test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Skills Invalid

kaithan1975kaithan1975 Member Posts: 903 Arc User
This appears to have happened to all 3 of my Delta recruits, other characters aren't affected.

[img][/img]277eyDH.jpg

[img][/img]m2E5efH.jpg

Comments

  • salvation4salvation4 Member Posts: 1,167 Arc User
    Yeah I got this too and just respeced all with the free token to the same thing as I have locked onto a good spec tree..
    Adrian-Uss Sovereign NCC-73811 (LVL 65 FED ENG) UR/E MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (April 2012) (Main)
    Adu-Uss Firefox NCC-93425-F (LVL 65 FED AoY ENG) UR/VR MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (July 2016)
    Jean-Uss Seratoga Ravenna (LVL 60 FED Delta ENG) UC/R MKVI Bajoran Escort (April 2018)
    Dubsa-RRW Mnaudh (LVL 50 FED allied ROM Delta ENG) Warbird (May 2018)
    Marop-IKS Orunthi (LVL 50 KNG Delta ENG) BoP (May 2018)
    Kanak'lan-TRIBBLE (LVL 65 DOM Gamma ENG) TRIBBLE (June 2018)
  • casualstocasualsto Member Posts: 672 Arc User
    I've just encountered this situation on my 3 delta toons. Have you also encountered this on your toons? Have you pressed the forced re-spec?
  • iron008iron008 Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    Same thing happened to my Delta Recruit, I have several toons and this is the only one affected.
  • salvation4salvation4 Member Posts: 1,167 Arc User
    I rhink there was a code in the delta recruit rerun that wasnt adjusted to the respec we got at S13..
    Adrian-Uss Sovereign NCC-73811 (LVL 65 FED ENG) UR/E MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (April 2012) (Main)
    Adu-Uss Firefox NCC-93425-F (LVL 65 FED AoY ENG) UR/VR MKXV Fleet Intel Assault Cruiser (July 2016)
    Jean-Uss Seratoga Ravenna (LVL 60 FED Delta ENG) UC/R MKVI Bajoran Escort (April 2018)
    Dubsa-RRW Mnaudh (LVL 50 FED allied ROM Delta ENG) Warbird (May 2018)
    Marop-IKS Orunthi (LVL 50 KNG Delta ENG) BoP (May 2018)
    Kanak'lan-TRIBBLE (LVL 65 DOM Gamma ENG) TRIBBLE (June 2018)
  • seaofsorrowsseaofsorrows Member Posts: 10,746 Arc User
    Not sure why it happens, but I have heard of it happening to quite a few players.

    Good news is that the respec is free, just click the button and re-distribute your points. It doesn't cost you a retrain token or any Zen.
    animated.gif
    Discovery is good, it's you that sucks.
  • paddy#3322 paddy Member Posts: 169 Arc User
    This happened to my new Delta Recruit as well. If we respec, is this going to keep happening? I put in tickets but like always am being ignored by customer service.
  • postagepaidpostagepaid Member Posts: 2,846 Arc User
    I noticed this had happened to one of the alts I've been running the MI with as I couldn't add a spec point until they respecced.

    Might be unlreated but it's also the same one thats spent the past week having to reapply traits each day.
  • kf4tvikf4tvi Member Posts: 164 Arc User
    I noticed this on my new Delta Recruit as well. I think it may just be a textual error and not actually indicating that your skills are invalid, at least that is what I am hoping. That said though, last night I did the mission where you rescue Martok (Brushfire). Everything went normal up until the big dreadnaught at the end, it just wouldn't die. After about an hour of battling outside the battle zone and having to dismiss that message countless times, it finally succumbed to my attacks. One interesting note was when we were in the red, ie outside the intended battlezone, the audio was often muted and we weren't really that close to the edge of the map either. Anyway, that was the reason I even looked at my skill tree, something seemed off. So today I look at the forums and saw this and decided to add my 2 strips of GPL.
  • where2r1where2r1 Member Posts: 6,054 Arc User
    I am seeing this on my Delta Recruits, too. But thank goodness, I haven't leveled them up too high, yet. So, I hit respec and get the purchase button back.

