test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Any Logical Reason for DS9 to exist?

collegepark2151collegepark2151 Member Posts: 0 Arc User
edited February 2013 in Ten Forward
I realize they had to have a reason for the Cardassians to have built DS9 so they could have the show take place there. However, I always found it a bit of a stretch to make it an ore refinery. I mean, woundn't it make more sense to refine the ore on the surface of Bajor?

I know I'm overthinking this but I'm an engineer. It's what I do. ;)
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Porthos is not amused.
Post edited by collegepark2151 on

Comments

• Options
    daveynydaveyny Member Posts: 8,227 Arc User
    edited February 2013
    I think they chose to do it in space because on Bajor, it was very likely that the resistance movement would be constantly attempting to destroy the facilities...

In a station, the Cardassians had more control over who could come and go, therefore lessening the chance of a random attack.
    STO Member since February 2009.
    I Was A Trekkie Before It Was Cool ... Sept. 8th, 1966 ... Not To Mention Before Most Folks Around Here Were Born!
    Forever a STO Veteran-Minion
    upside-down-banana-smiley-emoticon.gif
  • Options
    pwecangetlostpwecangetlost Member Posts: 538 Arc User
    edited February 2013
    I think its also due to the general Cardassian militarisation, they use the stations effectively as a defense platform also. Saves having multiple stations when they only needed the one, and meant they could better regulate the flow of materials most likely.
  • Options
    nuclearwesslenuclearwessle Member Posts: 57 Arc User
    edited February 2013
    Also, its easier to refine the materials at a location near where the shipping is taking place. Its one of the reasons why refineries are near docks IRL rather than near the source.

DS9 is after all a hub.
  • Options
    drogyn1701drogyn1701 Member Posts: 3,606 Media Corps
    edited February 2013