test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

unable to authenticate exceeded timeout while waiting for steam login ticket

wilbor2wilbor2 Member Posts: 1,684 Arc User
cant play this is the 2nd time this has happened last time i had to unistall/reinstall the game to fix it anyone else know of a way?
gs9kwcxytstg.jpg

Comments

  • augustus512augustus512 Member Posts: 13 Arc User
    I am having the same issue it just started this morning when I tried login through Steam launcher.
  • scutofo#1689 scutofo Member Posts: 13 Arc User
    Same here; can't log into the game.
  • rattler2rattler2 Member Posts: 58,007 Community Moderator
    edited June 2023
    Same.720a3y59k4qr.png


    Found a workaround for me at least. Does require you to use the actual STO launcher exe and not go through Steam. You'll have to remember your password and email/account name.
    Might be on Steam's end, but you can find the STO launcher exe file by going into your Steam Library, right clicking on STO > Manage > Browse Local Files.
    Will take you directly to the STO folder on your computer. Launch from there, you should be able to get in. With luck this should clear up either later today or tomorrow.
    db80k0m-89201ed8-eadb-45d3-830f-bb2f0d4c0fe7.png?token=eyJ0eXAiOiJKV1QiLCJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJzdWIiOiJ1cm46YXBwOjdlMGQxODg5ODIyNjQzNzNhNWYwZDQxNWVhMGQyNmUwIiwiaXNzIjoidXJuOmFwcDo3ZTBkMTg4OTgyMjY0MzczYTVmMGQ0MTVlYTBkMjZlMCIsIm9iaiI6W1t7InBhdGgiOiJcL2ZcL2ExOGQ4ZWM2LTUyZjQtNDdiMS05YTI1LTVlYmZkYmJkOGM3N1wvZGI4MGswbS04OTIwMWVkOC1lYWRiLTQ1ZDMtODMwZi1iYjJmMGQ0YzBmZTcucG5nIn1dXSwiYXVkIjpbInVybjpzZXJ2aWNlOmZpbGUuZG93bmxvYWQiXX0.8G-Pg35Qi8qxiKLjAofaKRH6fmNH3qAAEI628gW0eXc
    I can't take it anymore! Could everyone just chill out for two seconds before something CRAZY happens again?!
    The nut who actually ground out many packs. The resident forum voice of reason (I HAZ FORUM REP! YAY!)
  • inferiorityinferiority Member Posts: 3,993 Arc User
    Browse the game install files from within steam and look in the "Live" folder for "Star Trek Online.exe" which will start the game without Steam trying to authenticate your game account.

    You'll need to know your Arc username & password, though...
    - - - - I n f e r i o r i t y - C o m p l e x - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Everyone has a better name and Youtube Channel than me...  :/
  • sithlord619sithlord619 Member Posts: 23 Arc User
    I am currently getting this error also, the described workaround however, does not work for me at the moment. I still get 'Unable to authenticate blah blah'.

    Will just have to play on PS5 this afternoon & keep trying PC.

    🖖
  • psychickittypsychickitty Member Posts: 165 Arc User
    My account is linked and no...
    Clicking on the link in the files does not let me log in.
    Unfortunately steam has over written the files and even if i use a password it goes to steam that is not working
    Its on Steams end. Valve has shown again how its trying to do things it should not be doing.

    I have played startrek for years. I started when it was still cryptic, played when it was perfect world and stayed with it as ARC.

    I am disapointed even trying to launch through arc does not help.

    Makes me wonder what the point of ARC is if it cannot even launch things with out relying on a differing service.

    Power without Perception is Spiritually useless and therefore of no true value.

    =^_^=


  • p331p331 Member Posts: 161 Arc User
    I also have this problem getting into the game through Steam. I was able to get into the game through the Arc launcher however.
  • psychickittypsychickitty Member Posts: 165 Arc User
    p331 wrote: »
    I also have this problem getting into the game through Steam. I was able to get into the game through the Arc launcher however.

    yep does not work for me...i have run each application and through arc it gives the same error, seams that steam has over written all the files for this

    I guess i could try a new install but i assume steam will overwrite that stuff too like it always does,

    I seriously suggest that maybe ARC actually handle the updates and try to keep the data on their end instead of allowing steam/valve to control so much.

    Power without Perception is Spiritually useless and therefore of no true value.

