test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

To the "Millions of AD" complainers

epixcomixepixcomix Member, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Guardian Users Posts: 2 Arc User
edited May 2013 in General Discussion (PC)
For all of those players with complaints about all the excess AD floating in the economy and the people who have millions or billions of AD and weren't caught in the roll back, let me toss out some information.

I worked in the MMO industry for over 10 years and on several projects. Now I do not work for Cryptic or PWE, and I don't know all the inner workings of this game, but having seen a number of similar games from the back end, I can give you a pretty good hypothesis about what is going to happen.

1) You have the rollback to correct some of the latest and most obvious issues with people using the AD exploit

2) You build an algorithm (if it isn't already built which it very well could be) that displays every account/character that has over X amount of AD.

3) All accounts over X are checked individually through the logs from the open beta start (less than a month so they should have them all on back up still).

4) Accounts are then cross referenced by IP and all accounts accessing or sharing that IP are also checked.

5) Major transactions are tracked from those accounts to other accounts.

6) AD is removed from those accounts and bans take place, as well as IP bans depending on the number of infractions and the IPs involved.

So for those of you that think the rollback was the only measure to be taken regarding this incident, perhaps now you can see that's only the very initial stages of what takes place. Be angry if you like, quit the game if you like, but realize eventually, this will all be resolved and the excess removed from the game.
Post edited by epixcomix on

Comments

• Options
    altonimaraltonimar Banned Users, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Hero Users, Neverwinter Guardian Users Posts: 0 Arc User