Heavy mage

Comments

• _Blackjack_ - Lost City
    _Blackjack_ - Lost City Posts: 59 Arc User
    edited May 2009
    you will not have the same damage as LA...LA crits more due to the increase in dex.....
    you have to find a way to make up for the damage loss for it to be truly worth it....
    also find a way so people wont say you a noob BM with a magic weapon lmao

The crit diff is very small, 3% max.
    People are always going to think a magic user in heavy will be silly, but actions speak louder than words.
  • Ty - Heavens Tear
    Ty - Heavens Tear Posts: 604 Arc User
    edited May 2009
    I'm no veno expert but I'd imagine they can handle using lower level weapons because their pet's damage is independent of player stats, and a heavy armor veno would rely on pet damage.

Heavy armor Wizard would be viable if you've got -requirement gear but then you're limited to crafted or mob dropped EQ, ok pre 90s, but when there's TT90 armor available...you'd be silly to wear anything else, barring molds. But you'll always be gimping yourself on mdef making you in turn weaker to other 3/6 classes.

Basically I fail to see the point in a heavy armor wiz. For what purpose are you stating to heavy armor? To tank? Obviously not to DD.
    I like pie
  • WitchBurner - Sanctuary
    WitchBurner - Sanctuary Posts: 1,394 Arc User
    edited May 2009
    Not really a viable build if you'd like to get higher in the game.

Think about it, post 60 all mobs are magic, your attacks are ranged, you're an unreliable tank due to spells being easily interruptable. Your damage output is of most concern, you'll be dealing terrible damage, a 3% Crit difference is a BIG deal. PvP you'll get pwned by everyone, no spike damage, lower damage anyways and every magic class will be 1 shotting you.
    Currently flying internet spaceships around dodixie, moving to amarr soon.

Send me a mail if you wanna ask/request anything

Sanctuary's retired king of wizards alongside queen Saintblu.