test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

What are you going to do when the law catches up with in game gambling? (Keys / loot box system)

I am curious about how this particular obscenity within STO will be adjusted when the UK's gambling commission makes it illegal.
Im guessing its a case of 'when sunny make hay' kind of attitude and that hurdle will be jumped as and when.

Im fairly hooked on this game (atm) I started playing last November and put it down for 9-10 months when Monster Hunter World came out and I returned with a full wallet... I dont mean to sound like Im raging but spending £575.09 in just a few months is kinda making me step back and think about what the hell Im doing.

Im a lifetime subscriber -btw if you're thinking of doing this -DONT its not worth the money (IMO) esp. if you're going to be sticking to one character like I do. I have bought several C-store ships, items and bundles which are reasonable and I can see what Im getting UP FRONT.

Which brings me to the point of this thread - loot box gambling and the algorithms controlling them.
Im fairly convinced that the more money you spend the less likely you are to get a 'high roll' i.e. - T6 ship pack
Currently Im 2 T6 packs for (guesstimation) 500 keys... I dont like these odds and neither would the gambling commission concerning a game that allows children to play and gamble on mummys credit card.

With the wonders of modern technology ? I recorded the buying of keys and the opening of 130 boxes at the weekend and emailed my local MP (not putting her name here for obvious reasons) with the video link and an in depth description of what was happening - costs, expectations and of course the let down of the outcome. I also included my purchase history to ARC games.
I got the generic auto-response of course and I thought that was the end of it.... Nope she emailed me and will be referring to my email when these matters come before the lower house and the gambling commission.