test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Extreme lag since "Awakening"

Dear devs,

a LOT of players are experiencing extreme lag since the launch of Awakening. I hope you are aware of the problem.
It's horrible, it's long and constant. Please, check what's going on ond let us know.

Comments

  • stlheestlhee Member Posts: 63 Arc User
    Same problem here. STO is absolutely unplayable. Mostly 4-5 minutes need to load a character, sometimes 2 mins to start a mission. Please put back the EU proxies.
  • stlheestlhee Member Posts: 63 Arc User
    And now: 'login server time out'. Can not login at all...
  • jatszompc#5609 jatszompc Member Posts: 34 Arc User
    I have experience this problem too. Not always. But today was terrible, i cannot play. Even the access page is loading very slowly.
  • stlheestlhee Member Posts: 63 Arc User
    There were 2-3 hrs without problems, but the timeout error is back!

    @jatszompc: What's your ISP? Digi Kft? :P
  • jatszompc#5609 jatszompc Member Posts: 34 Arc User
    After some good days, now was an update day, and a problem come back and worse than ever. Extrem slow loading.
  • ayexeyenayexeyen Member Posts: 202 Arc User
    After some good days, now was an update day, and a problem come back and worse than ever. Extrem slow loading.

    For me it never got better since "awakening". Is it possible to have a statement from the Devs?
  • ayexeyenayexeyen Member Posts: 202 Arc User
    @ambassadorkael#6946
    I am going to open a ticket... this is unbearable and unfair.

    tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

    Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 * * * Request timed out.
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 18 ms 19 ms 19 ms 46.140.4.129
    4 * 37 ms * ch-zrh03a-rc1-ae55-0.aorta.net [84.116.200.249]
    5 29 ms 29 ms 38 ms ch-zrh01b-ra1-ae1-0.aorta.net [84.116.134.142]
    6 78 ms 27 ms 50 ms 213.46.171.222
    7 40 ms 27 ms * ffm-bb3-link.telia.net [62.115.142.110]
    8 34 ms 34 ms 27 ms ffm-b5-link.telia.net [62.115.114.89]
    9 31 ms 29 ms 30 ms ffm-b4-link.telia.net [62.115.116.17]
    10 35 ms 30 ms 30 ms akamai-ic-317156-ffm-b4.c.telia.net [62.115.149.17]
    11 33 ms 55 ms 32 ms po110.bs-b.sech-fra.netarch.akamai.com [72.52.48.200]
    12 32 ms 32 ms 34 ms a72-52-1-191.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [72.52.1.191]
    13 37 ms 30 ms 33 ms ae121.access-a.sech-fra.netarch.akamai.com [72.52.48.205]
    14 296 ms * 1323 ms 93.191.173.63
    15 3253 ms * 1204 ms a209-200-171-102.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [209.200.171.102]
    16 619 ms * 290 ms 198.49.243.237
    17 * 266 ms 265 ms patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]
  • salvation4salvation4 Member Posts: 1,125 Arc User
    edited September 28
    Launched my game and as soon I loaded into sector space was greeted by an SNR, then a rubber band which would have made Q's finger snapping of the Enterprise D to sector J25 look like a child's hop skip and jump..It was like I was thrown from Sol system to Qo'nos..Jeez..

    I mean seriously its unplayable for me at least today on a 32Mbps connection also..How is the event supposed to be done with this kind of server issues????

    Akami Tech is the BANE for many players..

    Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms [x.x.x.x]
    2 6 ms 5 ms 7 ms [x.x.x.x]
    3 7 ms 9 ms 6 ms 125.19.176.77
    4 129 ms 128 ms 129 ms 182.79.187.22
    5 129 ms 130 ms * ldn-b1-link.telia.net [213.248.72.109]
    6 128 ms 129 ms 133 ms ldn-bb3-link.telia.net [62.115.114.234]
    7 130 ms * 131 ms slou-b1-link.telia.net [62.115.117.193]
    8 126 ms 126 ms 127 ms akamai-ic-317136-slou-b1.c.telia.net [62.115.146.81]
    9 128 ms 129 ms 128 ms po110.bs-b.sech-lon2.netarch.akamai.com [72.52.60.200]
    10 168 ms 148 ms 131 ms a72-52-1-199.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [72.52.1.199]
    11 126 ms * 127 ms ae121.access-a.sech-lon2.netarch.akamai.com [72.52.60.205]
    12 229 ms 214 ms 214 ms 93.191.173.11
    13 218 ms 232 ms 223 ms a72-52-27-212.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [72.52.27.212]
    14 239 ms 226 ms 222 ms 198.49.243.237
    15 218 ms 218 ms 217 ms patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]


