test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

The History of Fighters

lobo0084lobo0084 Member, Neverwinter Beta Users Posts: 663 Bounty Hunter
edited October 2013 in The Militia Barracks
I'd like to do a little write-up on our Fighter classes in NWO, where they come from, and what they are originally intended to be.

I started all this by wondering what our paragon options would be for our GWF's in the near future, and decided to dig into the 3rd Edition and 4th Edition books of Dungeons and Dragons. I'm a very avid tabletop player, but to be honest, I don't remember specifics well (which is why I spent a fortune on all those books).

Since I started playing Neverwinter Online, I've had a hard time understanding why there isn't just a 'fighter' class. My eyes have since been opened. I found out that Cryptic has tried very hard to adapt the amazing mechanics of DnD 4e into an MMO environment, which hasn't been done half as well or as close by anyone before (here's looking at you, DDO). They gave up a lot of video game tropes and MMO 'accepted standards', and because of this, there's a lot of confusion by the playerbase on what's going on.

So here's a more detailed explanation from a gamer like yourself, and what I see has happened and is happening. I'll try to keep my beliefs on what's going to happen out of this.

Fighters

Fighters are the prime martial class of Dungeons and Dragons 4th Edition. They are considered to be a defender role, meaning they have far more defenses than other classes and are capable of containing enemies. A defender is traditionally compared to a tank in modern MMO's, however the DnD defender does his best to avoid or ignore damage, because hit points are still limited and death is permanent.