test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

PvP Newbie here. Is this really what PvP is all about?

aelfgarmtaelfgarmt Member Posts: 14 Arc User
edited May 2015 in PvP Discussion
Last night a friend of mine convinced me to queue up with him for Gauntlgrym (sp?), and it was an... interesting experience. Some background: I am a level 70 TR with iLevel 2024. No PVP type gear. No experience with PvP outside of IWD dailies, and even then, I pretty much just avoid people. So, in other words, I know I am going to suck. But I thought it might be fun to start.

The match started off well, but at one point, my friend and I were at one of the rally points with an enemy pally, and we might as well have been tickling him for all the progress we were making.

That's when Mr. Nasty starting in on us in party voice chat. I know we (and more specifically I) were the weak links on our team, by a long shot, but the vitriol of hate and nastiness was something I had never experienced in any game I have played so far (EQ, EQ2, WOW, RQ, FF14). Maybe because I am a respectful player just looking to play and have fun, and have not been in an uber guild except once, back in EQ, I wasn't expecting this.

I was called:
A wart and a bunch of profanity

I was told that:
-I should die
-I should quit

And that I:
-was the reason he was losing (well no kidding Sherlock)
-was the reason the team was losing (well no kidding Sherlock)
-was useless and a loser (this much was apparent, I suppose)
-many more things that really just kind of were lost in the forest of his insults.

So, my question is: is this what I can expect as a pretty noobish PvPer in these kinds of matches? If so, I will just skip PvP, thank you very much. Advice/input welcome. Even if you agree with Mr. Nasty. Will be good to know.

Teegle the glass-pea-shooter
Post edited by aelfgarmt on

Comments

• sentineltitaniasentineltitania Member Posts: 63 Arc User
    edited May 2015