removed) - darkbladejk
    Post edited by darkbladejk on
    Bipedal mammal and senior Foundry author.
    Last missions:
    Evolution's Smile [SSF:3-3]
    Epoch, Part 2 [AEI]
    Transcendence, Part 4
    Memorial Tour

    For the latest Tardigrades and other creative output: @Gorgonops_SSF
    Looking for something new to play? The interactive Foundry Mission Database has you covered.
  • fluxcapacitor#9257 fluxcapacitor Member Posts: 34 Arc User
    edited December 2018
    (flame/troll post removed) - darkbladejk
    Post edited by darkbladejk on
  • darkbladejkdarkbladejk Member Posts: 3,247 Community Moderator
    [mod sword in hand] Please keep all posts in here related to the original topic bug at hand and potential fixes for said bug. This section of the forum is meant to report potential bugs so they may be fixed. Please taken non-bug related comments and discussions to the appropriate sub forum as this is not the place to discuss it. [mod sword sheathed]

    On a non mod related note, if it helps you guys out you can add my name to the list of folks who have had issues replaying the Nimbus missions. If you guys also don't mind, especially you @snowwolf#0563 since you're the original poster, go through your toons and see if any of the rest of them are having the issue. Most of my fed toons are, where as a few of my romulan toons and one or 2 klingon toons are not. Also I will pass this up the chain and check in from time to time if need be.
    "Someone once told me that time was a predator that stalked us all our lives. I rather believe that time is a companion who goes with us on the journey and reminds us to cherish every moment, because it will never come again." - Jean Luc Picard in Star Trek Generations

    Star Trek Online volunteer Community Moderator
  • snowwolf#0563 snowwolf Member Posts: 1,018 Arc User
    On a non mod related note, if it helps you guys out you can add my name to the list of folks who have had issues replaying the Nimbus missions. If you guys also don't mind, especially you @snowwolf#0563 since you're the original poster, go through your toons and see if any of the rest of them are having the issue. Most of my fed toons are, where as a few of my romulan toons and one or 2 klingon toons are not. Also I will pass this up the chain and check in from time to time if need be.

    It seems to only be borked for Starfleet characters who have played it before the changes were made to the game.
  • darkbladejkdarkbladejk Member Posts: 3,247 Community Moderator
    It seems to only be borked for Starfleet characters who have played it before the changes were made to the game.

    It appears we're seeing similar things then. This next question is just so it's down on paper for whenever one of the devs reads over the thread here. If you go to one of your Romulan or KDF toons that previously played the missions before the changes were made, will it let that toon replay the mission as it sits right now?
    "Someone once told me that time was a predator that stalked us all our lives. I rather believe that time is a companion who goes with us on the journey and reminds us to cherish every moment, because it will never come again." - Jean Luc Picard in Star Trek Generations

    Star Trek Online volunteer Community Moderator
  • snowwolf#0563 snowwolf Member Posts: 1,018 Arc User
    It seems to only be borked for Starfleet characters who have played it before the changes were made to the game.

    It appears we're seeing similar things then. This next question is just so it's down on paper for whenever one of the devs reads over the thread here. If you go to one of your Romulan or KDF toons that previously played the missions before the changes were made, will it let that toon replay the mission as it sits right now?

    I personally don't have any Klingon or Romulan toons, but when I asked my friends..

    Okay so this is how it seems to be.

    Can Replay Nimbus:
    All Klingon Defense Characters
    All Romulan Characters
    All Starfleet Characters who have not played through the Nimbus missions before the changes were made.

    Those who CANNOT Replay Nimbus:
    All Starfleet Characters who have completed the Nimbus missions before the changes were made.

    It seems that if you are a Starfleet character who played through the Nimbus Arc before the changes were made, you cannot replay them. But if you create a new Starfleet character and play through the Nimbus Arc, you can replay it again.

    However there are no bugs for the Romulan or Klingon side of things it seems.

    @engineerb4#4806
  • where2r1where2r1 Member Posts: 6,054 Arc User
    edited December 2018
    KDF can replay Nimbus....is not correct.

    Here is what I am seeing here:
    Romulan, KDF or Fed Aligned: It is in Episodes so not effected by this bug (yet?).
    Hopefully, never.

    KDF on replay: Not showing up.
    KDF that is playing Nimbus for the first time: In Available Tab under K'Men after Tutorial.

