test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

How to make BLOCK a toggle ability

2

Comments

  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    The bind file is loaded per character. Once loaded, the changes will persist.

    If you find that toggling walk, I'd very much like to have it. :)
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    The bind for a walk toggle is as follows, using Z and X as the keys:

    To initiate the walk

    /bind Z walk 1

    To stop walking

    /bind X walk 0


    I'm at work right now, so I can't look up my bind file. If those don't work try walk1 and walk0 (i.e. no spaces)
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    http://forums.champions-online.com/showpost.php?p=1127843&postcount=16

    And there you go, consolidated to one key. I take no credit for this.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    Ooo nice, ty!
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    Sssss-s-s-s-SUBBED!

    Good thread to save. :D
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    awsome thread, tagged!
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    If I wanted to make my Power #3 (3 key) a toggle like block, what would be the command?
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    Warstripe told me how to do it. It is:

    /bind 3 powertrayexec 1 2

    3 is the key you bind to, 1 represents toggling/maintaining the power as ON, and 2 is the power tray number. 3 is 2 in that respect because the energy builder slot is 0.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    stordarth wrote:
    Warstripe told me how to do it. It is:

    /bind 3 powertrayexec 1 2

    3 is the key you bind to, 1 represents toggling/maintaining the power as ON, and 2 is the power tray number. 3 is 2 in that respect because the energy builder slot is 0.

    I had figured it out, but THANX!!
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    Has anyone tried the ++ prefix with maintain/charge powers? This way a second press of the button would cancel the charge, rather than begin a new one. It might be worth a shot. I'd do it now but I'm at work. Something like:

    /bind 1 ++powertrayexec 1 1
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    Unfortunately...nope. You can't use the toggle operator with PowerTrayExec, nothing happens.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    I set the toggle block and cancel all keybinds up last night, thanks for taking the time to post the instructions. I found that it was easier to block and then freely move and set up for my attack out of block.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    bron wrote:
    I forgot where I saw this, but I can probably dig it up, but swordarth there's a way to use the bind command to bind a toggleable walk to one key to turn it on and off, but loading a custom bind file is nice to change keys all at once. I wonder, does this need to be loaded each session (Would be really bad if yes), and per character?

    Also a question for Temil, is there a way to have a toggle block, just enough to qualify for Force Sheath from Force Shield to appear, on the same button as the normal block? As in like, Shift toggles your block from page 1, maybe Alt Shift toggles block for 5 seconds then turns it off?

    I would make this myself but I cant figure out what the numbers actually mean. The 1 is what? Is this like telling it to be true? And the 13 and 16? What do these actually refer to? I can't seem to figure out the order for the keys. Like how is 13 Ctrl7? Isn't that listed as power 14? I'm so confused.

    Did I mention this is awesomely useful?

    currently there isn't any kind of TIMING or WAIT times that can be added to a /bind .. so I would say with the way the game is curerntly, no. cant add a wait time causing it to wait 5 secs, then remove it again.
    But on that, iif you use the toggle abilty I posted, then active any other ability after that.. block will drop auto maticly.. you dont have to turn it off, as other abilitys will turn it off.. so if it helps, maybe would another /bind to force the 1 key (energy builder) to be turned on help.. to force block to drop? or no?
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    bron wrote:
    I forgot where I saw this, but I can probably dig it up, but swordarth there's a way to use the bind command to bind a toggleable walk to one key to turn it on and off, but loading a custom bind file is nice to change keys all at once. I wonder, does this need to be loaded each session (Would be really bad if yes), and per character?

    Also a question for Temil, is there a way to have a toggle block, just enough to qualify for Force Sheath from Force Shield to appear, on the same button as the normal block? As in like, Shift toggles your block from page 1, maybe Alt Shift toggles block for 5 seconds then turns it off?

    I would make this myself but I cant figure out what the numbers actually mean. The 1 is what? Is this like telling it to be true? And the 13 and 16? What do these actually refer to? I can't seem to figure out the order for the keys. Like how is 13 Ctrl7? Isn't that listed as power 14? I'm so confused.

    Did I mention this is awesomely useful?

    here is the breakdown of how the 13 and 16 works...

    VIRTUAL HOTBAR! (dont touch, just look.. hehe)

    _____________________________________________
    | | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 15 |
    | 16 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 14 |
    ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
    Where you see 16, that's block. Where you see 14, that's the BOTTOM flight ability.

    the 1 that you see is the /bind means ON/MAINTAIN. If changing that to a 0, it will mean OFF. But I have found out that doesnt always work, so doing a "clear all abilitys" is needed some times, as the hotkey I posted. I allready submited it as a bug, so no biggy.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    well, seems like the devs have changed this around a little. You arent able to link an ability with the block ability automaticly to toggle them both the way you used to be able to. I'm working on trying to get a work around, but not sure if it's posable within a wait command. if there was some kind of /wait, they we could use, well.. that would solve everything.

