Taming Help

Lochiel - Sanctuary
Lochiel - Sanctuary Posts: 15 Arc User
edited January 2009 in Venomancer
I'm new to PW and venomancers. After reading the FAQ and guide here and just trial and error, I think I might be doing something wrong with the taming. I can't seem to get any results other than "failed." I've only tried taming the green-face icon creatures that were my level or under, both with the pet stowed and as an egg, but I still get the fail result. I'm wondering if I've overlooked some step in how to tame a new pet. Any help would be appreciated.
I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying.
~Oscar Wilde
Post edited by Lochiel - Sanctuary on

Comments

• mysstra
    mysstra Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited January 2009
    Frim what i found out, what matters is the level of the beast and amount of HP it currently has. you need to reduce the HP to half or 2/3 and hit the tame spell.
    that should work.

check out this thread. it may help.
    http://pwi-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=148431&highlight=tame
  • Myai - Heavens Tear
    Myai - Heavens Tear Posts: 163 Arc User
    edited January 2009
    Technically, you only have to hit it once, but getting a mob's HP down to half or less gives you an even bigger chance. It's not hard once you get used to it. And in the future, just a a safety thing, you might want to have your pet out. Some mobs give lots of damage, and they can interrupt the taming skill channeling. So, if your pet deals 5% damage to the mob every time it hits it, it would be safe to just let your pet attack it when you tame it. But if it hits it and takes away, lets say, 20% of the mob's life, well, it'll kill the mob before your channeling is even done halfway.