    FED on replay: Not showing up.
    FED that is playing for the first time: Not showing up after Tutorial is completed.
    FED AOD that is playing for the first time: In Available tab under Franklin Drake after Tutorial.

    Jem'Hadar FED Aligned playing for the first time: Not showing up.
    Jem'Hadar KDF Aligned playing for the first time: In Available tab under K'men after Tutorial.
    Do not have a Jem'Hadar that has finished Nimbus so I don't know about replay.

    ++++++++++++++++

    What it appears like is happening here is: upon status of "Replay" the system sets Nimbus missions to go to Episodes tab only. The only faction with Nimbus in Episodes is Romulans....so they can replay the missions from there.

    They need to set up "Replay" so the system sets Nimbus to go to "Available" tab for the other factions.

    They need to fix Nimbus so that it unlocks for FED characters (for the first time play) when the Tutorial is finished.

    But, in all seriousness, I believe they are working on fixing all this stuff with the Mission Journal. But they are not going to be working on this during the holidays. We all have to wait until the new year...and, possibly, until after the Anniversary is mostly done. They are planning a huge Anniversary event this year.
    Post edited by where2r1 on
    "Spend your life doing strange things with weird people." -- UNK

    “Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.” -- Benjamin Franklin
  • snowwolf#0563 snowwolf Member Posts: 1,018 Arc User
    where2r1 wrote: »
    KDF can replay Nimbus???? Really???? I did not think mine could.

    Hmm, can you go and check? Also important to note if you have played through them before the changes or not. If you're not certain, check the logs of the character with the date.
  • where2r1where2r1 Member Posts: 6,054 Arc User
    Hmm, can you go and check? Also important to note if you have played through them before the changes or not. If you're not certain, check the logs of the character with the date.

    Done. Updated on previous post. I did not refresh the screen on my browser so did not see this comment. :)

    I am going back to bed. LOL!

    You should go kill snowmen in WW....because they are not going to do anything during the holidays....

    And I wouldn't want them to drop some half finished thing on us because they rushed it between Christmas and New Year's holiday break, anyways.
    "Spend your life doing strange things with weird people." -- UNK

    “Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.” -- Benjamin Franklin
  • leemwatsonleemwatson Member Posts: 4,531 Arc User
    As per: https://www.arcgames.com/en/forums/startrekonline#/discussion/1245792/unable-to-play-wasteland-nimbus-iii-missions

    XB1 has this same issue. Non-Rom characters cannot replay this.

    Only workaround we've found is to team with a Rom toon to get access to the maps, but not the list. It does not appear in the 'Available Tab' or 'Incoming Hails'.
    "You don't want to patrol!? You don't want to escort!? You don't want to defend the Federation's Starbases!? Then why are you flying my Starships!? If you were a Klingon you'd be killed on the spot, but lucky for you.....you WERE in Starfleet. Let's see how New Zealand Penal Colony suits you." Adm A. Necheyev.
  • where2r1where2r1 Member Posts: 6,054 Arc User
    This is one of several issues since the Mission Journal "revamp". I have not seen any changes, fix wise for some time....probably due to the holidays but hoping they are taking their time and reviewing the work that actually need to be implemented.

    Before they drop the next version on Holodeck for both PC and Consoles. Yes, consoles are having the same experience.
    "Spend your life doing strange things with weird people." -- UNK

    “Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.” -- Benjamin Franklin
  • engineerb4#4806 engineerb4 Member Posts: 220 Cryptic Developer
    edited January 2019
    .
    Post edited by engineerb4#4806 on
    STO Software Engineer
    I build things. Things that make us go.
  • snowwolf#0563 snowwolf Member Posts: 1,018 Arc User
    Hello @snowwolf#0563 I loaded a copy of your character in dev and I'm seeing the Nimbus missions in the Available tab under a section labeled "Wasteland Mission Replay" that starts with "Blind Men Tell All Tales". This Wasteland section appears underneath the Spectres section. I checked this against my live characters and I'm seeing the same problem as you on live, that these missions aren't showing up. So this means that problem has been fixed in dev and the fix should go live sometime in January.

    Also, we are evaluating the possibility of putting the removed arcs back into the episodes tab but under a separate section that would only show up when the character is at max level. This may or may not happen.

