test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Thank You, Cryptic...

kellvardosielkellvardosiel Member Posts: 8 Arc User
...for Star Trek Online. I wish I could say I've been here since the beginning. I wanted to be but I've only had a system that could handle it since last fall. In an environment filled with cynicism, sarcasm and negativity, let me instead give a little bit of praise. I, for one, feel that the game was well conceived and executed just as it is.

Since I started playing, I've spent the majority of my free time and disposable income in STO, and I don't begrudge Cryptic a bit of it. I may not be a a subscriber yet, but that's just because so far, I've been able to get everything I want a la carte. That ability is another plus in Cryptic's favor, as far as i'm concerned.

I thought the captain/Boff setup was a brilliant way to execute the away team feel, and being able to develop both a captain, and vessel really pleased me. I like the way the factions and setting were done, really glad that the Feds and Klingons were enemies again. As a TOS fan, that just feels right.

The character creator is fun to play with as a mini-game itself. The Doff system is a great way to keep involved in the game when time is short. The Foundry is wonderful for getting the community involved (fanfic started with Star Trek). Its a real gift that with ship's bridges and starbases, there are places built right into the game meant just for RP.

Don't get me wrong, there are things about the game that I wish were different, but I won't get into that here. I can't control what others post after me, but I want this note to remain positive.

To the community at large, I give a piece of advice. Life is too short to spend your leisure time doing something you don't enjoy.

Cheers, Cryptic. I applaud you, and look forward to joining the Romulan faction this May.

Best Regards,
Steven Thivierge
There...Are...FOUR... Anomalies
Post edited by kellvardosiel on

Comments