test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Unofficial Guide to using demo_record for Machinimas

1235»

Comments

  • nextnametakennextnametaken Posts: 2,212 Arc User
    edited November 2012
    It seems all the message spam output is located in a sequential chunk.
    So if you wanted to remove any hint of xp and level completion text in the UI
    find the first instance of "Messages", select all the way down to the closing
    bracket of the last instance of "Messages" and replace the whole thing with this
    Messages
    {
    }
    

    fovy should be the command following the Messages chunk.
  • nextnametakennextnametaken Posts: 2,212 Arc User
    edited November 2012
    Here are some relevant demo editing console commands to be usedwhile you are
    in the -demoplay interface. Open the editor console by hitting the tilde ~ key.

    demo_pausePlayback
    Pause playback for a currently playing demo.

    demo_playPlayback
    Resume playback at normal speed for a currently playing demo.

    demo_record
    Start recording a demo, save it into FILE.
    The demo will be saved in the demos/ data folder, as FILE.demo.
    Note that not all events are saved into the demo, but most are.
    The demo will be saved into the filename previously specified.

    demo_record_cutscene
    Set off a cutscene and then start recording.

    demo_record_stop
    Stop recording any demos started earlier with DEMO-RECORD.

    demo_restart
    Restart a currently playing demo.
    Playback will start up back at the beginning of the demo.

    demo_slowPlayback
    Slow playback for a currently playing demo.
    Subsequent presses will slow down the demo playback more and more.

    DemoResultsFileName
    filename into which to write demo results
    This is used by demo recording and testing scripts.

    QuitOnDemoCompletion
    if true, quit when the demo playback completes

    demo_test_batch No comment provided, expects a string argument
    demo_update_batch No comment provided, expects a string argument

    options
    Opens the options window, change your video settings here

    ExportLocalCharacter toPath
    This command will save the current entityplayer to the local disk.
    This command will not save SERVER_ONLY data and should not be used for reconstructing the character.
    You may optionally pass "OVERWRITE" as a second parameter to overwrite existing saved files.

    OpenUrlCmd URL
    launches your web browser at the URL provided and puts it on top of the editor

    SaveCostumeToFile
    Saves the current character costume to text file "C:\SavedCostume.costume"
    Not sure how you can use that, I'm looking for ways to import into the demo file
    and change things while its being edited.

    DumpCommandsForAutoComplete
    Outputs a list of console commands to textfile "C:\ChatAutoCompleteSrc.def"
    In case you want to help finds the ones that do useful stuff.

    ExportCmds
    Export a list of all commands, with some useful descriptions to "C:\cmdlist.txt"
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    edited November 2012
    I should probably let you all know that it is no longer necessary to go through the launcher.

    You can go to the live or playtest folders in command prompt and type:

    Gameclient.exe -demoplay <name of demo goes here>

    You can make a batchfile to deliver you to the live folder and place it in your user directory if your commandline dumps you there.

    If someone wishes to make a front-end that will do this, it would be very useful.
    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • nextnametakennextnametaken Posts: 2,212 Arc User
    edited November 2012
    Ok lets talk about that front end, I'm not as smart as you look.

    But first take a note that the number of lines containing relativeCameraViews in a demo file
    is the number of frames that you'll get when you use -demo_movie_save

    The resulting effects on the camera from the data in those tables is what will be rendered to image files.

    I have file where an orbiting camera takes 15 seconds to complete an orbit, but it doesn't render to images.

    Pasteing the relativeCameraViews from another file gave me 1079 frames of ... mostly feet. There's work to do.
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    edited November 2012
    Let the demo player worry about the camera paths. You won't have to bother with manipulating those by hand as the ui in the player takes care of that markup for you.
    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • nextnametakennextnametaken Posts: 2,212 Arc User
    edited November 2012
    Well there's two modes of playback.
    1. what you get from playing the game and recording
    2. what you get from setting up paths in the cutscene editor.

    If I record and orbit a character manually, the playback can get strange.
    Manual Orbit playback error video

    Note how the camera keeps getting shoved to the pivot point.
    It should be mostly above and about 10 or more feet from the character.

