test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Crashes on Prompts, to beam down, beam up, change map, enter the tailor... etc... etc...

STO is continually crashing on nearly every prompt that appears on my screen, and has persisted since the release of Age Of Discovery.

-Beam down prompts
-beam up prompts
-opening the tailor
-accessing bank/mail/exchange
-talking to Q
-the new mission (which I can't accept) (BECAUSE I CRASH)
-TFO accept popups when the queue is ready to go

I don't know what is happening, everything is up-to-date; video and system patches. Running Windows 10 (FYI)

I can't play the game, I can't even play my DSC character because they're in the tutorial part (prompts too often to avoid a crash)

on the plus side, if I sit my little ship in one place, don't open a window or run into a prompt, I could probably stay on STO till I decide to log out.

**DXDIAG didn't find any problems while I was attempting to resolve this on my own.

Your prompt attention into this matter is greatly appreciated.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comments

  • ekypyrosekypyros Member Posts: 176 Arc User
    Enable Data Streaming in STO ingame Options
  • rachelj88rachelj88 Member Posts: 465 Arc User
    Ekypyros, I haven't found the "enable" data streaming but I've changed the only one I could find. I had reduced data streaming on. I've disabled that... thanks for the suggestion, but this issue has only been since Age Of Discovery, all of my options have remained the same almost for the 9/10 years I've been playing STO.

    the crashes are a bit much, they stop me from doing anything in STO. hopefully if this setting change (if the right one) allows me stability enough for me to just write a ticket.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • hanover2hanover2 Member Posts: 1,026 Arc User
    This sounds like the same problem I'm having. I've changed nothing on my end, they pushed out a patch and now I'm crashing to desktop. This is not my problem to diagnose and fix.
  • rachelj88rachelj88 Member Posts: 465 Arc User
    still getting all of my issues. after a complete update of my PC, tried everything imaginable to get STO to work. nothing
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • eazzieeazzie Member Posts: 1,904 Arc User
    rachelj88 wrote: »
    Ekypyros, I haven't found the "enable" data streaming but I've changed the only one I could find. I had reduced data streaming on. I've disabled that... thanks for the suggestion, but this issue has only been since Age Of Discovery, all of my options have remained the same almost for the 9/10 years I've been playing STO.

    the crashes are a bit much, they stop me from doing anything in STO. hopefully if this setting change (if the right one) allows me stability enough for me to just write a ticket.

    On the launcher go to options then in the patching section check the "on demand patching" box. It might be wise to do a force verify as maybe some files have got corrupt.
  • salvation4salvation4 Member Posts: 1,089 Arc User
    eazzie wrote: »
    rachelj88 wrote: »
    Ekypyros, I haven't found the "enable" data streaming but I've changed the only one I could find. I had reduced data streaming on. I've disabled that... thanks for the suggestion, but this issue has only been since Age Of Discovery, all of my options have remained the same almost for the 9/10 years I've been playing STO.

    the crashes are a bit much, they stop me from doing anything in STO. hopefully if this setting change (if the right one) allows me stability enough for me to just write a ticket.
    On the launcher go to options then in the patching section check the "on demand patching" box. It might be wise to do a force verify as maybe some files have got corrupt.

    I think you mean to uncheck it?! Cause with On-demand patching checked it can cause issues while working in the background while ingame, namely resource hogging..
    Adrian-Uss Sovereign NCC-73811 (LVL 65 FED ENG) UR/E MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (April 2012) (Main)
    Adu-Uss Firefox NCC-93425-F (LVL 65 FED AoY ENG) UR/VR MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (July 2016)
    Jean-Uss Seratoga Ravenna (LVL 60 FED Delta ENG) UC/R MKVI Bajoran Escort (April 2018)
    Dubsa-RRW Mnaudh (LVL 50 FED allied ROM Delta ENG) Warbird (May 2018)
    Marop-IKS Orunthi (LVL 50 KNG Delta ENG) BoP (May 2018)
    Kanak'lan-TRIBBLE (LVL 65 DOM Gamma ENG) TRIBBLE (June 2018)
  • euclidese8euclidese8 Member Posts: 35 Arc User
    i get to my toons and when i pick one the game starts to 40 or 60 % and then multiple crashes
    it happens after the patch of 14 may
  • euclidese8euclidese8 Member Posts: 35 Arc User
    it's the new rep which gives me the crashes, one toon i did do sb1 and put the marks in the new rep doesn't work anymore and gives only crashes, other toon which i haven'got marks yet don't give crashes
  • ps1701ps1701 Member Posts: 11 Arc User
    I was having the same issue, after suspecting a graphical glitch I did some testing and eventually found out turning off lighting 2.0 fixed it - things don't look well, and it's not a permanent solution, but at least I was able to play. I'm on a PC with an Intel I7 Processor and a Nvidia graphics card. My laptop, with the same class but different models of equipment, has the same issue.
  • ekypyrosekypyros Member Posts: 176 Arc User
    edited May 15
    salvation4 wrote: »
    eazzie wrote: »
    rachelj88 wrote: »
    Ekypyros, I haven't found the "enable" data streaming but I've changed the only one I could find. I had reduced data streaming on. I've disabled that... thanks for the suggestion, but this issue has only been since Age Of Discovery, all of my options have remained the same almost for the 9/10 years I've been playing STO.

    the crashes are a bit much, they stop me from doing anything in STO. hopefully if this setting change (if the right one) allows me stability enough for me to just write a ticket.
    On the launcher go to options then in the patching section check the "on demand patching" box. It might be wise to do a force verify as maybe some files have got corrupt.

    I think you mean to uncheck it?! Cause with On-demand patching checked it can cause issues while working in the background while ingame, namely resource hogging..

    I mean Enable that the System Memory get not out of space then crash Sto !

  • xraiderv1xraiderv1 Member Posts: 461 Arc User
    just hopping between toons, doing the admiralty/dilithium refining hop..I got three characters in, went to switch toons..game window goes unresponsive, then the game crashes.

    subsequently finished my last two toons, went into crystalline advanced with my gagarian miracle worker battle cruiser...beat the entity..game crashes, thankfully AFTER I'd selected my reward..only been happening off and on since age of discovery was released.
    Murphy's laws:
    1- Murphy’s Law tells us that anything that can go wrong will go wrong.
    2- And anything that does go wrong will get progressively worse.
    3- And if you survive the first two laws it’s time to panic.
Sign In or Register to comment.