    @ambassadorkael#6946 please kindly look into this..It would be greatly appreciated if this server issue was rectified..
    Adrian-Uss Sovereign NCC-73811 (LVL 65 FED ENG) UR/E MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (April 2012) (Main)
    Adu-Uss Firefox NCC-93425-F (LVL 65 FED AoY ENG) UR/VR MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (July 2016)
    Jean-Uss Seratoga Ravenna (LVL 60 FED Delta ENG) UC/R MKVI Bajoran Escort (April 2018)
    Dubsa-RRW Mnaudh (LVL 50 FED allied ROM Delta ENG) Warbird (May 2018)
    Marop-IKS Orunthi (LVL 50 KNG Delta ENG) BoP (May 2018)
    Kanak'lan-TRIBBLE (LVL 65 DOM Gamma ENG) TRIBBLE (June 2018)
  • jatszompc#5609 jatszompc Member Posts: 34 Arc User
    The same problem again.
  • dariusturaldariustural Member Posts: 82 Arc User
    I gave up after 3 tickets and multiple postings. I stopped spending money on the game, as it is becoming increasingly painful to play it. I do not have this issue with other games, only ones on Cryptic's servers.
  • ayexeyenayexeyen Member Posts: 202 Arc User
    I gave up after 3 tickets and multiple postings. I stopped spending money on the game, as it is becoming increasingly painful to play it. I do not have this issue with other games, only ones on Cryptic's servers.

    I opened a ticket too. They told me to disable the windows firewall, the antivirus and go by cable instead of wifi.
    Useless to say that these are extremely unsatisfactory suggestions since, BEFORE, everything was working fine with the same configuration.
    The problem is clearly from their side and more players are also reporting it.
  • leemwatsonleemwatson Member Posts: 3,438 Arc User
    ayexeyen wrote: »
    I gave up after 3 tickets and multiple postings. I stopped spending money on the game, as it is becoming increasingly painful to play it. I do not have this issue with other games, only ones on Cryptic's servers.

    I opened a ticket too. They told me to disable the windows firewall, the antivirus and go by cable instead of wifi.
    Useless to say that these are extremely unsatisfactory suggestions since, BEFORE, everything was working fine with the same configuration.
    The problem is clearly from their side and more players are also reporting it.

    The problem is an issue at Akamai, NOT Cryptic. Your tracert is showing this clearly.
    "You don't want to patrol!? You don't want to escort!? You don't want to defend the Federation's Starbases!? Then why are you flying my Starships!? If you were a Klingon you'd be killed on the spot, but lucky for you.....you WERE in Starfleet. Let's see how New Zealand Penal Colony suits you." Adm A. Necheyev.
  • theultimatextheultimatex Member Posts: 480 Arc User
    I sometimes wonder if this game is operating on a skeleton crew while the Dev chases after a Fortnite clone game they're trying to make.
  • salvation4salvation4 Member Posts: 1,125 Arc User
    Akami our dear bane..Why art thou kicket us in the balls. when we play..
    Adrian-Uss Sovereign NCC-73811 (LVL 65 FED ENG) UR/E MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (April 2012) (Main)
    Adu-Uss Firefox NCC-93425-F (LVL 65 FED AoY ENG) UR/VR MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (July 2016)
    Jean-Uss Seratoga Ravenna (LVL 60 FED Delta ENG) UC/R MKVI Bajoran Escort (April 2018)
    Dubsa-RRW Mnaudh (LVL 50 FED allied ROM Delta ENG) Warbird (May 2018)
    Marop-IKS Orunthi (LVL 50 KNG Delta ENG) BoP (May 2018)
    Kanak'lan-TRIBBLE (LVL 65 DOM Gamma ENG) TRIBBLE (June 2018)
  • kraylokchkraylokch Member Posts: 5 Arc User
    Echoing the comments above, came back to the game after a few months and lag is horrendous. I find in the UK that early am is fine but in the afternoon game is unplayable. Have fibre internet and no issues with any other online game.

    Very dissappointing, was thinking that this was a possibility for my group of friends to play together but currently this is unusable.
  • ashstorm1ashstorm1 Member Posts: 623 Arc User
    After reading the comments here, I guess I'm not really going to bother trying to download the entire game again ; especially with the patching being so incomprehensibly long and wonky.
  • sinnarisinnari Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    Same, lag lag lag. Just changing maps between fleet assets, server timeout after 5 mins of 1% 2% 3% .... get to around 12-15% and boom, booted. This is really not a happy place to be, especially for someone who puts up with a lot as I love this game so much. I've got a 100mps Fiber Optic connection and can run 2 Oracle databases, 1 Cold Fusion database all while compiling a MS Access database and not have a single hiccup. Please fix this. Its not like I'll quit playing or anything, but it does seriously take away from the enjoyment of the game. *sigh*
  • salvation4salvation4 Member Posts: 1,125 Arc User
    On a 32 mbps Fiber line here..It feels like the game plays at 1 mbps or less..The Ping spikes at Akamai Tech servers and this has been brought up on the forums but no one from cryptic has responded here..
    Adrian-Uss Sovereign NCC-73811 (LVL 65 FED ENG) UR/E MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (April 2012) (Main)
    Adu-Uss Firefox NCC-93425-F (LVL 65 FED AoY ENG) UR/VR MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (July 2016)
    Jean-Uss Seratoga Ravenna (LVL 60 FED Delta ENG) UC/R MKVI Bajoran Escort (April 2018)
    Dubsa-RRW Mnaudh (LVL 50 FED allied ROM Delta ENG) Warbird (May 2018)
    Marop-IKS Orunthi (LVL 50 KNG Delta ENG) BoP (May 2018)
    Kanak'lan-TRIBBLE (LVL 65 DOM Gamma ENG) TRIBBLE (June 2018)
Sign In or Register to comment.