test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Naming Conventions

chadillac5chadillac5 Member, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Guardian Users, Silverstars Posts: 61
edited March 2013 in Art and Fiction
Greetings friends,

I have searched far and wide to find how races in Forgotten Realms are named. I am currently working on the backgrounds for a Dwarf and Halfling. I am new to the FR world, but not to D&D. In the player's handbook it states that Dwarves get their names passed down to them and the "surname" is the clan's name. It gave some examples but I wondered if there is a list of Dwarf clans to draw my backstory from? I haven't researched the Halfling as in depth but would love some help.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    elminbanelminban Member Posts: 187 Arc User
    edited February 2013
    Do you get a first and surname at character creation?
    2.jpg
  • Options
    chadillac5chadillac5 Member, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Guardian Users, Silverstars Posts: 61
    edited February 2013
    It isn't defined. But I was able to name my character with a space between his first and surname. So in a way yes.
  • Options
    archiloniarchiloni Member Posts: 2
    edited February 2013
    chadillac5 wrote: »
    It isn't defined. But I was able to name my character with a space between his first and surname. So in a way yes.

yeah you can make spaces in your name and with that, create a first and a sir name. you will also get a handle name, which is your account name so a character like mine could be Theresa@archiloni or theresa archiloni@silvernest depending on what my account will be, the reason is that when you wisper ingame, you can just wisper me at @silvernest and i would get the wisper on whatever chari'm on.

hope that helpes.