test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

A few questions regarding Outdoor maps and detail choices

grigzbygrigzby Member, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Hero Users Posts: 9
edited September 2014 in The Foundry
Short of placing cobbelstone tiles or patches of dirt individually, is there any other way to have that type of terrain coverage on an empty outdoor map?

Also, when using undamaged Village buildings are you unable to move them around with the 3D editor? I know I can adjust them by hard-coding the x,y,z values, but I've noticed that I can't move them at all when I play test the map.

And finally, could anyone explain to me what projectors are and how geometry versus terrain works.

Sorry for so many questions in one post. I'm new to the foundry toolset, so any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• gillrmngillrmn Member Posts: 7,800 Arc User
    edited April 2013
    Short of placing cobbelstone tiles or patches of dirt individually, is there any other way to have that type of terrain coverage on an empty outdoor map?

Don't place too many small stuff or you will run out of budget limits too soon. Forgo small details.
    Small details must be placed indiviually like in Legos, its hard work. Each and every peice must be rotated carefully and kept.

Also, when using undamaged Village buildings are you unable to move them around with the 3D editor? I know I can adjust them by hard-coding the x,y,z values, but I've noticed that I can't move them at all when I play test the map.
    You can move all, but there was a bug which made a copy of the village building in edit mode. It was only a visual bug though and went away when you save (Ctrl+Tab)

And finally, could anyone explain to me what projectors are and how geometry versus terrain works.

Projectors are better, but they might not show up on low-end graphics systems.