    I am NOT be losing any of my paid for Respecs. I have 12.
    But I guess, it doesn't hurt to double check next time I sign in the game...... LOL!
    "Spend your life doing strange things with weird people." -- UNK

    “Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.” -- Benjamin Franklin
  • paddy#3322 paddy Member Posts: 169 Arc User
    This happened to my Delta Recruit as well. My concern is that I use my free respec token but then get the error message again anyway. It appears to be a bug that the developers are aware of as there's another thread in the bug reporting section; I posted there as well.

    I have submitted several tickets but as usual have received no response.
  • nommo#5819 nommo Member Posts: 1,072 Arc User
    If/whenever this happens I like it it myself. I think it would serve Cryptic well to do this for us players once a year anyways then also anytime Cryptic "re-balances" &/or "nerfs" Skills which sometimes Cryptic does do.
  • exercitusprimeexercitusprime Member Posts: 9 Arc User
    I am also experiencing this issue on my Delta Recruits.
  • kaithan1975kaithan1975 Member Posts: 903 Arc User
    edited May 2018
    Apparently this happened when the event ended. Looking around seems the same bug hit when the AOY event ended a while back.
  • rattler2rattler2 Member Posts: 54,818 Community Moderator
    My theory was because of the end of the Delta Recruit event, and the Delta Recruit trait was removed since it was only a temporary trait. But I got a friend with a Delta he made during this rerun event and didn't get hit with it.

    So in this case I think it was just random.

    At least if any character gets slapped with this they get a free respec. Didn't bother me as much. I was able to recreate her spec build, but did go one more point in Engineering than I did last time.
    66998372863950ee98cf7da9786e2ea9-db80k0m.png
    I can't take it anymore! Could everyone just chill out for two seconds before something CRAZY happens again?!
    The nut who actually ground out a Delta Pack, Temporal Pack, and Gamma Pack
    The resident forum voice of reason (I HAZ FORUM REP! YAY!)
  • harlequinpixieharlequinpixie Member Posts: 172 Arc User
    It happened to my delta recruit, but it wasn't to hard to respec. It's just a pain in the bottom to do it over.
  • leemwatsonleemwatson Member Posts: 4,525 Arc User
    "It Happens" (TM) :lol:
    "You don't want to patrol!? You don't want to escort!? You don't want to defend the Federation's Starbases!? Then why are you flying my Starships!? If you were a Klingon you'd be killed on the spot, but lucky for you.....you WERE in Starfleet. Let's see how New Zealand Penal Colony suits you." Adm A. Necheyev.
  • nommo#5819 nommo Member Posts: 1,072 Arc User
    rattler2 wrote: »
    My theory was because of the end of the Delta Recruit event, and the Delta Recruit trait was removed since it was only a temporary trait. But I got a friend with a Delta he made during this rerun event and didn't get hit with it.

    So in this case I think it was just random.

    At least if any character gets slapped with this they get a free respec. Didn't bother me as much. I was able to recreate her spec build, but did go one more point in Engineering than I did last time.

    Good theory as to why.
  • warpangelwarpangel Member Posts: 9,427 Arc User
    Anyone who's played long enough has had the "skills invalid" thing. I've had it many times over the years. It's usually random and no point looking a gift horse in the mouth anyway. Enjoy your free respec.
  • kodachikunokodachikuno Member Posts: 6,020 Arc User1
    oddly Ive noticed this on almost all my alts recently... havent played many of them much for a year so gods know when it happened but this thread made me start looking and 6 out of 8 are flagged as having invalid skills. These include normal, original delta recruits, AoY, all types
  • rndfluctuation#1470 rndfluctuation Member Posts: 813 Arc User
    Having it on two out of my 3 deltas, only my romulan level 60 delta char evaded this up to now. no other chars affected by this invalid skills bug, and the chars which are affected just show a note "Invalid Skills" beside the "retrain" button (free retrain allegedly) on the bottom of the space skills' page.

