Could someone explain the different chat channels?

pyrosandstorm#1009
pyrosandstorm#1009 Posts: 18 Arc User
edited October 2015 in General Discussion
So, I just started playing PWI a few days ago, and I'm a bit confused about "Normal chat", and who can see it. All I ever see is people chatting in World chat, which as I'm not buying the item to chat in it, I can't use. However, whenever I've said anything in Normal chat, no one ever seems to see it... or at least never responds.

An explanation of all the chat channels would be great, since I can't seem to find anything that really explains who each can be seen by, but I at least would like to know if Normal chat can actually reach anyone at all :/ .
★ ┌ Syveal { Duskblade → Tideswell } ┘
Starlight { http://starlight-tideswell.shivtr.com }
Tagged:

Comments

• chary
    chary Posts: 850 Arc User
    edited October 2015
    Normal chat is seen by anyone in range of you on the map.
    Squad chat is seen by only people in your squad.
    Guild chat is seen by only people in your guild.
    Whisper chat is one-on-one chat. People show up pink if in your friend list or dark blue if not.
    World chat needs telecoustics to talk in and can be seen by everyone. Teles should be around like 10k ea at west arch or you can just buy 9 Perfect Tokens of Luck to make 10 teles for cheaper.
    Horn chat needs horns to talk in and can be seen by everyone in addition to popping up a window. Horns are special rewards that you won't get often.
  • cynderangel
    cynderangel Posts: 193 Arc User
    ^ Good explanation.

I'd just like to add that you probably don't get a lot of responses in normal chat because many people in your area may be afk or have normal chat turned off. A lot of people also won't respond to people they don't know, but it depends on what you're saying and how you say it. I've built squads in Archo center platform in normal chat (long time ago lol) but it takes patience.
    102/101/102 cleric