    Ah, alrighty then. I'll keep checking with every update and when the fix goes live I'll post the update in this topic. Thanks for helping out and being awesome, hope you had a great holiday!
  • leemwatsonleemwatson Member Posts: 4,531 Arc User
    edited January 2019
    where2r1 wrote: »
    This is one of several issues since the Mission Journal "revamp". I have not seen any changes, fix wise for some time....probably due to the holidays but hoping they are taking their time and reviewing the work that actually need to be implemented.

    Before they drop the next version on Holodeck for both PC and Consoles. Yes, consoles are having the same experience.

    I play both PC and XB1 versions, I was posting this for the fleet I'm in on XB1, as console players tend not to post on Forums.

    I'd guess it's a bad DB link, primarily because on Roms, it's in the main list still. The simplest solution would be to revert the change.

    (merged from duplicate thread) - darkbladejk
    Post edited by darkbladejk on
    "You don't want to patrol!? You don't want to escort!? You don't want to defend the Federation's Starbases!? Then why are you flying my Starships!? If you were a Klingon you'd be killed on the spot, but lucky for you.....you WERE in Starfleet. Let's see how New Zealand Penal Colony suits you." Adm A. Necheyev.
  • darkbladejkdarkbladejk Member Posts: 3,247 Community Moderator
    @leemwatson I've merged your thread in with the already active thread. This is to keep things somewhat organized in the bug reports area.
    "Someone once told me that time was a predator that stalked us all our lives. I rather believe that time is a companion who goes with us on the journey and reminds us to cherish every moment, because it will never come again." - Jean Luc Picard in Star Trek Generations

    Star Trek Online volunteer Community Moderator
  • where2r1where2r1 Member Posts: 6,054 Arc User
    @leemwatson I've merged your thread in with the already active thread. This is to keep things somewhat organized in the bug reports area.

    Makes sense.

    I am keeping track of the Specters/Breen/Lost Dominion for PC and Consoles on my thread.
    If you have issues with those missing on Level 65 Characters, please make a note over there.

    I am hoping they get this fix done all together. Or change it back, so it is more level appropriate.

    https://www.arcgames.com/en/forums/startrekonline/#/discussion/1244925/specters-breen-invasion-and-lost-dominion-story-arcs-missing-on-level-65-characters
    "Spend your life doing strange things with weird people." -- UNK

    “Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.” -- Benjamin Franklin
  • parish#5017 parish Member Posts: 114 Arc User
    This is very frustrating and I can't stop wondering WHY?? Just makes no sense if your think of the player community. Nimbus is one of the best maps imo. If you didn't get the nimbus fleet ships the first time your sol. Why? So many bad decisions being made. Love the game, appreciate the work by all involved. But feel like I'm on sinking ship. no pun
  • snowwolf#0563 snowwolf Member Posts: 1,018 Arc User
    This is very frustrating and I can't stop wondering WHY?? Just makes no sense if your think of the player community. Nimbus is one of the best maps imo. If you didn't get the nimbus fleet ships the first time your sol. Why? So many bad decisions being made. Love the game, appreciate the work by all involved. But feel like I'm on sinking ship. no pun

    What are you talking about? Did you even read the topic? It's a bug and they are going to put the Nimbus III missions back just like the developer said...
  • shadowleopard64#3762 shadowleopard64 Member Posts: 90 Arc User
    edited January 2019
    This is a duplicated thread. I had to get a supervisor to actually say yeah we messed it up lmao. but like most things I would not be surprised this will still be a new feature.

    The Supervisor said this.

    Hello,

    Thank you for the update. We apologize for the inconvenience, and it seems that with the mission rework some issues have made themselves known. Although we have reported this issue to our development team for further investigation, we have gone ahead and credited your account 500 Zen as an apology as we do not have an ETA for resolution. Thank you for understanding.

    Regards,
    Retribution
    Specialist Game Master
    Perfect World Entertainment
    http://support.arcgames.com/


    However they quickly went back to post it as a suggestion to bring it back.

    So I am not going to hold my breath that this will ever get fixed.
  • snowwolf#0563 snowwolf Member Posts: 1,018 Arc User
    So the issues in this bug report has now been fixed, I am now able to replay the Nimbus III arc on my Starfleet character.

    Thanks for helping out @engineerb4#4806 !
Sign In or Register to comment.