test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Are the penalties for failure and death enough?

zukn75zukn75 Member Posts: 364 Arc User
After having played Everquest for many years, moaning about the death penalty for alot of them, when I started playing NW I missed it.
There is no shame in dying in NW, there is no hardship in dying in NW,
Should failure carry a penalty not a reward? Ie you can die 1000 times in Tiamat and lose the encounter and still win a dragon egg, that IMO is wrong.
If the encounter fails, you should get NOTHING.
If you die max level then gold is not a sufficient cost. We all have more gold than we can spend. There should be penalties for failure as well as rewards for sucsess.

Comments

• Options
    aulduronaulduron Member, NW M9 Playtest Posts: 1,351 Arc User
    The death penalty in Everquest was brutal, and I'm glad this game doesn't have it.
  • Options
    nathanjmnathanjm Member Posts: 103 Arc User
    edited December 2015
    The option to delete your character can be done at any time you want. If you chose to apply it after character death, who am I to judge? (Protip: we'd appreciate it if you also toned down the judging) Failing that, you could always force yourself to gift off AD/gold/whatever as a death tax.
  • Options
    hustin1hustin1 Member, NW M9 Playtest Posts: 3,460 Arc User
    I am here because it is ***NOT*** Everquest.
    Harper Chronicles: Cap Snatchers (RELEASED) - NW-DPUTABC6X
    Blood Magic (RELEASED) - NW-DUU2P7HCO
    Children of the Fey (RELEASED) - NW-DKSSAPFPF
    Buried Under Blacklake (WIP) - NW-DEDV2PAEP
    The Redcap Rebels (WIP) - NW-DO23AFHFH
    My Foundry playthrough channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/Ruskaga/featured
  • Options
    stretch611stretch611 Member Posts: 123 Arc User
    edited December 2015