test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Conclussion: The Phoera is useless! (aka phoera phailure)

killerellakillerella Member Posts: 215 Arc User
edited June 2013 in General Discussion (PC)
After leveling this thing to max@30, I've played it in a lot of scenarios. End result, its terrible at everything. Its extremely underpowered, and it dies quickly. I've even tried dressing it up in all purple, thinking it would wake up the beast or something, but honestly the difference was negligible.

In all fairness, I didn't realize how useless it was until I started playing a bunch of other companions just to get a taste of what else was available. I thought, well, if this purple companion is this bad, I cant imagine how bad a white, green or blue companion must be...boy was I wrong! Even the White level companions are more useful at something than the poor purple Phoera, which just seems to have no purpose.

A low level wayward wizard was having nice standoff battles with casting mobs, which was great because it freed me up to do a little melee business. The Cleric was saving me a ton of money on potions as long as I could keep her alive. Its not even worth the effort of keeping the Phoera alive though...just so I can watch it die again?

Pitted against mobs, the high level "very rare" purple Phoera companion can barely hold its own against the weakest mobs available...add a 2nd weak mob, and he quickly becomes toast. Compare that to the blue level Wererat, and well there is no comparison...even a low level wererat was handily taking on a boss and 3 minions and doing a pretty good job of holding his own. That low level wererat is hitting 3X as hard as my top level super rare phoera, and seems to be 3X as tough too. I've read that the Galeb Dhur and the Honey Badger actually take companions to a whole other level, but I couldn't afford to take one for a test drive.