test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

400k refined dilithium & mats for nothing.. goodby to that!

higherfivehigherfive Member Posts: 30 Arc User
This is a cautionary tale..
A little background about myself. I've been playing STO for over two years. I've been a member of the Federation Fleet Alliance (with 10+ sub-fleets) a good one, for much of that time. I'm leaving the game (reluctantly) due to the new system for upgrading. I was actually very happy with a lot of the changes PW did with STO. The storyline remains entertaining & challenging, beefed up STF’s, new panel/weapon abilities & the opportunity to improve equipment all I thought were good.

The only problem I have is ‘ANY’ chance of failure of upgrades. The amount of resources needed to upgrade at the highest tiers is exorbitant. It seems as if PW/Arc has not as much raised the bar (which implies a set target) more like they are dangling a carrot on a string and when you get near they pull it away. The following is a letter I sent out to most of those who are my STO friends list. The combined in-game time of these friends amounts to 10's of thousands of hours.

Let the buyer beware
Hi,
This a form letter I’m sharing with everyone on my friends list in STO. I’m leaving the game for now because of the new R&D requirements for high-end gear. I know someone in the Federation Fleet Alliance who sunk over 400k refined dilithium & all the other materials to improve a panel to ‘epic-gold’ quality and it failed. I was under the mistaken impression that you could not fail when upgrading a panel. I though when you look at what you upgrading to is what you got, with a slight chance of a critical advancement. What I didn’t understand at the time was that you can fail in upgrading something, though you'll get a better chance the next time you try (fu very much – try again).