test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

New cleric, explain the difference between Paragons please

kap273kap273 Member Posts: 28 Arc User
edited December 2013 in The Temple
Hi there. I just started playing Neverwinter a couple of weeks ago and chose a cleric as my first character. I've been healing in several MMOs for over seven years ago, so the role is very familiar to me. I really like the combat and healing playstyle in this game, however, it's incredibly fun and something I haven't really experienced since I left Warhammer: AoR after it's first year. I'm still experimenting here in Neverwinter, trying to get a hang of the class, powers, feats, etc. I just hit 30 tonight and had to choose my paragon path. I tried doing a bit of research as well as really looking at the powers in game, and for now I chose Anointed Champion. Anyway, enough of my background and onto my question:

What are the main differences between the two paths? I know that AC is new and players have spent a lot more time with DO so there's obviously more info on the DO around especially here in the official forums. From what I am gathering it seems that DO is more of a traditional healer style, i.e. staying in the back and healing (as much as is possible here compared to other games) and it seems that AC may be a more front line buff/mitigation type of healing. Is that accurate at all?

I'm sure to play with both styles as I level up, when I feel like dropping the coin on respeccing just to get a better understanding of the class but any insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Post edited by kap273 on

Comments

• hidahayabusahidahayabusa Member Posts: 634 Bounty Hunter
    edited December 2013
    It highly depends on what you need to do. DO is a better overall spec for PuGs and Dungeons with randoms etc. If you play with a given group of people and if you plan to join premades on PvP etc, probably AC will give you more value back.