test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Long Time PvPer's Thoughts on Class Balance In PvP

bedroompunisherbedroompunisher Member Posts: 62
edited May 2013 in PvE Discussion
My First MMORPG was Dark Age of Camelot, and i've PvPed extensively on many others games. My favorites being Eve, DAoC, and Warhammer.

I've been PvPing in MMORPGs for about 9 years and have put a lot of thought into this sort of thing. I thought i'd share my thoughts for anyone who is considering PvPing more, or who is new and looking to roll a character that fills a specific role in PvP end-game.

The PvP Scaling buff appears to be broken as one levels up through brackets you can experience wild variations in effectiveness with identical gear, but these comments are regarding level 60 PvP, not before.

Let me preface by saying that this Game's Combat is very well-suit to PvP, really unique, and IMO a lot of fun.

The combat mechanics in this game - the crosshair, low latency (at least for me), and real-time action, makes it really unique and fun for PvP. (though i would argue the classes are too simple with too few abilities at their disposal - but i understand not everyone is a multitasking brainiac, it could be a little less button mashing diablo-esque)

Dodge mechanics bring some player reflex into the equation, not just an emphasis on strategy, multitasking, and general cognitive player ability, so that's pretty new to PvP in MMOs as well, at least done this well.

Class Balance is a bit of a problem, but not as bad as some people say

Rogues - A lot of people complain about rogues... and it's fair to an extent. Rogues are mainly just annoying because they usually equip 2 powers that can 2 shot most people, and a daily that nearly one shots most people. Remember, they cant do it all that often, so when you get one shot by them remember that insane burst is out of commission for 20 seconds, in the case of their powers, and longer for their daily.