test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Honest Question Pertaining "P2W"

jmerithewjmerithew Member Posts: 137 Bounty Hunter
edited May 2013 in General Discussion (PC)
I'm pretty new to the game, but the biggest draw for me has been the amazing press that this has probably the best F2P cash shop around and it's not "Pay to Win" at all. Today was the first day that I got some Astral Diamonds, so I mosied on over to the Astral Diamond vendor and noticed he sells epic gear. So my question is this, since you can convert Zen to Astral Diamonds, and then use those diamonds to buy epics, how is that not "Pay to Win"? Again let me state that I am very new, so I may be missing something, but that just baffles me a little.
Post edited by jmerithew on

Comments

• telenfuimetelenfuime Member Posts: 8 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    The definition of Pay2Win is that items that give an in game advantage are available only for real cash.

AD are farmed in game so those epics are certainly not P2W they are "Pay to grind less".
  • morbicmorbic Member, Neverwinter Beta Users Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Pay to Win generally refers to items in the zen shop being epic items and only available to players who pay real money for said currency. The fact that the system is based around astral diamonds which can be earned by anybody in-game means that the game is technically not pay to win. Having items like that on the astral diamond vendor and elsewhere also helps power the Zen/Astral Diamond exchange rates for those trying to buy Zen for options only available there.
  • jedizalmjedizalm Member Posts: 13 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Or pay to be lazy and impatient. But everything in this game can be bought by simply grinding long enough.
  • jipatsujipatsu Member Posts: 94
    edited May 2013