test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Mk X/XI STF gear worth it early?

okkam88okkam88 Member Posts: 0 Arc User
I just returned from a hiatus and have started working on the new S7 rep and running a few normal STFs to get back in the swing of things. I have opened Tier 2 rep and can run projects for the Mk X MACO or Omega gear but I'm not sure if it's worth the effort/cost.

I'm sporting the old borg assimilated set and the Jem'Hadar ground set from the FE. Is it worth it to try and get the Mk X ground gear or would I be better off just stockpiling my resources and waiting until I can get the Mk XII version?
"Back off man....I'm a scientist." - Dr. Peter Venkman
Post edited by okkam88 on

Comments

• cosmicdefilercosmicdefiler Member Posts: 24 Arc User
    edited November 2012
    It's worth it for a ground set for the 3 piece bonus of instant remodulation for elite ground STFs but that's about it.
  • reginamala78reginamala78 Member Posts: 4,593 Arc User
    edited November 2012
    On the engines and deflector there isn't much difference, as +0.05 to turn rate or +1.2 to a skill is pretty insignificant. I don't have any of my reps up to 3 yet though, so not sure as to what the manufacturing cost difference is between 10 and 11 though. On shields however, that extra 100 points a facing, times 4 facings plus ship modifiers plus skill modifiers plus field generators plus tac team and emergency-to-shields, can all add up to a more noticeable difference. Still not huge, but noticable. And of course with set bonuses, everything has to match up anyways. I imagine a lot of ships are going to be running Omega 10/11 + Maco 12 in the near future.

If you're already packing a full Borg set, may as well stay with it. Engine is good, deflector is good, shield is meh but with the full set bonuses its probably better than any of the STF mk10 shields, and a heck of a lot cheaper.
  • canis36canis36 Member Posts: 737 Arc User
    edited November 2012