test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

A Call for Sustainable Game Play

spycho2spycho2 Member Posts: 67 Arc User
In the past 4 years since I started playing STO I have seen the developers come out with new content which is many cases is innovative and has a promising future. However, at the end of the day I have yet to see anything come about which truely sustains the intrest of the players for a prolonged period of time.

Throughout my life computer games have always been one of my favorite past times. Yet I feel in some ways the modern MMOs have lost their spark which made the MMORPG genra so great. People no longer wander around a world changing it as they play. There is no originality or true personalization in the world. What we play now is a far cry from the original concept of the MMORPG. We play in worlds (from STO to SWTOR to WoW to DCU and more) that give you a predefined set of goals in a static world and ask you to complete them with your friends.

This modern template for an MMO seems to be failing misserably. No modern MMO has acheived the sucess of EVE or Star Wars Galaxies(Pre-cu) or Everquest or WoW. I feel what is needed is a new take on how the modern MMO worlds run. I feel care needs to be taken to give players, per-character, new content which will sustain the intrest of the player for a substancially longer period of time then it does now.

Tetris, Space Engineers, Minecraft, Star Wars Galaxies, Eve Online, all of these game have strong levels of sustainable game play. For me Space engineers is a perfect example. Space Engineers comes out with maybe 3 building blocks a week because the game is still in beta. Yet with every weekly update they are adding multiple weeks of in game activity. In Eve Online the set up of the game allows people to live out events which are worthy of real life story telling. Star Wars Galaxies was the same. Events which are not only unscripted but not predetermined in any way.