test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Starfleet wantonly destroys ships

balarickbalarick Member Posts: 30 Arc User
I just feel like I have to voice my particular concern about this game. I've been playing this game for a few months, maybe even half a year now, and while I must admit this didn't really bother me for some time, it has been doing so as of late: throughout most of Star Trek history, Starfleet ships have gone out of their way to avoid destroying ships, unless the opposing ship gives them no choice. Yes, sometimes it's unavoidable; yes, sometimes there are unforeseen variables (ex: a leaky plasma injector) that turn those attempts to disable into the Fourth of July. And then later, with more advanced targeting systems (as found in TNG and later shows), this became easier to avoid most of the time, because you could just take out engines, weapons, etc., etc. Again, you might have unforeseen variables, but still! Yet, in this game -- which I just started playing again with a Federation Delta Recruit -- the only time you ever just disable a ship is when the story calls for it (you have to transport on board, you have to transport someone onto your ship, etc.).