    Here is two orbit type camera paths in the editor at normal speed, screen captured.
  • bronxthebeastbronxthebeast Posts: 44 Arc User
    edited November 2012
    Hiya. Random fun fact for free camera manipulation without using pathing: you can use Camera. as a prefix, then press [Tab] to cycle through the various demo tool camera commands. Camera.maxspeed <#> for example, lets you adjust the maximum speed of the camera. There's also a command for removing camera acceleration, which is how I got some of the smooth panning in The Owl's video without pathing.
    ____________________________________________

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Primus Database: Bronx
    Primus Database: Brogan
  • madsamuraimadsamurai Posts: 6 Arc User
    edited November 2012
    Hiya. Random fun fact for free camera manipulation without using pathing: you can use Camera. as a prefix, then press [Tab] to cycle through the various demo tool camera commands. Camera.maxspeed <#> for example, lets you adjust the maximum speed of the camera. There's also a command for removing camera acceleration, which is how I got some of the smooth panning in The Owl's video without pathing.

    Nice! I usually got that effect during post editing but this will save on time. Thanks!
  • nextnametakennextnametaken Posts: 2,212 Arc User
    edited January 2013
    Trying to figure out how to make a front end but running into problems
    launching the GameClient.exe from a murgaLua instanced outside of the Live directory.
    -- set up and focus the Live path via system command line
    Q='"'
    COPath="C:/Program Files (x86)/Cryptic Studios/Champions Online/Live"
    cdString = "cd "..Q..COPath..Q
    cd = os.execute(cdString)
    
    -- set up and launch the gameclient.exe with the chosen demo file
    COExe = Q..COPath.."/GameClient.exe"..Q
    CODemo="v10b.demo"
    
    demoplay= COExe.." -demoplay "..CODemo
    doDemo=os.execute(demoplay)
    

    If I launch murgaLua or plain old Lua from inside the Live directory and run this script
    everything launches perfectly. However if I run it from anywhere outside (like end users
    would want to do after a download), then the gameclient launches, gets to
    GameDataDirs:
    *.
    
    and exits with a dialog
    Unable to find required game data files. If this Problem persists reinstalling the application may fix the situation

    It seems like the path gets confused by the OS or the GameClient.exe even
    though we've already change the directory and are launching the program from
    a very specific path that contains all the data files.

    Any ideas?
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    edited April 2013
    An update:

    I want to take a new approach. Every time I display a demo on youtube, I will also link to a downloadable demo file that you can dissect.

    Today, I published The Great Race, a trailer that shows off Shadow Entity, Watch Entity, Easy Path, Lookaround, and Orbit.

    You can view it and access the demo file here.
    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • nextnametakennextnametaken Posts: 2,212 Arc User
    edited April 2013
    Announcing the Champions Online Demo Reader

    Launch all your favorite demo files from one easy GUI.
    Sweet.
  • nextnametakennextnametaken Posts: 2,212 Arc User
    edited August 2013
    The video trailer team over at PWE produced two demo_record traning videos that
    cover the basics of making a demo and editng some interesting camera paths
    as well as a how to script for great output.

    The Thread over at Neverwinter forums

    The videos:
    part 1: http://www.twitch.tv/perfectworld_community/b/442815150
    part 2: http://www.twitch.tv/perfectworld_community/b/442827553
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    edited December 2013
    Does it happen when you load the demo?
    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    edited December 2013
    gradii wrote: »
    happens when I'm playing it back

    Does this happen with every demo you have?
    Have you tried recording a new one?
    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • tfavsb10tfavsb10 Posts: 309 Arc User
    edited December 2013
    ever since the Victorian outfit patch I can't get any new demo's to save
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    edited December 2013
    I just created a demo. Can you verify that the demo folder is not read-only?
    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    edited December 2013
    gradii wrote: »
    btw any ideas on why my demo replay crashes after a few seconds?


    Do you have dropbox? I would like the demo file.
    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • bobsy26bobsy26 Posts: 212 Arc User
    edited December 2013
    Is there a way of going forward or backward a frame at a time? While setting up angles for screenshots I often want to just adjust where I am in the action a tiny bit, but of course as soon as I press play it resumes at full speed and the moment is lost and I have to start from the beginning again to try and get the right angle.