    (hint hint devs.. if this option is SUPOSED to be avalible to us, please give us a /wait command as well. or /pause command. thanks!)


    the toggle block still works, it's just the 2nd ability auto-activate with block is what they changed.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    TOGGLE 2nd flight ability -- full charge flight always! (basicly this will make your ALT+T full charge, even if you only tab it. hiting it a 2nd time will cancel it out. This is good for making SPEED as the 2nd travel ability, and full charging it always, as i cant stand the tab for flights.

    /bind ALT+T PowerSlotExec 1 15
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    I use an easier (one button) walk toggle:

    /bind delete ++walk

    (I've also used ++up to gain altitude while flying or teleporting.)
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    cyreeo wrote:

    Hehe but where is our glass of milk?
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    I have block as a toggle and a hold.

    I have shift as normal then i bind the F key with the toggle.

    /bind f "$$+powertrayexec 16"

    Works for me.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    What are the two $$ used for? I remember in CoH it was used to string two or more binds together.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    That is what $$ is used for. What Supreme56 did is kind of an odd way to go about binding the block.

    Basically here's what happens:

    When you bind multiple commands in a string as one bind, the first command determines how the ENTIRE string of commands gets run. For example:

    /bind n "+down1$$target_self$$+PowerTrayExec 8"

    Since the first command (in this case down1) has the binary operator + in front of it, the entire command gets run as such, so whatever is in Power Tray slot #8 will run only so long as you hold down N.

    Now if you do:

    /bind n "target_self$$+down1$$+PowerTrayExec 8"

    Then whatever is in Power Tray slot #8 will do a full charge even if you let go of the mouse button, since the first command does not have a binary operator.



    Since he put $$ first, the first command is blank and therefor the entire command gets run like in the second example. Which really is no different than just doing the first bind as was posted in this thread:

    /bind f "PowerTrayExec 1 16"
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    I've done a lot of reading concerning alias and binds. Since the ui and targeting interfaces are kind of slugish and tab is problematic at best I've been trying to force target people and my pets with key binds. I have the Command Animals ability from the Supernatural Power Set. Basically I'm attepting to target and then cast Protection Field on one of the wolves with a binding. I was trying to write an alias and then call the alias with a key bind but I realized I don't need to do that. I can just bind the commands in a quoted string to a hotkey since they keybinds seem to persist through client loads and the aliases do not.

    This is my bind

    /bind x "target wolf $$ powertrayexec 1 5"

    Now this targets the wolf sometimes... and then with a second press of the button (it seems they have disabled the continuous execution of the entire command string to make it work more like a CastSequence Macro from WoW) will cast the Protection Field on the wolf.

    My problem is. If I happen to have a friendly target selected the bubble goes on it. Sometimes with no target at all the bind selects a nearby friendly player and applies the bubble. It seems the target function of my bind is someway flawed. Any insight would be most appreciated.

    Also, while I'm on the topic. I've been cannabalizing binds and syntax for them from ones that other people have written and a lot has come from this thread. I would very much like to get my hands on a tutorial about the syntax of command writing and what each componet does ... I've seen some brief explanations about how $$ seperates commands and that + is a Binary trigger but not real sure what that means in the grand scope of things. I've also seen {} used in some binds but have no idea what that does. Does anyone know if someone has written this down somewhere and I'm missing it?
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    The whole bind will always execute nearly simultaneously.

    The following bind should work, I tested it out to verify (yours actually -should- work also):

    /bind x "target wolf $$ +powertrayexec 5"

    I tried this with a few spells, although I didn't have Protection Field to try that power out specifically.


    As for general information... I'm in the process of typing something up more now, which I'll try to get up shortly and post a link for everyone's general information. Then, hopefully others and myself will keep adding to it, so it's a little easier to learn these things.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    Ok, posted it up for now. I have a bit more typed up, but not sure I will get it all up tonight. Started the thread and reserved some spots for things people commonly want to know.

    http://forums.champions-online.com/showthread.php?p=1245379#post1245379
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    my carpel/rsi thanks you.. as does the ui designer in my soul who screams in agony at sluggish UI controls.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    Okay, I've built a true toggle:

    /alias block "PowerTrayExec 1 16 $$ bind shift unblock"
    /alias unblock "PowerTrayExec 0 16 $$ bind shift block"
    /bind shift block
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    Interesting alternative to bind_load_file to sequence power/command execution. Well done.
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    Has a flaw that if you get knocked out of block, you'll need to hit shift twice to turn it back on, so it's probably better to not try and make it a toggle. I assume there are no logical operators in bind commands. This is probably true of any possible implementation of a toggle that doesn't use the game's built in toggle method (which, as noted, does not work with block).
  • Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited October 2009
    /bump for good info
Sign In or Register to comment.