test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

log in issues connected to CA earthquake?

lyran2lyran2 Member Posts: 0 Arc User
So

In the last half hour I was trying to enter my starbase when everything just "hung up" and quit responding. I closed the program and tried to restart. Arc stayed open, but when I hit "play" I get a message that the Cryptic Launcher is trying to update but can't connect to the server.

I'm wondering if the inability to connect is in any way connected to the 6.0 Earthquake that hit in Northern California.
Post edited by lyran2 on
«134

Comments

  • phalanx01phalanx01 Member Posts: 348 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Don't know if it is but I can't get the launcher to connect anymore now and I'm in Europe. I just think Cryptic's server hamster is down again for a while...
  • dkeith2011dkeith2011 Member Posts: 595 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Same problems here, hadn't heard about the quake though.

    In central US.
  • mouertemouerte Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Getting the same thing
  • jaymclaughlinjaymclaughlin Member Posts: 630 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Launcher is saying it can't connect to the patch server
    animated.gif
  • ffttfftt Member Posts: 711 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Same here. But I doubt it's the Earthquake. (website still up and I believe the game servers are one the east coast)
  • scififan78scififan78 Member Posts: 1,383 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    I too am having the same issues.
  • cjseven01cjseven01 Member Posts: 28 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    I'm having this issue now
    Keeps going to launcher update then times out
  • riccardo171riccardo171 Member Posts: 1,802 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Same here. I wanted to take a break from a day of studying... oh well, some guys in high places gotta hate me. I guess I'll keep on studying. :sigh:
  • lordsteve1lordsteve1 Member Posts: 3,492 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    In the UK here and can't connect to the server either. It's dead Jim.
    SulMatuul.png
  • bobsisko47bobsisko47 Member Posts: 67 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    I have the same problem, launcher is unable to connect to the patch server. I'm from europe.
  • lexusk19lexusk19 Member Posts: 1,383 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Same problem here, cant get it to connect to the patch server. This also happened yesterday for a little while to.

    Im in WI USA
    gVOTFcj.jpg
  • tucker84tucker84 Member Posts: 113 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Central Europe confirms the problem.
  • punktribblepunktribble Member Posts: 142 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    same BS here on the East coast US.......Mo take a break for once lol :P
  • spireryspirery Member Posts: 17 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Same here in the uk:mad:
  • vindaar2977vindaar2977 Member Posts: 3 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Still down as of 1027am EST
  • mouertemouerte Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Hell no B I want in lol
  • otowiotowi Member Posts: 600 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Norway reporting in, no connection to Starfleet Command, engineering is stumped...

    Hope they get it fixed ASAP, need my daily STO dose, or I'll start having halucinations and what not...:P Ok maybe not, but you get my point. :D
  • infileuminfileum Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Unable to sign on here too, was zoning, then at 40% it says "server is not responding" and then got disconnected.

    Netherlands - Amsterdam.
  • klist182klist182 Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Same problem. Central US.
  • lexxie1983lexxie1983 Member Posts: 80 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Same Here - Netherlands
    n8eym7c.jpg

    click for bigger image
  • grouchyotakugrouchyotaku Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Launcher is saying it can't connect to the patch server

    I can confirm this from my Silicon Valley/Northern California Comcast connection...

    This is not Earthquake related. I live less then a dozen miles to where Cryptic is located in Los Gatos. At 3:25 this morning, I was woken up by some minor rolling of my apartment. 'Minor Earthquake' I thought, (being a native Californian...) and went back to sleep. Waking up this morning, I find this was a 6.1 Magnitude Earthquake, but it was centered in Wine country in the Napa Valley, North of San Fransisco. The Silicon Valley is about as far south of San Fransisco as the Napa Valley is north of San Fransisco...

    Besides, the STO servers are located in a Cogent Server Farm in Boston, so this is completely unrelated to the quake...

    Edit: Launcher just came up...
  • commanderefficommandereffi Member Posts: 33 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Cant connect here in North Carolina.
  • anazondaanazonda Member Posts: 8,399 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Works fine for me... Wait... no it dosen't.

    Soo... Earthquake far away from Cryptic huh?

    Must be something they must compensate for right? I mean after all, if some south-african can blame his contrys bad infrastructure on cryptic and demand compensation (and fail btw), something like a earthquake IN the US must be something we can be compensated for.

    Anywho, hope everyone is alright over there.
    Don't look silly... Don't call it the "Z-Store/Zen Store"...
    Let me put the rumors to rest: it's definitely still the C-Store (Cryptic Store) It just takes ZEN.
    Like Duty Officers? Support effords to gather ideas
  • klist182klist182 Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    never mind
  • futurepastnowfuturepastnow Member Posts: 3,660 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    The quake happened like three hours ago and was on the opposite end of the Bay from Los Gatos. They probably barely felt it there.

    The servers aren't in San Fran anyway.
  • daunknownadmindaunknownadmin Member Posts: 96 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    USA, East Coast - Game On!!
  • grouchyotakugrouchyotaku Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    anazonda wrote: »
    ...
    Anywho, hope everyone is alright over there.

    California has very good and strict building code standards. Initial reports are 70 people injured, with most of the structural damage consisting of broken windows, items thrown off shelves, refrigerators flung open and their contents spilled. But this is just in Napa, with the Silicon Valley is unaffected...

    Hmmm, Launcher is up, but doesn't seem able to connect to the patch server...
  • lucho80lucho80 Member Posts: 6,600 Bug Hunter
    edited August 2014
    The server is in Boston therefore no effect.
  • mjarbarmjarbar Member Posts: 2,084 Arc User
    edited August 2014
    Got the launcher as far as 'connecting' but froze again!

    Can someone pleeeeeeeeeze feed the hamsters!!! :D
    hZbIdbh.jpg
    THANK YOU FOUNDRY - YOUR CONTENT GAVE ME MANY HAPPY HOURS
    Get the Forums Enhancement Extension!
Sign In or Register to comment.