    Alternatively, is it possible to have the play button resume at the same speed I was last at?

    Also, is there another hotkey for play/pause? Enter doesn't work at all and space stops working using freecam.
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    edited January 2014
    bobsy26 wrote: »
    Is there a way of going forward or backward a frame at a time? While setting up angles for screenshots I often want to just adjust where I am in the action a tiny bit, but of course as soon as I press play it resumes at full speed and the moment is lost and I have to start from the beginning again to try and get the right angle.

    Alternatively, is it possible to have the play button resume at the same speed I was last at?

    Also, is there another hotkey for play/pause? Enter doesn't work at all and space stops working using freecam.

    You can't play backwards, unfortunately. I am looking into the others.
    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    edited October 2014
    UPDATE: The command you want to resume playback slow is Timestepscale. Use this from pause to resume playback at the speed you desire.


    Additional update: It would be useful to know how to move things in real time. Here are some basic commands.

    tfavsb10 wrote: »

    Demorecord.

    To make the salute happen:
    [COLOR=Yellow]danimtogglebits[/COLOR] emote salute
    
    Pause at right moment, freecam(F2), entity to camera position(R).
    For fine adjustment of position:
    [COLOR=Yellow]setposoffset[/COLOR] x y z
    
    (x = side to side movement
    y = up/down
    z = back/forth
    )
    [COLOR=Yellow]setpyr [/COLOR]x y z
    
    (rotate about feet)
    (x = front/back
    y = turn left/right
    z = shoulder to shoulder)
    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • bobsy26bobsy26 Posts: 212 Arc User
    edited October 2014
    UPDATE: The command you want to resume playback slow is Timestepscale. Use this from pause to resume playback at the speed you desire.

    Aha. Thanks Brou! Only I'm having trouble setting keybinds in the demo player. I assumed
    bind V timestepscale 0.125
    
    would work, but no. Is there a knack I'm missing?
  • nextnametakennextnametaken Posts: 2,212 Arc User
    edited October 2014
    Keybinds seem to be character specific and not for the editor itself.
    I even tried executing a text file but that didn't do anything.

    The best you can get for slowing playback is arrow left two or three times.
    Type bind_print to see a list of the program's binds, use PageUp to see more of the list.
  • xrazamaxxrazamax Posts: 979 Arc User
    edited December 2014
    I've noticed there are no dialogue bubbles when playing back the demo. I also noticed there are a lot of little messages at the bottom when npcs would say something that read along the lines of "EntMessageSay' 'Hey! Over here'" or something along those lines. I'm still messing with the options to see if I can make word bubbles pop up, but does anyone else already know how to do this?

    Update: Brou told me no go :(

    Going to tinker if there is a way to create NEW bubbles with either console or manually editing it.
  • deadman20deadman20 Posts: 1,529 Arc User
    edited April 2015
    Any notes for manipulating an entity to change individual costume bits, animations, and whether or not we can attach weapons to them? Say I do nothing in the recorded demo, how would one go about changing an animation and attaching weapons if they were never used?

    Not too worried about making a video, but a screenshot could be nice to change up.
    Steam Guide to Modifications and Equipment (Champions Online) - DZPlayer's Builds (Last updated: 3/26/2018)
    And I will always be @DZPlayer122.

    Get the Forums Enhancement Extension!
  • nextnametakennextnametaken Posts: 2,212 Arc User
    edited April 2015
    I've been procrastinating on exactly this problem for Demolisher.

    Basically in the text file that is the demo file you can extract the whole section that is a character and then copy/paste that character where another should be.

    So in theory it should be possible to fiddle with the text of the character and insert some items where you want them.

    Costume item names can be found in the manifest text file:

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Cryptic Studios\Champions Online\Live\FightclubClient.manifest"

    Or where ever your CO is installed.


    I think, once Entities are defined in the .demo file, then you can replace the Reference ID in updates with ID numbers to replace Hero A with Hero B. Hmm well no that totally crashed the .demo file, dont' do that.

