test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

@Cryptic/PWE: Why are you not delivering what your customers are asking for?

Comments

• ambisinisterrambisinisterr Member, Neverwinter Moderator Posts: 10,462 Community Moderator
    edited June 2013
    zlainfurry wrote: »
    You're implying that they are just starting on the class like nowish, how long do you think they've had so far working on the classes? Also, in coding, more people on a project does directly equate to shorter time to completion. The bigger your staff, the more you get done earlier.

As a programmer myself I have to say you're missing one crucial piece of the equation.

Let's say that developing a piece of content is equivalent to cleaning out a one car garage. That's certainly a job that gets completed faster if more than one person works on it but also at some point so many people be working in such a small space that they start tripping each other and actually reduces efficiency. It's really not a 1:1 developers:speed ratio.

However what does happens is that you have an optimal number of people "cleaning multiple garages" so that more "garages are cleaned" in the same amount of time.

It's obviously not a very mechanically similar situation but mathematically it very similar. You can only have so many developers work on a single piece of content until they start stepping on each others toes. The solution to releasing content faster isn't as simple as higher a ton of staff. That will get *more* content out but it won't necessarily increase the speed of production.
  • zlainfurryzlainfurry Banned Users Posts: 163 Bounty Hunter
    edited June 2013