test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Costume Keybind Problem

cynlover01cynlover01 Posts: 12 Arc User
edited September 2013 in Controls and Interface
I'm trying to create a keybind to have my toon change his costume when his travel power is toggled on and off. I'm using the instructions from the incredibly helpful "FAQ for Bindings/Commands."

As instructed, I created two text files:

fly.txt: t "+PowerTrayExec 14 $$ setactivecostume 0 <0>" $$ bind_load_file land.txt"

land.txt: t "+PowerTrayExec 14 $$ setactivecostume 0 <1>" $$ bind_load_file fly.txt"

I executed the command to load fly.txt. Now whenever I toggle the travel power, the power turns on and off normally, there is no costume change, and I get the following message in my chat window:

"SetActiveCostume" takes 2 argument(s).

setactivecostume <int> <int>

"SetActiveCostume" takes 2 argument(s).

setactivecostume <int> <int>

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks;

Matt
"Solomon Monday; Mage-for-Hire. Demons excorsised, curses lifted, lost things found; all at very reasonable rates.

Here's my card..."
Post edited by cynlover01 on

Comments

  • fr0gurtfr0gurt Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited August 2013
    You only have 3 double-quotes per line, so they are unbalanced. Also, don't put in angle brackets in the actual command line -- it's a convention to denote placeholders.

    So try:

    fly.txt: t "+PowerTrayExec 14 $$ setactivecostume 0 0 $$ bind_load_file land.txt"
    land.txt: t "+PowerTrayExec 14 $$ setactivecostume 0 1 $$ bind_load_file fly.txt"

    Or possibly:

    fly.txt: t "+PowerTrayExec 14 $$ "setactivecostume 0 0" $$ bind_load_file land.txt"
    land.txt: t "+PowerTrayExec 14 $$ "setactivecostume 0 1" $$ bind_load_file fly.txt"
  • yinjeighyinjeigh Posts: 225 Arc User
    edited August 2013
    You could also go this way:


    /bind <key> "powerslotexec 1 14$$setactivecostume 0 <costume slot>"

    I personally use Alt+<key>
    So my TP+Costume change keystroke is Alt+T.

    This is a much simpler way to do it imo. Easier to teach as well.
    @Jeighsun in-game. Feel free to add me!
  • zyborg2zyborg2 Posts: 22 Arc User
    edited August 2013
    I have a similar question. Is it possible to bind a build, a costume, and a say to the same key?
  • yinjeighyinjeigh Posts: 225 Arc User
    edited September 2013
    zyborg2 wrote: »
    I have a similar question. Is it possible to bind a build, a costume, and a say to the same key?

    It is. Each build is numbered the same. 0 and up.

    So in other words: /bind <key> "buildSet <slot>$$setactivecostume 0 <slot>$$say <Phrase>"

    Without the angle brackets, of course!
    @Jeighsun in-game. Feel free to add me!
  • cynlover01cynlover01 Posts: 12 Arc User
    edited September 2013
    Thanks for your help, fr0gurt & yinjeigh!

    I'm using your first set of suggestions, fr0gurt; the game didn't seem to know what to do with the extra pair of quotes in the 2nd set. I also added a "playersay" to each one.

    So my text files now look like this:

    fly.txt: t "+PowerTrayExec 14 $$ setactivecostume 0 1 $$ playersay Flame On! $$ bind_load_file land.txt"

    land.txt: t "+PowerTrayExec 14 $$ setactivecostume 0 0 $$ playersay Flame Off! $$ bind_load_file fly.txt"

    After I load the first file using the /bind_load_file fly.txt command, I toggle my TP on, the costume changes from slot 0 to slot 1, and my toon shouts "Flame On! Flame Off!". I wait 10 secs or more, toggle my TP off, the costume doesn't change back, and my toon shouts "Flame On! Flame Off!".

    If, after activating my TP, I switch to costume slot 0, when I toggle the TP off, I switch back to slot 1.

    Also, each time I hit "T", whether there is a visible change in the costume or not, my chat window displays "You cannot change your costume again yet."

    As always, suggestions are appreciated; solutions even more so. ;)
    "Solomon Monday; Mage-for-Hire. Demons excorsised, curses lifted, lost things found; all at very reasonable rates.

    Here's my card..."
  • yinjeighyinjeigh Posts: 225 Arc User
    edited September 2013
    Gotta wait 10 secs between cos changes and out-of-battle build changes. In-battle build changes have a 60sec CD.
    @Jeighsun in-game. Feel free to add me!
  • eiledoneiledon Posts: 1,287 Arc User
    edited September 2013
    I have a slightly different method for costume changes related to TP that i use on Scarab (my bug lady). The majority of her costumes use the closed and open beetle wing backpiece so i have two versions of each costume.


    Anyways. In your Cryptic Studios\Champions Online\Live\localdata\ folder create a text file called "CommandAliases.txt" (this is used to hold your alias commands between sessions and loads automatically when you start the game client and are thus available to all your characters.)

    Within this file I have the following aliases for TP costume changes:


    alias landme "setactivecostume 0 {} $$ +PowerTrayExec 14"
    alias flyme "+PowerTrayExec 14 $$ setactivecostume 0 {}"

    The {} brackets allow you to pass parameters to commands within an alias. PowerTrayExec 14 is the main TP slot.


    To use these aliases I then create some keybinds for whichever character I want to fly with a costume change. For Scarab here is an example if the binds I have set up and saved to a keybind file (when working in keybinds the /bind command isnt required in the text file - add it to the beginning of the line if using from chat box)


    Numpad1 "flyme 13"
    Ctrl+Numpad1 "landme 0"

    Numpad2 "flyme 11"
    Ctrl+Numpad2 "landme 1"

    Numpad3 "flyme 5"
    Ctrl+Numpad3 "landme 12"

    In each set of two - pressing the numberpad key will execute the flyme alias, activating the TP and using the winged costume slot number given.
    pressing control and the same numberpad key will execute the landme alias, deactivating the TP and switching to the wing closed costume slot number given.


    Hope that all makes sense.
Sign In or Register to comment.