test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

A statistician's view on current RNG

minotaur2857minotaur2857 Member, NW M9 Playtest Posts: 1,141 Arc User
I've thought there was something mildly wrong with this game's RNG for a long time. Every double RP I kept stats, and found I was consistently using 20-30% more pres wards than I should. Then after a while, I found I was getting about what I should so I stopped keeping those stats. I have a statistics degree so tend to look at things like this.

Recent events have told me something has gone drastically wrong.

Examples: I kept stats of everything I crafted to make new mastercrafting stuff (everything at 75% success chance).

I'm 146 successes from 219 attempts so exactly 2/3. So how far out of kilter is that ? Well since we have more than 40 attempts, we can use an approximation with some useful properties. 219 attempts x 0.75 = 164.25 is the expected number of successes, so we're 18.25 below that. The most useful bit of this approximation is that 95% of results should be within 2 standard deviations of the mean, and 99% within 3. The standard deviation is the sqrt(np(1-p) where n is the number of attempts and p is the probability of success so this is sqrt (41.06) = 6.4. So we are well outside 95% of the results and almost outside 99% (one more failure would have been outside).

I have tried to make a number of finished products in the last few days, only 1 worked first time. (and this is compounded by the new mastercrafting being INCREDIBLY mean on what you get back from a fail)

I had to go out and get some more effervescent water due to the fails so I ran some cold run explorers charts. I didn't see anybody else doing them when I was to muck up the RNG. Past experience suggested I was getting maybe 40-43% Eff water, 40-43% native iron, 15-20% raw rubellite, this time I got (60 nodes) 17 Eff water, 4 raw rubellite and a massive 39 native iron with 2 or 3 runs of all 6 nodes giving iron from a chart.