test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Experience Gains Too High (?)

kronos830kronos830 Member Posts: 0 Arc User
So I started playing again for the first time in at least a year with a new character and while I'm enjoying the various improvements that have been added I can't help but noticing that my character seems to be outleveling the available quests way to fast. For example, right now I'm at LC 17 and I'm doing story missions set at LC 1 or 2. I remember when I first played the game I would do all the patrol missions as well as regularly participating in enemy contact situations and exploration missions and at most I would only get a couple of levels ahead. But now I haven't done anything besides the story missions, a couple of fleet actions and a daily exploration for the dilithium and yet I'm 5-6 levels ahead of where I'm supposed to be. I'm concerned that at this rate I'll be VA only halfway through the story missions and that just seems to take a lot of the point out of it. Not to mention that I haven't even had a chance to try the patrols or enemy contacts and don't see ever doing them because I'll hit max level easily and then there will be no real point.

Anyone else who's leveled a character recently notice this? Part of the problem might be the added experience gain from duty officer assignments but I think the main problem is the exp given out from story missions. It's way too high- enough to go up at least a level each mission. I've never played a game where the completion of a single quest or mission bumped you up a whole level. I think the story mission exp needs to be cut in half at the least for the game to maintain a proper pacing in leveling and progression.
Boldly going where six series and eleven movies have gone before.
Post edited by kronos830 on

Comments

• duaths1duaths1 Member Posts: 1,232 Arc User
    edited March 2013
    why is this bothering you?