test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Keybinds For Dummies

191012141517

Comments

  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2012
    BDS wrote:
    I don't believe there is a specific command for fore or aft, just phasers, torps, or all. That being said, if you put them in one of your trays, you could always make a keybind that activates just the fore, just the aft, or all your weapons.

    Yes. I played around with that and found it less fluid so iw as hoping against hope.
    Thank you for the answer.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2012
    ALIAS
    This post is a summary of the ALIAS command in Star Trek Online. It has been mentioned several times in this Keybinding thread, and it can be used to improve keybinding. A brief description is given in-game if you type /cmds alias.

    An ALIAS is basically a shortcut to a longer command. For example, you can shorten /channelsend Accolades to /acc.

    CommandAliases.txt
    Unlike keybinds, which are saved between STO sessions, STO forgets your Alias commands as soon as you close the game. Fortunately, you can save and edit your Alias commands in the CommandAliases.txt file. As with keybind files, you should use Notepad to edit the file. If you edit your CommandAliases.txt while in game, you will need to exit and restart the game to see the effect. Keybind files, in contrast, can be saved then loaded in-game.

    The CommandAliases.txt located in the Star Trek Online\Live\Localdata directory.

    What can I do with an Alias command?
    1. Abbreviate longer commands
    2. Toggle keybind commands for a single key
    3. Cycle gameplay comments
    4. Crash your game :(

    Syntax
    Chat Window
    /Alias AliasName "Command 1 $$ Command 2 $$ Command 3"
    CommandAliases.txt file:
    Alias AliasName "Command 1 $$ Command 2 $$ Command 3"
    If you are using a keybind file for you keybinds, then you know that the /bind command is ommitted from the file. In contrast, the CommandAliases.txt file requires the alias command to be listed on each line. Also, the quotes around the command(s) are required.

    Variables
    {} is a parameter holder that passes values from the Alias to the command.
    Alias z "zone {}"
    When you type /z Take out the Regen Probes first, you send a message to Zone without leaving your Team or Fleet channel.

    Quotes
    Quotes "" are required. You may also link 2 or more commands with $$:
    Alias hi "local Hello $target, today is a good day to die! $$ em bow"
    <& &> are used as quotes around quotes.
    Alias mfc <&channelsend "My Fleet Channel" {}&>

    Alias an Alias
    You can use one Alias command within a second.
    Alias teamself "team {} $$ playersay {}"
    Alias t0 "teamself Acquiring target: $target"
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2012
    1. Abbreviate longer commands
    The Aliases in your CommandAliases.txt file can be referenced in your keybinds. I use these aliases to simplify the syntax on my keybind files.
    alias Tray "+TrayExecByTray {}"
    alias Heal "+TrayExecByTray 2 {}"
    alias fol "+followuntilincombatorinrange"
    alias teamself "team {} $$ playersay {}"

    2. Toggle keybind commands for a single key
    This next example defines a Ctrl-F12 keybind to toggle the HUD between locked and unlocked states. An unlocked HUD allows you to rearrange the items on your HUD. Be sure to lock it when you are done moving things around. Now, I could have used 2 keybinds to accomplish the same thing. For example, Ctrl-F11 for HUD Unlock and Ctrl-F12 for HUD Lock. But I think using the Alias and the single keybind is more elegant.
    // CommandAliases.txt
    alias g1 <& GenJailUnlock 1 $$ playersay HUD unlocked $$ alias g1 "g2" &>
    alias g2 <& GenJailUnlock 0 $$ playersay HUD locked $$ alias g1 "g3" &>
    alias g3 <& GenJailUnlock 1 $$ playersay HUD unlocked $$ alias g1 "g2" &>
    // Space.txt keybind file
    Ctrl+F12 "g1"

    3. Cycle gameplay comments
    This is a fun one for use in PVP. Although I cannot find his post, I believe that TranceaddicT used a series of rotating bindfiles to accomplish the same thing.
    // CommandAliases.txt
    alias teamself "team {} $$ playersay {}"
    alias t0 <& teamself Acquiring target: $target $$ alias t0 "t1" &>
    alias t1 <& teamself Targetting: $target $$ alias t0 "t2" &>
    alias t2 <& teamself Help me destroy: $target $$ alias t0 "t3" &>
    alias t3 <& teamself Focus attack on: $target $$ alias t0 "t4" &>
    alias t4 <& teamself Fire all weapons at: $target $$ alias t0 "t1" &>
    // Space.txt keybind file
    t "t0"

    4. Crash your game
    This was my first attempt at a cycling Alias command. It WILL crash your game. I don't recommend that you use it. Rather, it is an example of what to avoid when you start dabbling in Alias commands.
    alias x1 <&team 1 $$ alias x1 "x2"&>
    alias x2 <&team 2 $$ alias x1 "x3"&>
    alias x3 <&team 3 $$ alias x1 "x1"&>
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2012
    Firstly, there is some really useful Binding information on this forum...thanks everyone for posting. Its really saved me some frustration with having not enough hands/fingers :D

    The Key Bind system is really useful but its a real short coming not having a delay command. Taking what I've learned in the forum I've got myself setup quite well IMHO; limiting each Key Bind to 2 actions, or 3/4 if I have two of the action available - 2 Bridge Officers having same Skill for example.