    I've updated Demolisher to extract the createdEnts as they are called in the demo file.
    But I haven't set it up to replace one character in a demo with another character.


    I hacked into STODemoLauncher source and got it to find and run CO, but the costume editing feature is not working and I'm not savvy enough in C# and that source code to know why, at least not just at a quick glance.

    I'll try to get my own costume replacing thing up by the morning.

    ** EDIT - Twenty to Four in the morning. Time to hit the bed. I'm beat. Slow progress has been made.



    What was the other thing you asked?
    Animation?

    Here bookmark this post


    UPDATE: The command you want to resume playback slow is Timestepscale. Use this from pause to resume playback at the speed you desire.


    Additional update: It would be useful to know how to move things in real time. Here are some basic commands.




    Demorecord.

    To make the salute happen:
    [COLOR=Yellow]danimtogglebits[/COLOR] emote salute
    
    Pause at right moment, freecam(F2), entity to camera position(R).
    For fine adjustment of position:
    [COLOR=Yellow]setposoffset[/COLOR] x y z
    
    (x = side to side movement
    y = up/down
    z = back/forth
    )
    [COLOR=Yellow]setpyr [/COLOR]x y z
    
    (rotate about feet)
    (x = front/back
    y = turn left/right
    z = shoulder to shoulder)
  • deadman20deadman20 Posts: 1,529 Arc User
    edited April 2015
    What was the other thing you asked?
    Animation?

    Perhaps not emotes. I'm looking for a way to give characters weapons they don't actually have or use, like say forcing a character into a stance where they're firing a rifle or holding a rocket launcher the way they do in the tailor, but have never actually done that in the recording. Would make for excellent screencapping.
    Steam Guide to Modifications and Equipment (Champions Online) - DZPlayer's Builds (Last updated: 3/26/2018)
    And I will always be @DZPlayer122.

    Get the Forums Enhancement Extension!
  • xrazamaxxrazamax Posts: 979 Arc User
    Not sure if this is worth making a new thread over but....

    Does anyone have a list of known animations usable with animbits that are not already known from in game? I have seen videos where people play animations not available in game, but I haven't seen a list of known animations. Having one would be very helpful.
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    xrazamax said:

    Not sure if this is worth making a new thread over but....

    Does anyone have a list of known animations usable with animbits that are not already known from in game? I have seen videos where people play animations not available in game, but I haven't seen a list of known animations. Having one would be very helpful.

    I'm still checking to see if such a list is allowed.

    Check these two out in the meantime(look at what's happening at the top of the video)

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rn6aqfA7MvQ
    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • xrazamaxxrazamax Posts: 979 Arc User
    All I want in life is to danimflashbits emote chickendance
  • nacito#6758 nacito Posts: 974 Arc User
    I want to learn how to use this tool X3
    Just another reptile lover, known in game as @nacito
    4hszgc1knoyo.png

    This is a big journey, so far if you're reading this, wish you a good day
  • xrazamaxxrazamax Posts: 979 Arc User
    naciiito said:

    I want to learn how to use this tool X3

    They are tutorials available on youtube, although most will be for Star Trek Online. However, the demo recorder is the same, although I do not know if the animation names and commands are. The camera, paths, and all that are the same though.
  • soundsriskysoundsrisky Posts: 58 Arc User
    Is there a command to tilt the camera, like a canter or dutch angle?
  • itsbrou#5396 itsbrou Posts: 1,778 Arc User
    edited July 2017

    Is there a command to tilt the camera, like a canter or dutch angle?

    I thought I was subbed to this thread. Sorry.

    You want setcampyr

    This setting will not stick if you intend to use paths.


    Brou in Cryptic games.
  • sandukutupusandukutupu Posts: 65 Arc User
    I have been using this for my screen shots. You can view my Gallery here on Primus and read my comments about this feature.

    Also Demolisher is some kind of demo editing program (open source). I haven't tried this program yet, all I can say is it might be worth the look.
    banner.png
    Raging Princess Blaze + Model 286 + Red Inferno + Burgundy Beetle
Sign In or Register to comment.