Install Arc
Options

Interior development

Comments

• Options
    lordfuzunlordfuzun Member Posts: 54 Arc User
    edited October 2012
    tacofangs wrote: »
    The Foundry as it stands today, is really a whole separate entity. There is no way (to my knowledge) that I can take what someone has built in the foundry, and convert it into a normal map that I can edit with dev tools. There's also no way currently to replace a map like your ship's interior, with a foundry map. I'm not a programmer, so I can only guess that that is theoretically possible, but it's not something that has ever been done, and I don't know if it's doable where we stand today..

It's entirely doable. It's essentially just a problem of data format conversion. Cryptic would need a utility that would take the map format data in the Foundry DB and convert it into the format that that their development tools use. The problem is that it's probably a non-trivial conversion. Not that is would be a hard thing do do, it's a very tedious and iterative process. You have to account for every bit of data, every possible conversion issue, every corner case that could possible arise. And even then it's probably not perfect.

Imagine having to make square pegs fit into round holes, taking the shaving of the square peg and fitting them into a semi-circular depression, and everything having to weight exactly the same as what you started with (they don't). As you change, test, reconvert, balance, change again, reconvert, balance.... And then wondering how in Gre'thor their accounting ledgers balanced in the first place???!!!! ( Why yes, I made a career of that sort of thing for 10 years. How did your guess?).