    =^_^=


  • slaaps#5945 slaaps Member Posts: 1 New User
    edited June 2023
    Hello there everybody!!! i'm having same issue since today afternoon im from italy. i found a discussion and follwed the information to gather and these should be, i hope it can help somehow


    C:\Users\SlaAnesh> ipconfig/release

    Configurazione IP di Windows


    Scheda Ethernet Ethernet:

    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Indirizzo IPv6 locale rispetto al collegamento . : fe80::93f8:77ae:4be0:ea89%7
    Gateway predefinito . . . . . . . . . :

    C:\Users\SlaAnesh>ipconfig/renew

    Configurazione IP di Windows


    Scheda Ethernet Ethernet:

    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Indirizzo IPv6 locale rispetto al collegamento . : fe80::93f8:77ae:4be0:ea89%7
    Indirizzo IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5
    Subnet mask . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Gateway predefinito . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    C:\Users\SlaAnesh>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

    Traccia instradamento verso patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]
    su un massimo di 30 punti di passaggio:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 76 ms 245 ms 248 ms 192.168.139.222
    3 65 ms 248 ms 46 ms 192.168.139.222
    4 61 ms 52 ms 47 ms 192.168.139.1
    5 46 ms * * 192.168.140.6
    6 * * * Richiesta scaduta.
    7 48 ms 55 ms 46 ms 10.178.86.109
    8 75 ms 63 ms 53 ms 83.224.40.233
    9 85 ms 62 ms 54 ms 83.224.40.233
    10 94 ms 65 ms 64 ms voda-it-gw1.cw.net [195.89.99.134]
    11 108 ms 58 ms 57 ms ae6-xcr1.mlb.cw.net [195.2.28.225]
    12 * * * Richiesta scaduta.
    13 110 ms 66 ms 63 ms be2865.ccr32.mrs02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.74.177]
    14 125 ms 79 ms 79 ms be2780.ccr42.par01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.72.225]
    15 125 ms 86 ms 97 ms be12489.ccr42.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.57.69]
    16 181 ms 154 ms 155 ms be2101.ccr32.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.82.38]
    17 188 ms 155 ms 154 ms be2378.rcr51.b002133-1.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.25.130]
    18 155 ms 154 ms 147 ms 38.140.157.34
    19 174 ms 153 ms 150 ms 198.49.243.237
    20 175 ms 155 ms 150 ms patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]

    Traccia completata.

    C:\Users\SlaAnesh>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

    Traccia instradamento verso patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]
    su un massimo di 30 punti di passaggio:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 239 ms 244 ms 247 ms 192.168.139.222
    3 240 ms 47 ms 220 ms 192.168.139.222
    4 86 ms 48 ms 50 ms 192.168.139.1
    5 65 ms 40 ms * 192.168.140.6
    6 * * * Richiesta scaduta.
    7 96 ms 43 ms 42 ms 10.178.86.109
    8 65 ms 71 ms 67 ms 83.224.40.233
    9 81 ms 52 ms 53 ms 83.224.40.233
    10 88 ms 62 ms 62 ms voda-it-gw1.cw.net [195.89.99.134]
    11 63 ms 58 ms 59 ms ae6-xcr1.mlb.cw.net [195.2.28.225]
    12 * * * Richiesta scaduta.
    13 106 ms 65 ms 65 ms be2865.ccr32.mrs02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.74.177]
    14 122 ms 82 ms 80 ms be2780.ccr42.par01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.72.225]
    15 105 ms 86 ms 86 ms be12489.ccr42.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.57.69]
    16 159 ms 155 ms 152 ms be2101.ccr32.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.82.38]
    17 193 ms 156 ms 153 ms be2378.rcr51.b002133-1.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.25.130]
    18 183 ms 151 ms 149 ms 38.140.157.34
    19 156 ms 150 ms 148 ms 198.49.243.237
    20 183 ms 156 ms 153 ms patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]

    Traccia completata.

    C:\Users\SlaAnesh>pathping patchserver.crypticstudios.com

    Traccia route verso patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.200]
    su un massimo di 30 hop:
    0 Slaps [192.168.0.5]
    1 192.168.0.1
    2 192.168.139.222
    3 192.168.139.222
    4 * * *
    Statistiche di calcolo per 75 secondi...
    Da orig. a qui questo nodo/collegamento
    Hop RTT Persi/Inv.= Pct Persi/Inv.= Pct Indir.
    0 Slaps [192.168.0.5]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    1 0ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 192.168.0.1
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    2 51ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 192.168.139.222
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    3 50ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 192.168.139.222

    Traccia completata.

    C:\Users\SlaAnesh>
  • roninwolf1981#2968 roninwolf1981 Member Posts: 562 Arc User
    Internet at my local area (Lost Pines area in Texas) was out for almost 12 hours straight; just barely got it back about 20 minutes ago. Tried to log in, and this was the first thing I was met with when attempting to log in.

    So it's not just me, then...
  • garabaldegarabalde Member Posts: 18 Arc User
    Eastern Colorado, Same issue here. Mine works logging into STO launcher directly on PC, but will not work on steam. Steam Deck is how I play this with my daughter, and I cannot play on deck without Steam for the controls.

