test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Catching the Torch

ambassadorkael#6946 ambassadorkael Member, Administrator Posts: 2,675 Community Manager
edited November 2016 in Galactic News Network [PC]
Hey everybody,

My name is Mike, and I’m going to be the new Community Manager for Star Trek Online.

I’m really excited to be joining all of you here, and to be your voice to the dev team (and their voice to you.) I’ve been hanging out here in secret for a few weeks, and this is a really awesome community. You stand atop a salt mountain and make reasonable arguments about things that would bring other communities to their knees. I like that.

I’ve been running online communities for about five years, including running my own news website and moderating forums and live streams for major video game companies. I’ve been a part of internet communities since before there was an internet – did anyone hang out on INN way back in the day?
I’ve been a Trekkie ever since I first caught “Sins of the Father” on TV about twenty years ago. I haven’t watched all of it, but I’ve seen all of TNG, DS9 and Voyager, and all of the movies. My favorite ship is the Bird of Prey, and my favorite characters are Worf and Quark.

Other than that, I’ve got a wide variety of nerd interests, from those other Star things to comics, pro wrestling and theatre. You can sort of assume that if it’s happened in the geek world, I know about it, except for my own giant blind spot, anime.

I’ll be working closely with Trendy over the next few months as we move into the next phase. Don’t worry, she’s not going away. We’ve got a lot of cool stuff that we’re working on together coming your way soon, so stay tuned.

Comments

• Options
    timelords1701timelords1701 Member Posts: 556 Arc User
    Welcome aboard..
  • Options
    nebfabnebfab Member Posts: 672 Arc User
    Welcome! :) Or should we say "yI'el!" now, considering your favourite ship and character?
  • Options