Questions about reset note >.> GM's reply would be best ^^

Posts: 173 Arc User
edited September 2011 in General Discussion
ok, the intermedia reset-all note, it said to allocate 25pt from each stats to form 100pt. my questions is what if one of your stats is less than 25, in my case, i have only 15 vit, so if i use the note, what will it do? will it just take 15, so i only get 90? or will get get the rest from other stats??
thx in advance b:thanks
Post edited by evilramen on

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Comments

  • Posts: 3,181 Arc User
    edited December 2008
    it will take 12 from that stat of 15 (3 is min) pretty sure you wont get more from other stats because of you got less then 25 from this one
  • Posts: 173 Arc User
    edited December 2008
    so i have to get atleast 28 in my vit to get the full 100pt, rite?
  • Posts: 3,181 Arc User
    edited December 2008
    yahh...but are you going to pump that stat just for the joy of then resetting it???
  • Posts: 25 Arc User
    edited December 2008
    it will take 12 from that stat of 15 (3 is min)

    Does this mean that you cant bring this stat to 0. Can you please explain this part again Mosz?

    Because of my noob start I put 4 points into MAG which i would like to remove using a basic reset note. Does this mean it will only remove 1 point?
  • Posts: 3,184 Arc User
    edited December 2008
    All characters start with a few points in every stat (I believe 5). The use of a reset note can pull a point or two from that amount, but the stat's basic value is not meant to drop to 0.

    If I remember the numbers correctly, your character, Shenrobi, would start with 5 MAG, then have a total of 9 MAG after having points added. A reset note would only be able to pull back 6 points, if Mosz's number for minimum values are right.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited December 2008
    I'd hope we can buy a really cheap reset note to rest just few points, I mistakenly put 3 points into mag which I should have never done. I will have to pay 3 gold to reallocate those 3 points later. :(
  • Posts: 131 Arc User
    edited December 2008
    swgs, I believe there is a small restat note that allows you to reset up to 5 points from a single statistic.

    As for the other information, it is mostly correct. Restat notes should be interpretted more like "it will take UP TO what ever the value of the restat note is, unless that amount would place a statistic under it's minimum value".

    I have heard that all stats except for dex can be reduced to a minimum value of 3, while dex is limited to 5. I have personally used several restats on a couple versions of PW, but I have never had the need to reduce my Dex below 5, so I can not confirm this.

    If you use a restat note that affects all of your stats at once (like the 25 from each stat note), just because you can not fully obtain 25 points from a stat that is already lower, it will not allow you to draw more points from another stat.

    For example, if you had 10 Mag and 50 Str, it would take 7 from the Mag (to the minimum stat of 3) and 25 from Str. It will not take an additional 18 from Str.

    I hope this helps clear things up.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • Posts: 173 Arc User
    edited December 2008
    thanks again for everyone's reply, i know what i have to do now
  • Posts: 1,072 Arc User
    edited February 2009
    swgs, I believe there is a small restat note that allows you to reset up to 5 points from a single statistic.

    As for the other information, it is mostly correct. Restat notes should be interpretted more like "it will take UP TO what ever the value of the restat note is, unless that amount would place a statistic under it's minimum value".

    I have heard that all stats except for dex can be reduced to a minimum value of 3, while dex is limited to 5. I have personally used several restats on a couple versions of PW, but I have never had the need to reduce my Dex below 5, so I can not confirm this.

    If you use a restat note that affects all of your stats at once (like the 25 from each stat note), just because you can not fully obtain 25 points from a stat that is already lower, it will not allow you to draw more points from another stat.

    For example, if you had 10 Mag and 50 Str, it would take 7 from the Mag (to the minimum stat of 3) and 25 from Str. It will not take an additional 18 from Str.

    I hope this helps clear things up.

    Sorry for reviving a month old post, but what happens if you have 7 vit and 5 magic and use a basic reset all note (5 from all) - will it drop both stats to 3 meaning a pool of 6+(2*5) free unallocated points? (3 left in vit and 3 left in mag and the 5 from str and dex) or does this minimum value of 3 only affect one single stat on a reset note of ONE attribute?

    In other words, does the basic reset all note reduce all attributes to 3 if you have low enough points in all 4 stats? (lower than or equal to 8 that is)
  • Posts: 2,949 Arc User
    edited February 2009
    Yes. If you have 8 in all stats for example, you'll get 20 points to distribute, and all stats will drop to 3.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • Posts: 136 Arc User
    edited February 2009
    I believe you can drop vitality and magic down to 3, but you can not drop strength and dex below 5?
  • Posts: 1,321 Arc User
    edited February 2009
    Why cant we just have a note that resets everything? ._____.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • Posts: 1,072 Arc User
    edited February 2009
    andracil wrote: »
    Yes. If you have 8 in all stats for example, you'll get 20 points to distribute, and all stats will drop to 3.

    Thanks for that. I'm clear on how the note works now. :)
  • Posts: 1 Arc User
    edited July 2011
    Hey Guys, i was just wondering if you guys could confirm something for me, i recently started an assassin...and i was putting all my points into STR ..not aware this dosent affect the damage on the assassin...im currently level 20 with 36Str/Vit and 41 Dex..
    Will i still be able to make the character work? or will i need a reset note..
    Thanks
  • Posts: 5,033 Arc User
    edited July 2011
    Hey Guys, i was just wondering if you guys could confirm something for me, i recently started an assassin...and i was putting all my points into STR ..not aware this dosent affect the damage on the assassin...im currently level 20 with 36Str/Vit and 41 Dex..
    Will i still be able to make the character work? or will i need a reset note..
    Thanks

    Nice, a post from February of 2009. Here are the rules; you should read them.
    Proving that not only archers do math since 2009. b:victory
    Current math challenge: pwi-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=1029711&page=45
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    "Any skills that can be used to kill you will interrupt BB when successful." -truekossy | "...Sage archers are kind of like Mac owners. They are proud of the weirdest and most unnecessary things." -Aesthor | "We ALL know Jesus doesn't play PWI. He may have suffered a lot for humanity, but he'd NEVER punish himself this way." -Abstractive | "I approve of bananas." -SashaGray
  • Posts: 83 Arc User
    edited July 2011
    nice necro.


    Best place for such a question would be in the class specific forum.
    Beauty is in the eye of the beerholder b:chuckle
  • Posts: 7,021 Arc User
    edited July 2011
    Too lazy to make a witty comment so I'm just gonna take my +1 and go
  • Posts: 208 Arc User
    edited July 2011
    Hey Guys, i was just wondering if you guys could confirm something for me, i recently started an assassin...and i was putting all my points into STR ..not aware this dosent affect the damage on the assassin...im currently level 20 with 36Str/Vit and 41 Dex..
    Will i still be able to make the character work? or will i need a reset note..
    Thanks

    Just keep lvling without adding str. You need (your lvl +4) str points for light armor. Some few vit help you at low lvl too, so relax and just continue to add dex.
  • Posts: 1 Arc User
    edited September 2011
    when is the next reset note sale?
  • Posts: 3,034 Arc User
    edited September 2011
    Necro.... reset note sale was a short while ago if I remember correctly , don't expect it any time soon.
  • Posts: 7,021 Arc User
    edited September 2011
    I wonder if this thread will manage a fourth necro before it gets locked.
  • Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited September 2011
This discussion has been closed.