    Not sure if its a steam problem, or a STO problem. But I doubt Arc has anything to do with it, as I havent used that piece of bloatware since a week after they released it. The STO launcher itself works just fine, and I imagine if I could find a way to get that launcher to run outside of steam, just to get logged in, then get the game to run under Proton, it would work there too. That unfortunately is a workaround that is beyond my limited hacking ability.
  • scorpwanna#3529 scorpwanna Member Posts: 227 Arc User
    I have Steam and ARC launcher, years ago when Steam and Arc asked about merging, I accepted. Since today's Steam error, I just do what I always do when I can't launch through Steam, which is go directly to where the installation is and run it from there. I have to enter my email and original password, dunno why it wouldn't work for anyone else. More than likely it's a Steam issue because Steam has been updating a lot lately and have overhauled their interface somewhat.
  • scorpwanna#3529 scorpwanna Member Posts: 227 Arc User
    Banana

    afuqsabub42t.jpg
  • roninwolf1981#2968 roninwolf1981 Member Posts: 562 Arc User
    edited June 2023
    Since my account was linked to Steam, I've been afraid of manually starting it with my ARC credentials, for fear of logging in, only to see my characters missing (per the testimony of other players). I just now attempted to log in after sleeping on it, and I'm relieved to say that my characters are all still there, even the ones that I've created after I've linked my account. I'm also elated to see that my Lifetime Subscriber perks are still intact (since I've purchased the Lifetime Subscription after the Linking process).
    I suppose it was the idea that, just as long as I have created my account BEFORE the whole "linking to Steam" process was enforced, one should have this workaround. The only downside I'm seeing right now is that my game is a bit slower to respond (seemingly).

    *Edit:
    Actually, there IS one downside to logging in with the .exe; I am unable to take screenshots for the Steam folder.
    Post edited by roninwolf1981#2968 on
  • treknadi#8339 treknadi Member Posts: 28 Arc User
    Same Problem here, I'm from Germany.
  • angusmcfifexiii#8078 angusmcfifexiii Member Posts: 12 Arc User
    I tried the work around but doing so it just brought me to a whole brand new game which I wasn't going to do. I am curious though, I normally log on through Steam and since I tried the work around log in I was wondering if that will affect my Steam account and all the gear an ships I have bought. Will those still be there when this gets fixed or because I logged in a different way, didn't start a game, just logged in, will all my stuff be gone?
  • darkgobdarkgob Member Posts: 11 Arc User
    This is for sure a Steam issue. It looks like it had an outage last night and steamserver.net is currently down which appears to be the cause of the authentication failure based on the Steam log files.

    Usually when I'm unable to sign in through Steam (often during the regular Tuesday maintenance) running the launcher EXE directly and signing in manually works, but now it isn't for some reason.
  • dannon#9673 dannon Member Posts: 2 New User
    Still cannot login.
  • dannon#9673 dannon Member Posts: 2 New User
    > @"scorpwanna#3529" said:
    > Banana

    NO this does not work for people that do not have an ARC account that is connected with Steam. If you follow this method it will log you into STO and make you start all over again, none of your original characters will be there. No, this is not a workaround.
  • coldmachineuk#2218 coldmachineuk Member Posts: 6 Arc User
    Having the same issues here. The proposed workaround (open the EXE via the folder structure) does work but is less than ideal. Have the devs or anyone yet explained why this error is occurring and when the fix will be made available?
  • tiberius2409#6770 tiberius2409 Member Posts: 3 Arc User
    They are aware and are working on it, from what I've read its Steam's own fault and tragically we will have to play the waiting game, hang in their captains :pensive:
  • roninwolf1981#2968 roninwolf1981 Member Posts: 562 Arc User
    Looks like it's fixed now. I just did it through Steam, and the loader gave me the Engage button. I'm in the game now.
  • scorpwanna#3529 scorpwanna Member Posts: 227 Arc User
    > @scorpwanna#3529 said:
    > Banana

    NO this does not work for people that do not have an ARC account that is connected with Steam. If you follow this method it will log you into STO and make you start all over again, none of your original characters will be there. No, this is not a workaround.

    Apple

    Sorry I'm a failure. I knew that this wouldn't work for everyone, I was just visualizing the not really a workaround workaround that I've always used.

    It's not that it will make you start over again (under the account you normally play on), it just logs you into your Arc account that has always been there but unused (for those who aren't linked). The account you normally play on is still on the STO servers. When Steam and Arc had the link/merge option for those of us years ago, all it did was just that, it merged Steam and Arc into 1 game account on the Arc server. Those who didn't link/merge, Steam is it's own account on Arc's server and Arc is it's own account too. Your characters/saves are still on the Arc servers.

    As I knew, it was a Steam issue and all those who couldn't get in the game just had to play the waiting game.

Sign In or Register to comment.