    The characters which are affected are both bellow level 10 and started to skill their tree late.


    Luckily, they could use their boffs and see and chose boff and their skills and even continue in advancing their own skill tree, unlike it is for some other players' characters.


    BTW I've notice my chars (all, AFAIK) can't aim - could be related to some change in skills which was made? any other have this?
  • darkbladejkdarkbladejk Member Posts: 3,243 Community Moderator
    @casualsto I've merged your thread in with the one in the bug reporting area and have tagged you here so you can find it again. This is an issue they know about already but the report is greatly appreciated. We don't allow bug reporting in the GenDisc because it prevents any possible fixes from being deployed sooner and prevents the devs from seeing it in a timely manor.

    with that out of the way folks if you have other information on the bug feel free to leave it here.
    "Someone once told me that time was a predator that stalked us all our lives. I rather believe that time is a companion who goes with us on the journey and reminds us to cherish every moment, because it will never come again." - Jean Luc Picard in Star Trek Generations

    Star Trek Online volunteer Community Moderator
  • rndfluctuation#1470 rndfluctuation Member Posts: 813 Arc User
    I have that too on two out of three of my delta chars (but without a noticable limitation yet). they are my KDF and FED and both bellow level 10, started to have this before really skilling, I think. My level 60 Rom is not affected.

    A player, whom I don't remember name, speculated it could be due to delta trait removed as the delta event removed. My NON affected romulan level 60 char was allegedly finished 50-60 around the finishing day, unsure if before finish or other. So maybe that's related to its difference.

    A similar effect we had on AoY term too as the temporary trait was removed , so this could be a valid point
  • kf4tvikf4tvi Member Posts: 164 Arc User
    So I went ahead and clicked the retrain button next to the "Skills Invalid" text thinking I would be presented with a window explaining what that button was going to do and maybe why the invalid skills text was there in the first place, and maybe warning me before I continued. But instead it cleared my skill tree completely, had to start from scratch and redo the entire tree, ground and space, what a mess. I feel like an idiot now for clicking it, but at least I learned a valuable lesson, although I did waste a lot of game time trying to figure out how I had it all set up before....I am also guessing that mistake used up one of my retrain tokens, probably the free one. Will have to check when I log back into the game.
  • reiklingraiderreiklingraider Member Posts: 209 Arc User
    edited May 2018
    Happened to my only Delta Recruit. She was from the first run of the event and a lvl 60 Fed Tac.
  • casualstocasualsto Member Posts: 672 Arc User
    I've respecced, as advised. It doesn't respec specialization points, just the Space/Ground points and wastes another precious slice of your time with a chance of ruining your skill-tree, especially when you respec for multiple toons affected by the issue. No issue occurred further.
  • where2r1where2r1 Member Posts: 6,054 Arc User
    edited May 2018
    You know...I collected a BOFF from a DOFF assignment on my Level 60 Romulan. No SRO, so I sent it off to turn into a manual. Off to find a BOFF who could use it.

    Clicked on Character Status button, then Skills tab...which brought up the Captain's Skills.
    Noticed SHE had the same: Invalid Skills. As all my Delta Recruits did. LOL!

    I have to redo her entire tree!!!! Ground AND Space. Totally. NOT. COOL.
    I rushed through everyone else to check their statuses....only the Romulan Level 60 had this problem. Thank goodness.

    Oddball thing: Delta Recruits yet to earn a single skill point...zero points....required a fake "respec", too. They were all at Level 4...the level I left them at after I collected the Tasseract Device and got them to First City.
    "Spend your life doing strange things with weird people." -- UNK

    “Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.” -- Benjamin Franklin
  • rndfluctuation#1470 rndfluctuation Member Posts: 813 Arc User
    edited May 2018
    eh, the non affected chars did temporal ambassador and had all traits un-slotted? (can be re-slotted but annoying. still mentioning as I don't know what separates my new level 60 non affected Romulan Fed Delta from my other deltas which were affected before even really skiling. however I don't see visual limitations as of now) or could be because it got around 60 during the end of event (unsure exact point) and did Kobali then (possibly effective level lower than actual in some cases due to area at the end of event?)