    So I thought I'd share what I've come up with, maybe someone will find it useful in some way:
    Space = FireAll

    I have setup my numpad for all other Skills I use during combat.
    numpad 1 = AtkBuffs (Alpha and Omega)
    numpad 2 = Primary Weapon Buffs (Cannon Volley, Cannon Volley and Torp Volley) Fires as 1/3 and then 2 and then 1/3
    numpad 3 = Secondary Weap Buffs and Start Atk (Fire On My Mark? and Jam Sensors)
    numpad 5 = Hold on (Brace for Impact)
    numpad 6 = Re-enage (Tactical Init and Ramming Speed) - untested so might need work...
    numpad 7 = Getting hammered (Tact Team and Tact Team)
    numpad 8 = Going down the girgler (Hazzard Emitters and Emerg Shield Power)
    numpad 9 = Run! (Evasive Manv and Polorise Shields)

    My Bind file is basically the following line many times; changed to point to different keys and skills each line:

    numpad1 "+TrayExecByTray 0 0 $$ +TrayExecByTray 0 1"

    NOTE: I have only played PVE so I don't know if this would work in a PVP battle.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2012
    Hi,

    nice thread, good guid, although I haven't understood everything.
    I didn't read everything in this thread, scrolled through most of it by searching for anything interesting about joysticks.

    While I am very satisfied with my mouse-keyboard-control on the ground, I'd like to fly my ship using mostly my MS Sidewinder FF2.

    As I read, the bindfile only containes modified values, but the game recognizes not a single joystickbutton.
    And it doesn't recognizes the throttle and coolie hat too.
    I searched the forum about it, found some others having the same problem about throttle, but...well, it doesn't seem to be the same problem to me. They are complaining about the "control" tab in the options.
    Well, I am using the "key" tab.

    And using the z-axies, the camera turns into the wrong direction.

    Can someone help me?
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2012
    Others may have found a better way, but I turned off joystick support and just mapped the throttle, hat(s), and buttons to keyboard keys and then use an extensive keybind file to allow me to use my Saitek X-65f to do everything I need to play.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited January 2012
    Thx, that helped a little.
    Found also another solution:
    Joystick1_Down "+up"
    Joystick1_Up "+down"
    Joystick1_Left "+left"
    Joystick1_Right "+right"
    JoypadDown "+power_exec Reroute_Shields_Rear"
    JoypadUp "+power_exec Reroute_Shields_Forward"
    JoypadLeft "+power_exec Reroute_Shields_Left"
    Joypadright "+power_exec Reroute_Shields_Right"
    Joystick2_Down "throttleadjust .25"
    Joystick2_Up "throttleadjust -.25"
    Joy9 "GenSendMessage HUD_Root FireAll"
    Joy10 "ScanForClickies"
    Thats in my bindfile for space controling. Works quiet well.
    It's sad, throttle isn't like it should be, any ideas how to improve that?
    And it seems shieldrerouting doesn't work with cooliehat, but JoypadUp for Example is, what I found in controller.cfg in the "live" directory of the game.
    There I also find "CameraX Rz". Is there a way to invert this?
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    is there a list of all the commands like
    GenSendMessage HUD_Root FireTorps
    and all the exec commands?

    /cmd list does not display the hud_root ones and the exec ones like distribute shield power?
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    Shkelton wrote: »
    is there a list of all the commands like
    GenSendMessage HUD_Root FireTorps
    and all the exec commands?

