IP Addresses and Luck

Options
mssabin49
mssabin49 Posts: 9 Arc User
edited April 2011 in Chronicles
A GM friend of mine recently suggested that IP addresses bear heavily on the kind of luck we have in the game.

By luck, I mean the items we do or do not get when opening packs and the amount of drops we might get when in squad mode.

I've been playing PWI on multiple servers for well over two years and I've consistently noticed that I rarely get drops in squad mode (5 molds on 6 alts in two years) and the amount of items I receive when opening packs are almost nonexistent; for instance, in opening $50 worth of Socket packs, I received 99% 10-socket packs and no gems. I don't even want to get into my abysmal results during the recent Lucky Coral and Tiger Pack event, where I spent an obscene amount to get one Lunar Cape and an FCC weapon. Oh, and the Battle Pet packs -- I have 3 hercs, each of which cost me about $300 because nearly 100% of the packs were for 10 feathers or SoF.

This is not a QQ; I'm fortunate enough to have a nice income and plenty of disposable money to invest in the game. Contrariwise, I'm rapidly approaching the moment when I'll no longer be willing to flush money down the toilet to support a game where the deck is stacked so completely against me.

Doubtless, some will follow up this post gloating about how lucky they are. Others will accuse me of wining about my bad luck. The point they will be missing is that it is not luck at all; rather, it's a matter of nothing more than an obscure algorithm, based entirely on your IP address, that predetermines how successful you're going to be in the game.

My question, PWI, is why should some of us fight an up hill battle from the onset while others are destined to cruise their way through the game?

If the trolls want to accuse me of being a sucker, I suppose that's a title that fits. But no more, PWI has gotten the last of my money.
Post edited by mssabin49 on

Comments

• Escorian - Dreamweaver