test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Foundry is a "Tacked on" poor modding tool.

watever2watever2 Member Posts: 38 Arc User
edited May 2013 in The Foundry
I have been modding and making indy games for about 20 years and I can honestly say The Foundry has to be the worst tool I have ever used. Mouse pointer moves to top left and pressing ctrl-s is only way to stop it, panning screen sometimes doesn't work, RESPEC TOOL IS BROKEN MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO PLAYTEST MAPS???!!!! WTF? Sound doesn't work.... really? No sound??
I have a friend who play tests the things I create and he actually said that not being able to play test my maps in the foundry because of the ridiculous review section is a game changer, ie he doesn't want to play NW anymore (Maybe he's exaggerating I'm not sure).
Releasing a half baked tool set is worse than not releasing one at all.
Serious modders will stay away from this garbage I can assure you. Maybe if Cryptic pull their finger out it might get the recognition it deserves but I doubt Cryptic are going to do much as they are too busy making the next
Post edited by watever2 on

Comments

• Options
    forien69forien69 Member Posts: 144 Bounty Hunter
    edited May 2013
    About disappearing mouse - drag items SLOWLY from library. That happens only if you quick-draw them.

About respec - it already works. Only stats are 0... just publish quest with TEST in title and try with live character.

About finding quest - why do you think shortcode exists?

But yeah, it's not perfect and has many, many things to work on.

But no, it's not worst.
  • Options
    ysil6969ysil6969 Member Posts: 42 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    It's still a WIP. Right now it is EXTREMELY limited, but hopefully they start opening that up more.
  • Options
    kamikazegokamikazego Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    watever2 wrote: »