    I really have no idea. only can speculate as others. BUT really am almost sure what the other player, now I see it was Rattler, said, is somehow the clue, even if it didn't happen to all new delta characters. It happened also to my AoY chars as the AoY event ended in relation to the removal of the temporary (dilitium) trait.

    Note: my non affected delta char was also issued a free repec, either that or had it before, despite not having Skills Invalid status on it.

    P.S.
    It was said before but I want to emphasize/elaborate - If you want to respec note that space, ground and MAYBE also traits are all affected - as players above said. This along with space and ground skill UNLOCKS (bellow) too. If you ever do this respec, take notes/screenshots before you do (for space skills only even beside unlocks, scrolling and multiple ones are needed). And better manually note to self regarding the skills unlocks (space&ground) too. I don't know if boff skills are affected, wouldn't hurt to note/screen those too IMO

    Another thing I forgot to mention: if you have a very old char (not a new or old delta char, I mean) with this issue, it could have been caused by previous such event such as a skill revamp possibly, or by a removal of an old AoY or delta temporary trait which was found only now. And on a second though, old delta chars also had possibly the temp traits this time, so could possibly be affected (on previous and/or this time's trait removal, allegedly, or otherwise in other opportunity possibly, as noted) So such existence does not rule out the possibility mentioned by Rattler.
  • rndfluctuation#1470 rndfluctuation Member Posts: 813 Arc User
    Sorry I have something to add here (yes again) even though it's a wild speculation still.
    1st I want to emphasis this post is written in support of RATTLER theory (not my own idea)


    I just noticed the Delta trait icon still presents (WITHOUT dilitium bonus effect) on space and ground for my two affected Delta chars (skills invalid for them without any other side effect) and NOT for the non affected one.

    Also I was playing allegedly/most likely the NON affected Delta char when the bonus term ended, maybe that's why it was not affected.

    I support Rattler's hypothesis - I do positively think it has something to do with expiration of a temporary trait etc. A similar effect of invalid skills (along with an issued retrain for all characters) happened also after the expiration of AoY temp trait.



    So to my wild speculation:

    Could it be somebody placed a = check instead of >= (or a similar type of error not necessarily exactly like this) check regarding time or date or a similar condition?

    *post was deleted as I as trying to fix an important to fix error, sending again.
  • darkbladejkdarkbladejk Member Posts: 3,243 Community Moderator
    The OP to this thread was in New Romulus which I can now see and didn't notice prior. New Romulus scales your character down to the old level 50 maximum. If you try viewing skills in areas like that it can trigger the issue. Had I noticed that sooner I could have provided an explanation. I will be passing this up the chain for the New Romulus stuff.

    For everyone else here, where are you guys at when you're noticing this issue of skills being declared invalid? What zones?
    "Someone once told me that time was a predator that stalked us all our lives. I rather believe that time is a companion who goes with us on the journey and reminds us to cherish every moment, because it will never come again." - Jean Luc Picard in Star Trek Generations

    Star Trek Online volunteer Community Moderator
  • arionisaarionisa Member Posts: 1,421 Arc User
    All three of my Delta toons are seeing it, one each, Fed, Rom and KDF, and it doesn't matter where they are. I haven't levelled any of them beyond 17 yet, and, even though I'm getting the Skills Invalid thing, it still lets me select skills every time I gain a level so I have just been ignoring it for now. I figure that as long as I can keep selecting skills on levelling, I'll wait till I'm up at 50 or so and have actually decided what skill layout I want, then I'll retrain.
    LTS and loving it.
    Ariotex.png
Sign In or Register to comment.