    Shkelton,
    I periodically Google for the GEN commands, but have found no reference and very little conversation. Your can find some of them by trial and error. STO will offer suggestions for commands and parameters after you type 3 letters. Some of the potentially helpful ones that I've uncovered include:
    /GenButtonClick Minimap_Ripcord_Button
    /GenButtonClick Minimap_Lower_Button_Doff
    /GenButtonClick Loot_Takeallbutton

    Feel free to check out my incomplete list at the STO Command Refence Library. It is a public Google Doc, and I encourage anyone to add to it.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    There must be more

    I found the following three
    GenSendMessage HUD_Root FirePhasers = fire all energy weapons
    GenSendMessage HUD_Root FireTorps = fire all torpedos
    GenSendMessage HUD_Root FireAll = fire all weps
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    Yes, there are many more. Here are some of the options for GenSendMessage.
    /GenSendMessage Hud_Root FireAll
    /GenSendMessage Hud_Root FirePhasers
    /GenSendMessage Hud_Root FireTorps
    /GenSendMessage Inventory_Root SwitchActive Weapon
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowInventory
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowShipCrewAssignments
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowPowers
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowStatus
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowPeople
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowMissions
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowCapatainLog
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowMap
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowFleet
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowRemoteContacts
    /GenSendMessage Root ShowTrayPowers
    /GenSendMessage TicketWindow_Root TicketWindow_Show
    /GenSendMessage Throttle_Fullimpulse_Button FullThrottle


    There are at least 30 GEN commands:
    GenAddModal
    GenAddWindow
    GenAddWindowPCXbox
    GenButtonClick
    GenCycleFocus
    GenCycleFocusReverse
    GenListActivate
    GenListDoSelectedCallback
    GenListDown
    GenListUp
    GenMovableBoxResetAllPositions
    GenMovableBoxResetPosition
    GenRemoveModal
    GenRemoveWindow
    GenRemoveWindowPCXbox
    GenSendMessage
    GenSetFocus
    GenSetText
    GenSetTooltipFocus
    GenSetValue
    GenSliderAdjustNotch
    GenSliderAdjustValue
    GenSliderSetNotch
    GenSliderSetValue
    GenJailAdd
    GenJailRemove
    GenJailReset
    GenJailSink
    GenJailUnlock


    Help build the STO Command Reference Library.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    Is there a way to separate Torps and Mines so that mines don't fire off unless specifically called for?
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    Kaalryzian wrote:
    Is there a way to separate Torps and Mines so that mines don't fire off unless specifically called for?

    Of course! :)

    First, make sure that your mines are not on auto fire. Second, don't hit the 'fire torp' button, but make a keybind for both weapons. They don't have to be in one of the three visible trays (if you have that configured) but can still be called by the key. If you want, you can remap the default fire all torp key to just the tray, and then you only have to call the mines when you want them.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    thanks BDS; seems obvious now you've said it :o
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    Just note if you go to bind your ship's controls: Pitch Up and Pitch Down are reversed. It's been this way for two years and thousands of patches. Funny how they never fix it.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    There is something, I haven't understood yet.
    Some commands allow an + or ++ in front of it, like left, +left and ++left.
    But some don't. Why not? How do I get those? Only by trail and error?
    I'd like to have something like "++throttleadjust .01", because in my understanding, it accerlates the ship, until I tap tht binded key again, so I don't have to tap the key several time like when using "throttleadjust .01" or using .25.
    Any ideas about that?
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    If I was bind all my weapons "Dual Beam bank, 2x Heavy Cannons and 2 turrets" to a newly create fire key key using my skill bar

    eg:

    bind 4 +TrayExecByTray 5 1 $$ +TrayExecByTray 5 2... etc etc...

    Would all my weapons fire a approx the same time? Move the next one if the proceeding one is on cool down?

    Basically the reason I am asking is I am trying to get my weapons to fire one after another to minimize my weapon drain.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    No, they would not fire all at the same time, and depending on the length of your keybind, you may need to hit it a few of times to have it activate all your weapons.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    CosmicBlue wrote:
    There is something, I haven't understood yet.
    Some commands allow an + or ++ in front of it, like left, +left and ++left.
    But some don't. Why not? How do I get those? Only by trail and error?
    I'd like to have something like "++throttleadjust .01", because in my understanding, it accerlates the ship, until I tap tht binded key again, so I don't have to tap the key several time like when using "throttleadjust .01" or using .25.
    Any ideas about that?

    there is no official documentation on the command list except for what is provided in game. All syntax that has been discovered is due to trial and error.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    BDS wrote:
    No, they would not fire all at the same time, and depending on the length of your keybind, you may need to hit it a few of times to have it activate all your weapons.

    Thank you for the confirmation! Saved me from alot of tweaking and head scratching.

    Now to just get home to do this haha:D
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    Hmmm seems to not work... I am only firing my first call and nothing else. Even if I hit it again when the first weapon is on cool down the second will not fire.

    Weapons on Tray 5 1-4 and the bind I tried is

    /bind n +TrayExecByTray 4 0 $$ +TrayExecByTray 4 1 $$ +TrayExecByTray 4 2 $$+TrayExecByTray 4 3


    any ideas?


