test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Guardian Threat

divolas05divolas05 Member Posts: 5 Arc User
edited May 2013 in The Militia Barracks
Hullo! I just started playing Guardian, and I'm only level 17 and done a couple dungeons so far....and I seem to have a lot of problems holding threat. The mark seems to fall off rather quickly, and I know that's a must for threat but...does it get better as we level up? Kinda feel like I'm a third wheel. :/
Post edited by divolas05 on

Comments

• perfectindigoperfectindigo Member, Neverwinter Beta Users Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    GFs aren't aggro magnets like in other MMOs. There's nothing you can do to get all the mobs to focus you so that you can position them. It's not that kind of game, and threat is kind of broken anyway.

However, GFs can still be effective. Check out the Master List of Class Builds sticky thread to save yourself some frustration and find out what works.
  • clevizzyclevizzy Member Posts: 6 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    If GFs are not aggro magnets then what is the point for rolling the character?

I have a Dwarf GF right now in 3/4 Stalwart armor, EPIC helm/sword/shield and vendor EPIC jewelry. Towards the higher end of the gameplay, the face-tanking seems to be the only working strategy. Most encounters destroy the shield guard in 1-2 hits. The encounter abilities don't generate enough threat to keep the encounter (mobs) off the cleric. The cleric can't stop healing because the incoming damage on the tank is too great, its not winnable.

You'd think the Dwarf race would get a nice bonus to make it the premier race for the GF class but that seems to be the HUMAN ... WTF. The Dwarf race is hearty and built for the abuse of mob control. What is Neverwinter thinking here? Humans got the 3 extra heroic points and it does actually make difference I don't really care what anyone says.