test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Meet the Team: Andy Velasquez

SystemSystem Member, NoReporting Posts: 178,019 Arc User
What do you do on Star Trek Online?

I am an Associate Producer on Star Trek Online and I work with a wide variety of our development departments, from powers and systems design to the ship team all the way to our amazing concept artists. This is great for me because I get to argue with all kinds of different people! I get to say things like, “Hey that Romulan cloth sash looks CRAZY!” one minute and then say, “That Borg assimilation power seems super powerful” the next. More tangibly, though, I create and manage schedules, set up and run meetings to deal with any new craziness we try as well as helping unblock any of my fellow STO teammates by finding what their problems are and making them disappear.

How long have you worked in gaming, and what did you do before Star Trek Online?

I am pretty new to the industry (see why a few answers below). I have been working at Cryptic for a little over a year and before that I had a brief stint at SCEA’s offices in Foster City, California.

Who is your favorite Star Trek character and why?

Data! Hands down. Data can have me rolling around laughing in one scene and the next I can be cheering on his awesome android heroics! I also love how his child like naïveté causes him to ask interesting questions about what we might consider “normal” and then his super android “brain” allows him to call shenanigans when things don’t necessarily make sense. Most of all I love when he tries to laugh “HA HA HA … … … “

What is an interesting fact about you that players would be surprised to know?