    Note: I did try just;
    /bind n +TrayExecByTray 4 0 $$ +TrayExecByTray 4 1

    and same effect only 4 0 triggered not 4 1
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    at the office, so I can't try this, but can you?

    /bind n "trayexecbytraywithbackup 1 4 0 4 1"

    hit 'n' twice, with about a second in between presses.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    yup that fired both.

    With this bind generally only three weapons fire at one time and I get a balance shield strength
    Weapons Tray 5 1-5 and balance Shields on 5 6.

    /bind n "trayexecbytraywithbackup 1 4 0 4 1 $$ trayexecbytraywithbackup 1 4 2 4 3 $$ trayexecbytraywithbackup 1 4 4 4 5"


    Hard to see if it is performing better then the general Fire all weapon command and auto-fire.
    More testing needed to see if the experiment works or not.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited February 2012
    probably the best way to test would be in a personal challenge against a single enemy/friend. Have that person just sit still and not fire back. Get 1k away fire with the keybind around 10 times. Let him heal, fire 10 times with the default fire all weapons.

    Look at the logs and then see which is better.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited March 2012
    Hey guys,

    I have no clue, what I'm doing wrong...

    I want to fire my cannons with my mouse thumb buttons so i use:

    /bind Button5 "+TrayExecByTray 3 0$$+TrayExecByTray 3 1$$+TrayExecByTray 3 2$$+TrayExecByTray 3 3$$+TrayExecByTray 3 4$$+TrayExecByTray 3 5"


    /bind Button4 "+TrayExecByTray 3 8$$+TrayExecByTray 3 9"


    This is how i put my cannons into the tray:

    http://i.imgur.com/nKhut.jpg


    I have 2 mouse thumbbuttons (Logitech G5) and i want to be able to fire BO3 (with the beam) with the fore thumbbutton and my cannons with aft.


    What am I doing wrong?


    Thx in advance!


    EDIT: I tryed to bind the commands on other buttons on my keyboard, won't work either... no clue :o

    EDIT2: Ok, it looks like the bind for the cannons won't work, if they are set to autofire. Someone has a solution to this?
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited March 2012
    can someone tel me the difference between for example, "+TrayExecByTray 3 8" and "usetrayslot3 8"

    Thanks
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited March 2012
    Krruuszh wrote:
    Hey guys,

    I have no clue, what I'm doing wrong...

    I want to fire my cannons with my mouse thumb buttons so i use:

    /bind Button5 "+TrayExecByTray 3 0$$+TrayExecByTray 3 1$$+TrayExecByTray 3 2$$+TrayExecByTray 3 3$$+TrayExecByTray 3 4$$+TrayExecByTray 3 5"


    /bind Button4 "+TrayExecByTray 3 8$$+TrayExecByTray 3 9"


    This is how i put my cannons into the tray:

    http://i.imgur.com/nKhut.jpg


    I have 2 mouse thumbbuttons (Logitech G5) and i want to be able to fire BO3 (with the beam) with the fore thumbbutton and my cannons with aft.


    What am I doing wrong?


    Thx in advance!


    EDIT: I tryed to bind the commands on other buttons on my keyboard, won't work either... no clue :o

    EDIT2: Ok, it looks like the bind for the cannons won't work, if they are set to autofire. Someone has a solution to this?


    It looks like you are binding from the chat window and this can be problematic with long commands. Best to put it in a text file and follow the upload procedure in OP. That said test incrementally by using a single and get that to work first. Try inserting spaces around the $$. Also quotes are not needed binding from the chat window but are necessary if you do so from a bind file.
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited March 2012
    Barinor wrote: »
    can someone tel me the difference between for example, "+TrayExecByTray 3 8" and "usetrayslot3 8"

    Thanks

    Could not find that on any of my lists where do you find it?
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited March 2012
    Krruuszh wrote:
    I want to fire my cannons with my mouse thumb buttons so i use:

    /bind Button5 "+TrayExecByTray 3 0$$+TrayExecByTray 3 1$$+TrayExecByTray 3 2$$+TrayExecByTray 3 3$$+TrayExecByTray 3 4$$+TrayExecByTray 3 5"


    /bind Button4 "+TrayExecByTray 3 8$$+TrayExecByTray 3 9"

    Hmm... odd, should work. But try flip them one bar lower and modify the binds accordingly?
  • Options
    Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 2,264,498 Arc User
    edited March 2012
    the A1-A0 map to Tray 2 0 through 2 9. I had a similar problem with my Emergency Power cycling bind.
Sign In or Register to comment.