test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Reputation Story-Arc Suggestion (Not an account wide rep thread)

dragasheindragashein Member Posts: 11 Arc User
So, reading through threads, I'm seeing (and agreeing with them) that rep is just a grind and becomes a bore rather quickly.

Now, I'm no map maker. I'm not a coder/developer or what-have-you. But, here's an idea to help (at the very least) reduce the monotony of the reputation system;

Instead of simply running STFs and gathering (rep) marks, why not introduce missions specific to advancing said tier of said rep? And leave the grinding of marks for purchasing (unlocking) the desired gear?

* Marks changed into a currency used to purchase goods from their respective reputation faction.

* Each tier of rep would have it's own mission(s).
- 2-3 for T1
- 4-5 for T2
- 6-8 for T3
- Etc.

* Completion of mission grants a percentage of the required reputation experience to advance in tier and a small (20-50) stipend of reputation specific marks and maybe a smaller (5-15) stipend of fleet marks or a sum (10k-50k) of energy credits.

* Creates a chance to expand on the story-arcs relevant to the reputation.

- Romulan Reputation:
+ Missions to fend off Tholian/Tal Shiar attacks
+ Missions to gather data on New Romulus atmosphere/wildlife/plantlife/geology
+ Missions gathering materials for building structures/agriculture
+ Missions to rescue captured members of the Romulan Republic

A lot of this can even be done on New Romulus instead of making new maps. Have the missions that people currently do on NR actually have an impact on their reputation with NR, with the Red Alerts having a higher impact on said reputation gain.

- Omega Reputation:
+ Missions to find research on the Borg
+ Missions to gather materials for developing weapons/armor/devices (possibly even rewarding a small number of devices)
+ Missions to fend off Borg attacks/invasions (Defera, for example)